PORTSMOUTH, OH  – Jonathan Davenport goes to victory lane in the state of Ohio for the second night in a row by winning the Pepsi 60 River Days Rumble at Portsmouth Raceway Park. Davenport started on the pole, but never led a lap until lap 42 when he took over the lead from Tim McCreadie. A huge crowd was on hand to watch four different leaders battle it out in tonight’s 60-lap race.


For the second night in a row, Dennis Erb, Jr. took runner-up honors. McCreadie finished third. He was followed by Earl Pearson Jr. and Rod Conley rounding out the top five.


Jackie Boggs darted from his fourth starting spot and electrified the home-track crowd by taking the lead on the first lap. Boggs then started to pull away from the field and expanded his lead to over a straightaway before misfortune struck Boggs, his night ending on lap 12, as the front nosepiece of his car folded under after he and a lap-car made contact.


With Boggs out of the race, Erb took over the point. A terrific battle ensued between Erb, McCreadie, and Davenport. A tight race for the lead would cover several laps. Erb held the lead until McCreadie went to the front on lap 30. Davenport began to track down McCreadie, and finally got by him for the top spot with 19 laps remaining.


“If all of you didn’t like that then you need to go have your head checked,” said the defending LOLMDS National Champion. “They made me work for this one! I don’t know why these tires didn’t fire-off. It kind of got me worried. I didn’t have any traction. I didn’t want to run the top early on like I had to because I didn’t want to blister my tires.”


“Jackie [Boggs] got off to a good start. We were three-wide on that first lap. I think he went with a little softer tire. I am not sure he could have run that pace the whole race, but we will never know. I can’t thank Kevin Rumley enough. He has turned this whole program around in the last few weeks; also thanks to the Labonte’s and Longhorn Chassis for building such a great race car. Thanks to Lee Roy Rumley. He is not with us again here tonight, and a special thanks to my dad, who showed up tonight for all of his support.”


Erb also picked up some valuable championship points as well. “We had another good car tonight. This is probably the closest up front that we have started here. In the past, it seems like I was always getting the hard charger of the race. I thought we were finally going to get a win here; maybe in October,” said the driver of the Vomac Truck Sales/McBride Mack/Black Diamond Chassis.


McCreadie was also looking for his first LOLMDS win of the season. He brought his Sweeteners Plus/Longhorn home in third. “That was a great race for the fans; it was a fun race to drive. Our car was good up against the cushion for a while. After breaking last night it feels good to get a podium finish.”


Completing the top ten were Steve Francis, Devin Moran, Jimmy Owens, R.J. Conley, and Don O’Neal.


In preliminary action, Jonathan Davenport set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 35 entrants, with a lap of 14.733 seconds. Darrell Lanigan set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.829 seconds. Jonathan Davenport, Earl Pearson Jr., Tim McCreadie, and Jackie Boggs won their respective heat races. Ben Adkins and Delmas Conley won their respective B-Mains.


Feature Finish (60 Laps):

1 1 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $13,100
2 5 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $6,200
3 2 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $4,200
4 3 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $3,550
5 11 71R Rod Conley Wheelersburg, OH $2,250
6 8 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $2,500
7 12 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH $1,500
8 6 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $2,100
9 21 71c RJ Conley Wheelersburg, OH $1,200
10 14 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,900
11 9 9F Mark Frazier Chillicothe, OH $1,075
12 10 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,750
13 15 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $1,925
14 17 B7 Ben Adkins West Portsmouth, OH $1,000
15 13 1G Devin Gilpin Columbus, IN $1,000
16 16 17T Shannon Thornsberry Martin, KY $1,000
17 7 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $1,700
18 20 1A Audie Swartz Minford, OH $1,000
19 4 4B Jackie Boggs Grayson, KY $1,000
20 24 1B Nick Bocook Wheelersburg, OH $1,000
21 18 71d Delmas Conley Wheelersburg, OH $1,000
22 22 21* Kyle Hardy Stephens City, VA $1,000
23 23 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $1,100
24 19 c7 Kenny Christy Vanceburg, KY $1,000


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release. Photo credit: Heath Lawson

Superman Fires Off Late for Second Straight Win in Ohio