Super Late Model Drivers Gearing Up for Turkey Shoot in Tucson

The final Super Late Model race of the year west of the Mississippi will take place this weekend at Tuscon Speedway in the Turkey Shoot 125.  Now in its fourth year, the Turkey Shoot bookends the racing season at the 3/8-mile oval, with the Chilly Willy 150 kick-starting the next race season out west.

The current entry list for Saturday’s race is led by former NASCAR K&N Pro Series West champion Chris Eggleston.  The Colorado driver is a former winner of the Chilly Willy 150, having done so in 2018.  Another former Tuscon Speedway winner from Colorado is also entered, as 2018 NASCAR K&N Pro Series West winner Kody Vanderwal is also entered along with his father Rudy.

Former Kulwicki Driver Development Program champion Brett Yackey is also scheduled to make the trip from Colorado for the Turkey Shoot.  His father, Bruce Yackey, is also entered for the event.

The local contingent is led by Brandon Farrington, who is coming off his third-straight Tuscon Speedway track championship earned one month ago.  Former SRL Southwest Tour winner Sean Bray is also entered, looking for another big win at the Arizona track.  Brandon Schilling, Paul Banghart, Keith Lopez, Dylan Jones, and track promoter John Lashley will also look to keep the trophy in the Tuscon area.

Nevada driver Kayli Barker will make the trip south for the Turkey Shoot, as well as Oregon’s Austin Thom.  The event will also have an international flavor to it as Darrell Midgely and Brandon Carlson will head to Tuscon from British Columbia for the event.

The Turkey Shoot weekend will begin Friday, November 29 with the Vintage Sprints and a 50-lap Super Late Model feature.  The 125-lap main event will be contested on Saturday, November 30 with the Vintage Sprints and the King of the Hill also on tap. will have coverage of the Turkey Shoot 125 weekend.

Turkey Shoot 125 Entry List:

Bruce Yackey

Brandon Schilling

Paul Banghart

Chris Eggleston

Keith Lopez

Brandon Farrington

Dylan Jones

Brett Yackey

Rudy Vanderwal

Kayli Barker

Kody Vanderwal

Sean Bray

Darrell Midgely

Brandon Carlson

Austin Thom

John Lashley

-Story by: Koty Geyer, State Editor (IN/MI) – Twitter: @kgeyer3


Super Late Model Drivers Gearing Up for Turkey Shoot in Tucson