Thompson, CT – The Sunoco Modifieds will be in the spotlight at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (TSMP) for their second annual 20/20 Sprint event on Whelen Night, Wednesday, July 29th.

The Sunoco Modified 20/20 Sprint, presented by King Cadillac GMC will feature a three segment race for the open-wheel division, with the lowest overall point total taking the victory. The first segment will be based upon current points standings, and will be 20 laps in distance.  The second segment will be a complete inversion of lead lap cars setting the field, and will also consist of 20 laps. The third and final segment will be lined up by fastest lap times from the first segment, but will only be a 10 lap sprint for the win. This format has been used for both the Late Model and Sunoco Modified divisions at TSMP, and has resulted in high energy wheel-to-wheel action.

Just under halfway through the season, Woody Pitkat currently sits at the top of the standings in the Sunoco Modified Division after achieving podium finishes at the first three races of the season. He holds a ten-point lead over last year’s champion, Ryan Preece, who won the first two races at TSMP, but fell back when he suffered mechanical issues after an impact with the wall in the last event. Keith Rocco sits next in the standings in third.

The Late Models will be on hand for a 25-lap feature race. Brian Tagg, a new name to the Late Models this season at TSMP, currently holds the top position in the standings. Keith Rocco, who has been running both divisions, has seen success in the Late Models as well, and follows just seven points behind Tagg. Last year’s champion, Rick Gentes, follows close behind in third and will look to close the 11-point gap to get back to the top.

Scott Sundeen, last year’s Xtramart Limited Sportsman champion, enters Whelen Night with an eight point lead over Christopher Douton. Sundeen claimed a win early in the season at the Icebreaker in April, and his consistency in the following races has kept him at the top. The division has seen four different race winners in the first four events, and with the top three in the standings just 13-points apart, the championship is still far from decided.

The Mini Stocks will run their second Triple Crown Championship race of the season next Wednesday. The 15-lap feature will earn drivers points in this special mid-season series, as well as TSMP championship points. Dave Trudeau currently leads the TSMP points in the division with just a four point lead over Scott Michalski. Although Michalski has claimed wins in three out of the four races this season, a poor finish in the June 10th race, unfortunately took him out of the lead, leaving Eric Bourgeois with the win. Bourgeois currently leads the standings in the Triple Crown Chamionship.

The Vintage Outlaws, who have become a semi-regular division at TSMP, will also return for a 15 lap feature.

Whelen Engineering will have your special-built Cosworth semi on display and will have giveaways for fans. The Kids Korner will return and will feature a bounce house for children to enjoy through the evening’s event, sponsored by Jessica Tuesday’s.

Qualifying begins at 5:15PM on Wednesday, July 29th for the Sunoco Modified 20/20 Sprint, with the first feature scheduled for 6:15PM.  Pit gates open at 2:00, grandstands open and practice begins at 3:30.  Adult ticket prices are $20; Seniors, Active Military & Veterans are $18; Juniors (age 6-14) are just $5; and children 5 and under are free.  Paddock fees are $30.
For more information on Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, visit, like us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter @ThompsonSpdwy or Youtube.

-Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Press Release.  Photo Credit:

Sunoco Mods Return for 20/20 Sprint at Thompson