Strong Field of Outlaw Supers Entered for Summer Sizzler

The biggest week in all of Outlaw Super Late Model racing begins Thursday night at New Paris Speedway with the 18th Annual Summer Sizzler. The 100-lap event at the Northern Indiana quarter-mile brings some of the top drivers in the Midwest together in what promises to be an exciting show.

Of the 12 different winners in the previous 17 editions of the Summer Sizzler, eight of them are entered for Thursday night’s race. Four-time Summer Sizzler winner Tyler Roahrig (2012, 2013, 2015 & 2016) will look to extend his record with a fifth win while father J.R. Roahrig (2011 & 2018) tries to defend his win from one year ago with a third win. Jeff Ganus (2008, 2014) will also look to add a third win, and is already locked into Thursday night’s race by virtue of his win on July 20.

Father-son duo Andy (2003) and Phil Bozell (2010) will make the trip from Portage, Michigan to vie for their second Summer Sizzler wins. 2017 winner Bud Perry will look for his second win in the last three years, while 2005 and 2008 winners Jack Landis and Scott Hantz will be making their first Outlaw Super Late Model starts of the year.
A strong list of drivers looking for their first Summer Sizzler wins is led by Intimidator 100 winner Adam Terry. He is one of several drivers from Michigan making the trip south, along with two-time Kalamazoo Speedway track champion Mark Shook, Chris Nash, and Matt Frazier on the west side, as well as Jason Felver, Alex Hagon, and Joey Barnhart from the east side of the Wolverine State.

The Hoosier State charge is led by Craig Everage, who is coming off a win in the All-Star 75 at Kalamazoo Speedway last Friday night over perennial Outlaw Super Late Model shoes Tyler Roahrig and Steve Needles. New Paris Speedway regulars Scott Ross, Brandyn Ross, Steve Stacy, Donny Klotz III, and Corey Ryman are also entered.

Nearby South Bend Motor Speedway will be heavily represented Thursday night. Along with several drivers already mentioned, track owners Kevin and Vern Sauer, former track announcer Chris Highbaugh, multi-time track champion Rich Boal, and Wade Berger will make the trip southeast. Also entered is 2011 Redbud winner Steve Dorer.

Other drivers are either expected to file entries in the next couple days or show up unannounced on race day. Jeff Ganus, Scott Ross, and Kenny Whitman have already locked their spots into the 100-lap main event Thursday night by virtue of top-three finishes in the Summer Sizzler tune-up on July 20.

Modifieds will join the card once again with 22 cars already entered for their portion of the Summer Sizzler.
Practice will begin at 2 p.m. on Thursday, with Summer Sizzler qualifying at 6 p.m. and the first green flag at 7 p.m. The track is expecting to go green with the 18th Annual Summer Sizzler at approximately 9:00 p.m. We will have video highlights from the Summer Sizzler on the Speed51 Network.

Summer Sizzler Entry List (As of 7/29/19):
J.R. Roahrig
Tyler Roahrig
Phil Bozell
Andy Bozell
Andrew Devreese
Scott Hantz
Matt Frazier
Brandyn Ross
Scott Ross
Steve Stacy
Donny Klotz III
Bud Perry
Corey Ryman
Kevin Sauer
Jeff Ganus
Adam Terry
Chris Highbaugh
Vern Sauer
Kenny Whitman
Rich Boal
Wade Berger
Chris Nash
Mark Shook
Jason Felver
Alex Hagon
Joey Barnhart
Steve Dorer
Jack Landis
Craig Everage

-Story by: Koty Geyer, State Editor (IN/MI) – Twitter: @kgeyer3
-Photo credit:

Strong Field of Outlaw Supers Entered for Summer Sizzler