KELLYVILLE, Okla. — Nobody knew what to expect the USMTS rolled into town for the first-ever event at the Creek County Speedway, but after the dust settled around 10 p.m. Sunday night it was clear that the bar was set pretty high for a possible second annual Henryetta Ford Clash at The Creek event in 2019.


As a successful electrician, columnist, former flat track motorcycle racer and current USMTS superstar, Joe Duvall has worn many hats, but this month he donned a promoter’s derby and put together a show for folks in his formative stomping grounds in and around Tulsa, Okla.


With more than $7,000 in added sponsorship cash and prizes for the competitors-not to mention a couple good ol’ fashioned trophy girls-the racers payed it forward with a wild caution-free main event that gave the huge crowd their money’s worth.


Speaking of money, Stormy Scott was just that tonight. He tracked down early leader Lucas Schott late in the contest before making the winning pass with 12 laps to go and holding on to pocket more than $4,000 for his 47th career USMTS victory.


“I was concentrating more than anything,” Scott said of the non-stop affair around the tight quarter-mile bullring. “It just seemed like once we got to lapped cars we never got out of them, so it made it pretty interesting. More than anything you had to be patient-super, super patient.”


Patience paid off in a big way for the 28-year-old from Las Cruces, N.M., but there wasn’t time to wait late in the race. In just a little over 30 seconds elapsed time during the final two laps, he had to maneuver his way around eight lapped cars while his brother, Johnny Scott, was trying to reel him in by flying around the high side.


“When I got by Lucas there I thought it was kind of a risk to move up there, but I thought I might as well try it because if I don’t somebody behind me is going to try it. Luckily, it worked out.”


To be exact, the winner’s payout was $4,050 while Schott, who slipped to fifth by the end of the race, collected $3,690 which included $2,900 in lap leader bonus money.


Johnny Scott followed his brother to the checkered flag while seventh-starting Jake O’Neil and Rodney Sanders wound up third and fourth, respectively. Tyler Wolff, Terry Phillips, Dereck Ramirez, Duvall and Zack VanderBeek rounded out the top ten.


By passing the most cars in the feature, Ramirez picked up $100 as the FK Rod Ends Hard Charger Award winner and an extra $500 courtesy of Bergman Tax & Accounting.


Other special award winners on the night included Duvall, who garnered $100 from CAM Chassis as the highest finishing Chevrolet Performance crate engine. VanderBeek netted a new carbon fiber driveshaft courtesy of Fast Shafts, Darron Fuqua took home four new springs from Swift Springs and Muskogee Powdercoat awarded a $500 credit to Randy Timms, Chad Davis, William Gould, Lance Town, Zane Ferrell and Logan Robertson.


Schott earned a $100 credit from five1seven Designs plus a 3′ x 4′ custom drivers mat from Bulletproof Tees as the leader on lap 27. Schoenfeld Headers provided a $100 credit off a new set of Tri-Y headers to Nathan Hagar, Michael Ables and Matt French got $50 certificates courtesy of Wehrs Machine & Racing Products and all competitors in both the USMTS and Lucas Oil NOW600 micros get a $50 discount from


In addition, $50 certificates were awarded to all non-qualifiers courtesy of Velocita-USA, $50 certificates went to six mystery positions in the Real Racing Wheels “B” Mains courtesy of Speedway Motors, awards for mystery non-transfer positions were doled out by Brassmonkey Racing Products and all Real Racing Wheels “B” Main winners took home a case of Spike Energy.


Main event lap sponsors included Lisa Tiernan Photography, Maxwell Oil, Chris Ross Racing, Danny Martin Trucking, Cary McKaughan Snap-On Tools, All American Forklift,, Team Eights,, Brassmonkey Racing Products,, York Street Tire, Same Day Tire and Auto, Jaime Torres Racing, CRD Construction, Ted Holt Sr., Ted Holt Jr., Adam Kates Racing, Harley Hollan Companies, Driven Midwest, Arkansas Myriad, H.O. “Dizzy” Dean Racing and Mike’s Flagpole Service.


Competitors also received contingency awards from American Racer, Beyea Custom Headers, BSB Manufacturing, Champ Pans, Deatherage Opticians, E3 Spark Plugs, Edelbrock, Eibach, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, Forty9 Designs, GRT Race Cars, Hooker Harness, Integra Shocks & Springs, Jerovetz Motorsports Racing Parts, Keyser Manufacturing, KSE Racing Products, Maxima Racing Oils, Out-Pace Racing Products, QA1,, Real Racing Wheels, Simpson Performance Products, Swift Springs, Sybesma Graphics, Tire Demon, VP Racing Fuels, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products and Wilwood Disc Brakes.


After a week off, the USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup powered by Summit continues May 18-20 with a tripleheader in Minnesota and Northern Iowa.


On Friday, the I-94 Speedway in Fergus Falls, Minn., hosts the 4th Annual Casey’s General Stores Summersota Nationals, and then it’s on to the Ogilvie Raceway in Ogilvie, Minn., on Saturday for the 7th Annual Chubbs Performance Modified Madness presented by U.S. Army.


The weekend wraps up with a return to the Mason City Motor Speedway in Mason City, Iowa, for the 7th Annual Diamond Jo Casino “All-In 77” on Sunday.


To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at and Instagram at or subscribe to our YouTube channel at Keep up to speed with everything USMTS by joining our email list at


1. (2) 2s Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M., VanderBuilt/Mullins, 40, $4050.
2. (6) 1st Johnny Scott, Cameron, Mo., VanderBuilt/Durham, 40, $1825.
3. (7) 0 Jake O’Neil (R), Tucson, Ariz., LG2/Cornett, 40, $1300.
4. (4) 20 Rodney Sanders, Worthington, Minn., MBCustoms/Hatfield, 40, $995.
5. (1) 69 Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn., MBCustoms/Hill, 40, $3690.
6. (3) 4w Tyler Wolff, Fayetteville, Ark., MBCustoms/Hatfield, 40, $500.
7. (9) 75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo., GRT/Durham, 40, $735.
8. (15) 4r Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla., Hughes/Cornett, 40, $1180.
9. (5) 91 Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla., MBCustoms/ChevPerf, 40, $750.
10. (14) 33z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa, VanderBuilt/Sput’s, 40, $625.
11. (8) 88 Chad Wheeler, Muskogee, Okla., MBCustoms/Durham, 40, $325.
12. (10) 15 Randy Timms, Wheatland, Okla., WesternFlyer/PerfAuto, 40, $200.
13. (18) 52 Chad Davis, Tulsa, Okla., RaceCraft/BMS, 40, $200.
14. (11) 60 William Gould, Calera, Okla., GRC/BMS, 39, $200.
15. (20) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan., MBCustoms/Driskell, 39, $250.
16. (13) 49jr Jake Timm, Minnesota City, Minn., MBCustoms/Sput’s, 39, $525.
17. (17) 21t Lance Town, Wellsville, Kan., MBCustoms/Driskell, 39, $250.
18. (12) 24z Zane Ferrell (R), Hermitage, Ark., MBCustoms/ASI, 39, $250.
19. (21) 23 Logan Robertson, Shamrock, Texas, MBCustoms/Knowles, 38, $450.
20. (19) 55 Nathan Hagar (R), Adair, Okla., Shaw/Rev’s, 38, $250.
21. (22) 8c Chris Clark, Jackson, Wyo., GRT/Cornett, 37, $250.
22. (16) 12b Johnny Bone Jr., Pea Ridge, Ark., Shaw/Yeoman, 19, $250.


-USMTS Press Release

-Photo credit: Lonnie Wheatly

Stormy Scott Seizes Cash in USMTS Clash at The Creek