Stewart, Mason Claim Big Grassroots Wins At Lake View

LAKE VIEW, SC (September 4) – Andy Stewart and Ed Mason raced to grassroots wins worth $3,000 each Saturday night at Lake View Motor Speedway.  Stewart was the Mid-East Street Stock winner, while Mason claimed the win in Stock V8 division.


After starting from the outside pole, Stewart quickly jumped into the lead over polesitter Cameron Norris, IV in the 30-lap Mid-East Street Stock feature.  The first caution of the night waved on lap two when last week’s Lake View winner, Cameron Holloway went for a spin in turn four.  Stewart continued to lead through several restarts, including lap six when top five runner Rocky Gasque spun on the frontstretch and got into the inside guardrail.  Once again, Stewart excelled on restarts opening up a 10-car length advantage at times over Norris and Everette Dunlap.  On lap 14, the caution waved again when Walker Cockerill spun in turn four with Darryl Moran riding over the hood of Cockerill’s machine. Stewart dominated to take the win over Dunlap, Hank Taylor, Dalton Pannell, and Mike Manes.  Rounding out the top 10 were Dustin Watkins, Chris Powers, Michael Marlowe, Bubba Kolb, and Michael Butler.


Ian Padgett appeared to be the Stock V8 winner, but after post-race tech Ed Mason was awarded with the win.  James Smith and Padgett led the field to green for the 30-lap race, with Smith getting the advantage to lead lap one.  The first caution of the race waved at the completion of the first lap when Seth Outlaw and Caleb Dunlap spun in turn four. Smith continued to lead until lap 16 when he bobbled in turn three, allowing Padgett to slip by for the lead.  One lap later, contact with Jaden Locklear sent Smith spinning in turn one.  Padgett led the rest of the way, but with the disqualification, Mason inherited the win over Smith, John Charles, Brandon Grimsley, and Daniel Wallace.


Roanoke Rapids, NC driver Willie Milliken started from the pole and dominated to take his second straight Late Model win at Lake View.  The only major incident occurred on a restart when Blake Sanderson spun and made hard contact with the frontstretch guardrail.  Following Milliken at the finish were Colby Jenerette, Johnny Pridgen, Dustin Perritt, and Jeffery Johnson.


Following contact on the last lap between leaders Daniel Adam and Eddie Daniels, Jason Locklear prevailed for his first Legends win


The next event at Lake View Motor Speedway will feature the Blue Ridge Outlaw Late Models, 602 Open Wheel Modifieds, CRUSA Street Stocks, Stock V-8, and the Morrisonbuilt Performance SCDRA Sport Compacts.  For more information, please “Like” Lake View Motor Speedway on Facebook, follow @LakeViewDirt on Twitter or by visiting


-Lake View Motor Speedway Press Release and Photo

Stewart, Mason Claim Big Grassroots Wins At Lake View