Steve Carlson came back to the La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway determined to make a statement in the Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Model division after a two week break. And he did just that. Carlson grabbed his second feature win in as many races this season after taking a late lead in the 25-lap race.


Carlson turned the fastest lap in qualifying but had to fight his way to the top spot after starting toward the back of the field.


It was Jack Litsheim who managed to take an early lead after passing pole-sitter Curt Eckelberg. It wasn’t easy sailing for Litsheim, who had Harley Jankowski on his bumper for several laps.


A caution on lap six was Litsheim’s downfall. The three cars of Cam Dezelske, Justin Zmyewski and Jonathan Eckelberg made contact in the middle of Turns 1 and 2, spinning all three and sending two into the wall on high side.


Shawn Pfaff narrowly missed the action. He went to the high side to avoid the car sitting at the bottom of the track, but then had to dive low quickly to avoid the two cars on the top. He made it through the tangled mess to restart fifth when the green flag waived.


Litsheim restarted in the lead, but Jankowski was quickly able to overpower him to lead the field as a second yellow flag flew after Brad Powell’s car spun in the middle of Turns 3 and 4.


Jankowski wasn’t as successful on the second restart. Jerimy Wagner worked his way around the lead car only to have to then fend off Carlson, who had made his way to the third spot.


Carlson took the second spot from Jankowski two laps later. It took Carlson three more laps to reach Wagner’s back bumper and only one more after that to get around him.


Carlson put the field in his review mirror and Jankowski recaptured the second spot from Wagner.


Jankowski held on to the second spot and Wagner the third. Adam Degenhardt finished fourth and Shawn Pfaff fifth.


Jimmy Gilster weaved his way through intense three- and four-wide racing to make his way to Victory Lane in the Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen division.


Jeff Thompson had a strong lead for the first half of the race. The last thing he wanted to see was a yellow flag, but the caution came out on lap eight after Tony Leis spun in Turn 4.


The caution brought Gilster and the rest of the field to Thompson’s back bumper. Gilster worked his way around Thompson on the restart for the feature win.


Thompson fell back to finish sixth. Nick Clements finished second, Brian Hesselberg third, Steve Bachman fourth and Bill Martin rounded out the top five.


Charles Vian Jr. won the Auto Value Thunderstox feature after race leader Andy Moore cut a tire and left the track with three laps to go. Kyle Lockington finished second and Jacinda Pfaff third.


Tom Luethe captured the checkered flag in the ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornet feature. Hornet drivers Garrett Thicke and Jason Lindvig took home Novelty wins.


Saturday, May 23 is Buck Night at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway presented by Tri-State Ambulance. Join us for exciting racing from the Late Models, Sportsmen, Thunderstox, Street Stocks and Outlawz. There will also be a Tag Team race and Kid’s Box Car races. Plus, all concession stand menu items are just one dollar. For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit


LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series –

Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models
Kwik Trip 25 Feature (17 Cars) — 1, Steve Carlson, West Salem; 2, Harley Jankowski, Sparta; 3, Jerimy Wagner, Onalaska; 4, Adam Degenhardt, Coon Valley; 5, Shawn Pfaff, Sparta; 6, Matthew Henderson, La Crosse; 7, Mike Carlson, West Salem; 8, Jack Litsheim, La Crosse; 9, Curt Eckelberg, West Salem; 10, Cole Howland, La Crosse; 11, Jason Dummer, Holmen; 12, Jonathan Eckelberg, West Salem; 13, Brad Powell, La Crosse; 14, Cam Dezelske, La Crosse; 15, Justin Zmyewski, Houston, Minn.; 16, Jimmy Summerfield, Rockland; 17, Carter Christianson, West Salem.
Qualifying — 1, Steve Carlson, 19.880 seconds, 98.768 MPH; 2, Shawn Pfaff, 19.956 secs, 98.391 MPH; 3, Harley Jankowski, 19.960 secs, 98.372 MPH; 4, Brad Powell, 19.961 secs, 98.367 MPH; 5, Adam Degenhardt, 20.075 secs, 97.808 MPH; 6, Mike Carlson; 7, Matthew Henderson; 8, Jerimy Wagner; 9, Cole Howland; 10, Jack Litsheim; 11, Jason Dummer; 12, Cam Dezelske; 13, Curt Eckelberg; 14, Jonathan Eckelberg; 15, Justin Zmyewski; 16, Jimmy Summerfield; 17, Carter Christenson;
Heat 1 — 1,Cole Howland; 2, Matthew Henderson; 3, Jerimy Wagner; 4, Jack Litsheim; 5, Curt Eckelberg.
Heat 2 —
Fast Dash — 1, Adam Degenhardt; 2, Mike Carlson; 3, Brad Powell; 4, Shawn Pfaff; 5, Steve Carlson.

Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen
Kwik Trip 15 Feature (19 Cars) — 1, Jimmy Gilster, West Salem; 2, Nick Clements, West Salem; 3, Brian Hesselberg, West Salem; 4, Steve Bachman, West Salem; 5, Bill Martin, Madison; 6, Jeff Thompson, La Crosse; 7, Rick Johnson, West Salem; 8, Tony Leis, Onalaska; 9, Justin Mullikin, Holmen; 10, Brad Warthan, Sparta; 11, Jamie Dummer, Tomah; 12, Andy Buhrows, Sparta; 13, Jake Bemis, Trempealeau; 14, Mark Challet, La Crosse; 15, John Inglett, La Crosse; 16, John Radtke, La Crosse; 17, Jason Challet, La Crosse; 18, Bob Fort, Cochrane; 19, Mandi Eckelberg, West Salem.
Qualifying — 1, Steve Bachman, 21.560 seconds, 91.071 MPH; 2, Tony Leis, 21.635 secs, 90.756 MPH; 3, Bill Martin, 21.646 secs, 90.710 MPH; 4, Nick Clements, 21.650 secs, 90.693 MPH; 5, Jimmy Gilster, 21.784 secs, 90.135 MPH; 6, Brian Hesselberg; 7, Rick Johnson; 8, Justin Mullikin; 9, Brad Warthan; 10, Jamie Dummer; 11, Jake Bemis; 12, Andy Buhrow; 13, Jeff Thompson; 14, Jason Schaller; 15, Mandi Eckelberg; 16, Mark Challet; 17, John Radtke; 18, Jon Inglett;
Heat 1 — 1, Brad Warthan; 2, Rick Johnson; 3, Justin Mullikin; 4, Jamie Dummer; 5, Jake Bemis.
Heat 2 — 1, Jeff Thomson; 2, Jason Schaller; 3, Bob Fort; 4, Mark Challet; 5, Jonathan Inglett.
Dash — 1, Jimmy Gilster; 2, Bill Martin; 3, Brian Hesselberg; 4, Nick Clements; 5, Steve Bachman.

Auto Value Thunderstox
Kwik Trip 15 Feature (9 cars) — 1, Charles Vian Jr., Sparta; 2, Kyle Lockington, La Crosse; 3, Jacinda Pfaff, Sparta; 4, Kayla Lockington, Mindoro; 5, Melissa Rusch, La Crosse; 6, Kaleb Hardy, Sparta; 7, Ron White, Camp Douglas; 8, Scott Mahlum, La Crosse; 9, Andy Moore, Sparta.
Dash — 1, Jacinda Pfaff; 2, Andy Moore; 3, Charles Vian, Jr.; 4, Melissa Rusch.
Heat 1 — 1, Andy Moore; 2, Jacinda Pfaff; 3, Kyle Lockington; 4, Scott Mahlum; 5, Kayla Lockington.
Heat 2 — 1, Charles Vian Jr.; 2, Kaleb Hardy; 3, Ron White; 4, Megan Scholze.

ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornets
Kwik Trip 15 Feature (24 cars) — 1, Jeff Thompson, La Crosse; 2, Brandon LeMoine, West Salem; 3, Nate Towner, Trempealeau; 4, Patrick Thicke, West Salem; 5, Kris Berg, Ettrick; 6, Jake Schomers, La Crescent; 7, Hunter Miller, West Salem; 8, Garrett Thicke, West Salem; 9, Josh Viner, La Crosse; 10, Kim Strom, West Salem; 11, Tom Luethe, West Salem; 12, Jeffrey Von Ruden, Norwalk; 13, Sammy Linnehan, Sparta; 14, John Piotrowski, Black River Falls; 15, John Clauson, Onalaska; 16, Kyle Rozek, Tomah; 17, Paul Mahlum III, Holmen; 18 Cheyanne Williamson, La Crosse; 19, Cheyanne Stanfield, Sparta; 20, Matt Miller, La Crosse; 21, Marc Luethe, West Salem; 22, Jason Lindvig, La Crosse; 23, Jackson Broer, Coon Valley; 24, Ben Stumlin, Holmen.
Heat 1 — 1, Patrick Thicke; 2, Garret Thicke; 3, Jake Schomers; 4, Brandon LeMoine; 5, Kim Strom.
Heat 2 — 1, Kris Berg; 2, Josh Viner; 3, Jason Lindvig; 4, Sammy Linnehan; 5, Hunter Miller.


– La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway Release

Mary Schill Photo

Carlson Goes Back-to-Back at La Crosse Fairgrounds