Star-Studded Field to Compete in Open Wheel 250 on Speed51

Speed51 will once again present IndyCar sim racing as part of its expanding eSports coverage.  The Open Wheel 250 Invitational will take place at the virtual Indianapolis Motor Speedway, sanctioned by Elite Racing Leagues in partnership with Speed51 Friday night, April 3 at 7:00pm ET.


The Open Wheel 250 will feature some of the top drivers of the NTT Data IndyCar Series.  Former Indianapolis 500 winners Helio Castroneves, Juan Pablo Montoya and Alexander Rossi lead the list of entries for the 100-lap event around the world-famous 2.5 mile oval.


Two-time and reigning IndyCar Series champion Josef Newgarden is also entered for the invitational, along with stars Colton Herta, Conor Daly, Ed Carpenter, Graham Rahal and James Hinchcliffe.  A full list of entries can be found below.


There will also be an open qualifier with drivers from the Sports Car, NASCAR, Open Wheel, and NHRA ranks taking part in hopes of locking themselves into the big show.  Bommarito Auto Group Throwback 500 winner Scott Andrews is one driver that will compete in the Open.


The Open Wheel 250 will be broadcasted on free for all viewers.  It will begin at 5:00pm ET Friday night with the Open Qualifier, followes by the main event at 7:00.


To see a full schedule of sim racing broadcasts on Speed51, click here.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3


Open Wheel 250 Entry List:

Alex Palou

Alexander Rossi

Colton Herta

Conor Daly

Ed Carpenter

Gabby Chavez

Graham Rahal

Helio Castroneves

James Davison

James Hinchcliffe

Josef Newgarden

JR Hildebrand

Juan Pablo Montoya

Kyle Kaiser

Marcus Ericcson

Oliver Askew

Pato O’Ward

Santino Ferrucci

Stefan Wilson

Zach Veach

Open Qualifier Entry List:

Connor De Phillippi

Corey Lewis

John Edwards

Josh Bilicki

Mark Reblas

Ron Capps

Scott Andrews

Shawn Langdon

Simon Sikes

Star-Studded Field to Compete in Open Wheel 250 on Speed51