BROWNSTOWN, IN – Earl Pearson Jr. claimed his third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Indiana Icebreaker on Saturday Night at Brownstown Speedway. In front of a standing-room-only crowd, Pearson took the lead on lap two from Devin Moran and led the rest of the way for his second LOLMDS victory of the season in the Carlton and Kemp Lamm, Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Products-sponsored Black Diamond Chassis.


Scott Bloomquist moved past Moran on lap 31 and chased down Pearson, but never found enough room to overtake him. Moran finished third, followed by Jimmy Owens, and the defending race winner, Don O’Neal.


“I knew getting to the front was critical,” said the winner afterwards in Lucas Oil Victory Lane. “It’s Kemp Lamm’s birthday, so what a way to celebrate by winning here at Brownstown! With all the bad winter weather they have had here, they did a good job getting the track smooth. They had a heck of a crowd here tonight.”


“I wanted to get the jump on Moran quickly. The car felt good all night. The heat race we ran was a good one, and winning that sure helped us tonight, because we were able to start on the front row. It’s great to win with the Lamms being here. Andy Durham builds a great engine and I want to thank him for all of the horsepower he is providing us this year.”


Bloomquist; in one of his best runs of the season on the LOLMDS tour; was pleased with his runner-up finish. “Our car hasn’t been that bad this year. We just haven’t had the finishes to show for it. We needed a good run here tonight and we got it. I didn’t know if I could get around Moran. Once I was able to do so, I tried to run down Earl. We caught him there, but with passing at a premium, we just had to settle for second and get a good finish.”


“I want to thank all of my sponsors this year. We have several new ones including Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, Sorbera Chiropractic, and Horton Coal. Hopefully we can build on our momentum from this race and get back in the points chase.”


Moran, who last year had an 18–win season, was looking for his first-ever win at Brownstown. He started on the pole and led the opening lap. “I thought maybe tonight was the night we could get that first win here. I tried my best to hold Earl off, but he had enough momentum on the outside to get by me. I slipped just enough later on to allow Bloomquist to get by, but we will gladly take a top three here. It’s the best we have ever finished here. I want to thank Dow Cameron Oil and Gas, Eddie’s Sunoco, and Donnie Moran Driving School for all of their help. To run third with these guys, I am tickled to death.”


Completing the top ten were Chris Simpson, Brandon Sheppard, Eddie Carrier Jr., Steve Casebolt, and Steve Francis.


In preliminary action, Jimmy Owens set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 41 entrants, with a lap of 14.108 seconds. Jonathan Davenport set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.384 seconds. Devin Moran, Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., and Don O’Neal won their respective heat races. Kent Robinson and Matt Westfall won their respective B-Mains.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on,, and


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release. Photo credit:

‘Heck of a Crowd’ Watches Pearson Win at Brownstown