Rich and bountiful.  Those are two words that can be used to describe the entry list for the 40th annual Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway, the 2016 season opener for the Southern Super Series presented by Sunoco.  With less than three weeks remaining until the green flag flies on March 20, 33 drivers are currently entered for the prestigious Super Late Model event.


The 33 driver entry list boasts plenty of Southern Super Series regulars but also features a number of drivers from outside the Deep South.


MVPR Rattler 2016


Highlighting the list of entries is defending race winner and current NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Christopher Bell. The 2015 Rattler 250 winner will be joined by his Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate in the Truck Series, 2015 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East champion William Byron to complete the two car lineup for KBM.


Leading the charge for the tough contingent of Southern Super Series competitors will be defending series champion Casey Smith, Super Late Model ace Bubba Pollard and hard-nosed Oklahoma racer Donnie Wilson.  2015 Southern Super Series winner Kyle Grissom, 2015 Rookie of the Year Garrett Jones and Pensacola, Florida racer Logan Boyett are also among the list of series regulars to enter the Rattler.


Two drivers who know how to get the job done at South Alabama Speedway, former Rattler 250 winners Augie Grill and Casey Roderick, have filed entries for the event and will be among the list of favorites.


The hottest driver in Super Late Model racing to start the 2016 season, Wisconsin native Ty Majeski, has also filed an entry for the Rattler 250.  Majeski is fresh off a white hot month of February in which he bolstered three victories on his way to winning the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing championship at New Smyrna Speedway.


Joining Majeski as a member of the Midwest contingent will be fellow Wisconsin driver and four-time Oktoberfest winner Travis Sauter, who has proven to be a force wherever he races. He’ll attempt to win the Rattler in his first ever trip to South Alabama Speedway.


One driver looking to defend his turf at the 40th annual Rattler will be Alabama native Bret Holmes.  The 18-year-old who scored wins at Montgomery Motor Speedway (AL) in 2015 will be searching for the biggest win of his career in front of his home state fans.


The prominent LFR Driver Development Group will make their presence well known at the South Alabama Speedway by bringing a three-driver lineup with Christian Eckes, Quin Houff and Kaz Grala, set to pilot the team’s familiar black race cars.


Other top drivers from around the country who have filed an entry include Red-Eye 100 winner Cole Anderson, rising star Zane Smith, Florida driver Stephen Nasse, second-generation driver Harrison Burton, 2014 Snowball Derby runner-up Dalton Sargeant and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Cody Coughlin.


With so many talented drivers entered for the 40th annual Rattler 250, the door to victory lane is wide open.  The only way to find out which driver will get to pose with the famous rattlesnake in victory lane is to be at South Alabama Speedway to kick off the Southern Super Series season on March 19-20.


The 40th annual Rattler 250 weekend kicks off on Friday, March 18 with practice for the Southern Super Series, as well as feature racing for local divisions. On Saturday, March 19 the grid for the Rattler 250 will be set during time trials before the Pro Late Models hit the track for the Rattler 125.  All of that leads up to the big show, the Rattler 250 on Sunday, March 20.


More information about the 40th annual Rattler 250 including ticket information can be found by visiting


The 40th Rattler 250 will be just the tip of a packed 12-race schedule that makes up the 2016 season for the Southern Super Series. For more information on the Southern Super Series, visit


-Southern Super Series Press Release. Photo credit:

SSS Rattler 250 Boasts Rich & Bountiful Entry List