Speed51 to Host Short Track Madness Tournament

The month of March is traditionally known as a month full of brackets, upsets and exciting moments.  While that will not be the case on the basketball court this year due to the coronavirus outbreak, our team at Speed51 decided to have some fun and create a bracket of our own.  Throughout the month of March, Speed51 will be hosting the “Short Track Madness Tournament” to crown the top short track driver over the past year.


Like the traditional basketball tournament held each March, our staff has narrowed down a list of hundreds of short track racers to just 65 drivers who will qualify for this year’s tournament.  Accomplishments throughout the 2019 racing season and success during the first three months of the new year were determined when selecting drivers for the bracket.


Drivers from all over North America are represented in this year’s bracket, with regions being labeled as the Heartland, South, North and West / Canada. In order to insert deserving drivers into the tournament, some drivers have been designated to a region close in proximity to their hometown.


The 2020 Short Track Madness tournament will begin Thursday at 5 p.m. ET with a play-in matchup between Dirt Late Model driver Brandon Overton and Late Model Stock Car racer Mike Looney. The winner of that matchup will be assigned the No. 16 seed in the South Region.


From there, voting will heat up on Friday at 5 p.m. ET when fans will be able to place their votes for the first round of tournament action. Voting will continue through the weekend until Monday night at 11:59 p.m. ET when the Round of 32 will be determined.


The second round of action will begin Tuesday, March 24 at 5 p.m. with drivers battling to make the “Speed 16.” Voting for the second round will end Thursday, March 26 at 11:59 p.m. ET.


The Speed 16 will then get underway on Friday, March 27 at 5 p.m. ET, with voting continuing until Monday at 11:59 p.m. ET.


On Tuesday, March 31 the tournament will become epic with eight drivers qualifying for the “Epic 8.”  Fans will have until Thursday, April 2 to cast their votes for the “Fast 4.”


The “Fast 4” round will see the best driver from each region battle for the top spot beginning Friday, April 3 at 5 p.m. ET.  Voting will continue until Monday, April 6 at 11:59 p.m. ET, and the championship matchup will be revealed on Tuesday, April 7.


Voting to crown the overall “Short Track Champion” of the 2019-2020 season will begin at 5 p.m. ET on April 7 and end on Thursday, April 9 on 5 p.m.  The winner of the tournament will be announced on Speed51 shortly after.


The voting process will mostly be held on Speed51.com, with some additional rounds also being contested on our social media pages such as Facebook and Twitter.


Race fans will be able to get their first look at the ballot Friday night at 5 p.m. ET when voting begins.


Voting for the “play-in matchup” between Brandon Overton and Mike Looney will begin Thursday at 4 p.m. ET on Speed51’s Facebook and Twitter.


-Story by: Speed51 Staff

Speed51 to Host Short Track Madness Tournament