Often imitated, but never duplicated, the Speed51.com power poll ranks drovers from all across the land on their strength to this point in the season. Series and tracks in the warmer clients have seen almost a half-season go into the record books, while in the Northeast and other places where Mother Nature has interfered with several race dates, things are just starting to heat up.

A panel of industry experts from all four corners of the country and Canada have voted on their choices for the second Short Track Power poll of 2014. Drivers in all forms of short track racing, including Late Models, NASCAR Touring Series, ARCA, Dirt Late Models and Modifieds, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series or ASA Member Track program and everything in between were eligible.

The rankings shown below were decided after polling our panel of experts in the industry. Rankings were based on overall number of votes, with more weight given to each vote the higher the vote. Example, a #1 vote would be more valuable than a #2, #3, etc.

Here are the results of the short track power rankings to this point in the 2014 racing season:


Bubba Pollard in victory lane at Five Flags Speedway. (Speed51.com Photo)

Bubba Pollard’s hot start to 2014 has him atop the Power Poll. (Speed51.com Photo)

1. Bubba Pollard (Southern Super Series, PLM) – Eight wins in his last 11 starts have Bubba Pollard back on top of the short track world for this edition of the Short Track Power.  Pollard won five races in a row including four straight in the Southern Super Series.  Pollard has four Super Late Model wins and four Pro Late Model win all before the end of May.  He finished on top of the power rankings in 2011 when he won 19 races of 100-lap distances or longer.

2. Ben Rhodes (K&N East) – What a year for the Louisville, Kentucky driver who just missed out the top spot on the poll.  Rhodes has three wins in seven start with four pole awards.  Rhodes has also finished in the top five six times in seven starts.  He’s led over 500 laps this season, putting his mid-way numbers up against the best number in series history.  Rhodes is also running some NASCAR Camping World Trucks series with select events on the side.

3. Anthony Anders (LMSC) – He’s come out of the gates swinging in the Late Model Stock Car world.  Anders has racked up 13 wins in 22 starts.  He’s had a big lead each and every week in the NASCAR Whelen All American National standings.  Anderson is picking up points at Greenville, Anderson, Myrtle Beach and Hickory making him the highest Late Model Stock Car driver on out “Tower of Power”

4. DJ Shaw (PASS North) – For now PASS North does not belong to a Rowe and it does not belong to a Clark.  It belongs to New Hampshire driver DJ Shaw.  The second-generation driver has won three races in PASS North and he also took the Easter Bunny 150 down south at Hickory Motor Speedway.  Shaw has not finished a PASS race out of the top four.

Matt Hirschman, family and crew celebrate another Modified win. (Speed51.com Photo)

Matt Hirschman, family and crew celebrate another Modified win. (Speed51.com Photo)

5. Matt Hirschman (RoC Modified, Modifieds) – Unbeaten in May and unbeaten in the Race of Champion Modified has Matt Hirschman in a normal spot on the Power  Poll.  In the RoC world Hirschman has won eight of his last nine starts and 16 of his last 19.  Hirschman is the king of the open modified show as well after he took the Bullring Bash at Lee.

6. Daniel Hemric (Southern Super Series, PASS South) – The defending Southern Super Series champion is a bit off his game in the sophomore year of the series.  We say that, but he’s only 62 points off the lead. Away from the SSS ranks he’s got three wins so far in PASS South in only four starts.  Hemric will be in lots of different places this summer with his fire suit in one hand and the helmet in the other looking to race.

7. Lee Pulliam (LMSC) – Currently third in the NASCAR National standings with nine wins. Pulliam is chasing his third national title and last weekend he was shutout of victory lane for the first time in weeks.  Pulliam is also running selected K&N East races with Top Gun Motorsports.  Pulliam will be a contender in both cars all season.

8. Donnie Wilson (Southern Super Series) – Donnie Wilson makes his first stop on the “Tower of Power” in his short track career.  Wilson has been brewing up something special since late last season when he led the most laps at the All American 400.  Wilson has already won at Nashville and he ended the Bubba Pollard wins streak with a win at Mobile just a few weeks back.

9. Brian Campbell (CRA Super Series) – A strong 2014 is well underway for Brian Campbell who leads CRA points after wins at Toledo and Berlin.  Campbell almost swept Border Wars II and he was leading at Illiana when he had tire go soft.

10. Keith Rocco (SK Modifieds, Late Models) – He’s seventh in the NASCAR Whelen All American division standings with four SK Modified wins.  Rocco also leads the Division II national standing driving Late Models at Thompson and Waterford.  His D-II win total is seven and that makes 11 and that’s not counting with MRS win at Waterford to start the touring season.




Donnie Schatz celebrates in victory lane.  (John Berry photo)

Donnie Schatz celebrates a victory. (John Berry photo)

11. Donny Schatz (World of Outlaws) – Five Wins in WoO and 30 top 10’s as the 2014 point leader.

12. Ryan Preece (NWAAS, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour) – Five regional SK Modified wins as he also looks to defend NASCAR Whelen Modified tour.

13. Anderson Bowen (Southern Super Series, PLM, ARCA) – Masters of the Pros winner at I-44 and second in SSS points.

14. Derek Thorn  (SPEARS SRL Southwest) – Running well out west in SRL with wins in his last two starts.

15. Grant Enfinger (ARCA) – Winner of three races in six starts in ARCA has him leading the points.  He has five top 10’s and has led 435 laps this season.

16. Andy Seuss (NASCAR Whelen Southern Modifieds) – It’s the summer break for the NWSMT but Seuss leads the points after two wins.

17. Burt Myers (Modifieds, NASCAR Whelen Southern Modifieds) – Dominating at Bowman Gray Stadium with four wins in 11 starts. Myers is chasing track title number seven.

18. Ty Majeski (ARCA Midwest Tour, SLM) – Majeski recently captured Border Wars II at Illiana Motor Speedway.

19. Peyton Sellers (Late Model Stock Cars) – Up to second in the NASCAR National standings.  Five wins in 2014 as Sellers chases second National title.

20. Jimmy Owens (Dirt Late Models) – Recently has taken the most two recent Lucas Oil Late Models shows on dirt.  He’s also second in points.



Others Receiving Votes:

Augie Grill
Bobby Santos
Caleb Holman
Cameron Hayley
Casey Johnson
Chad Finchum
Chuck Hossfeld
Cole Custer
Dalton Zehr
Daniel Suarez
Darrell Lanigan
Davey Johnson
David Mayhew
Derrick Griffin
Dillon Bassett
Don O’Neal
Eddie MacDonald
Garrett Evans
Gray Gaulding
Greg Pursley
Gus Dean
Howie Brodie
Hunter Baize
Jacob Poel
Jason Corliss
Jeep VanWormer
Jeff Ganus
Jeremy Doss
JJ Haley
Joey Pole
Joey Saldana
John Hunter Nemechek
Johnny Clark
Josh Berry
Justin Bonsignore
Justin Haers
Matt Bowling
Matt Miller
Matt Sheppard
Mike Rowe
Nathan Haseleu
Nick Sweet
Rick Eckert
Rico Abreu
Rusty Schlenk
Ryan Hamm
Ryan Partridge
Stewart Friesen
Ted Christopher
Terry Senneker Jr
Tim Sauter
Tommy Lemons Jr.
Tyler Church
William Byron

Speed51.com Short Track Power Rankings – Who’s #1?