Often imitated, but never duplicated, the Speed51.com power poll ranks drivers from all across the land on their strength to this point in the season. Series and tracks in the warmer clients have seen almost a half-season go into the record books, while in the Northeast and other places where Mother Nature has interfered with several race dates, things are just starting to heat up.

A panel of industry experts from all four corners of the country and Canada have voted on their choices for the second Short Track Power poll of 2014. Drivers in all forms of short track racing, including Late Models, NASCAR Touring Series, ARCA, Dirt Late Models and Modifieds, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series or ASA Member Track program and everything in between were eligible.

The rankings shown below were decided after polling our panel of experts in the industry. Rankings were based on overall number of votes, with more weight given to each vote the higher the vote. Example, a #1 vote would be more valuable than a #2, #3, etc.

Here are the results of the short track power rankings to this point in the 2014 racing season:


nwaas lmsc lee pulliam victory lane two south boston

Lee Pulliam keeps on winning as he chases another NASCAR Whelen All American Series Crown. (Speed51.com photo)

1. Lee Pulliam (NWAAS, LMSC) – Chasing a third NASCAR Whelen All American Series National title in a row, Pulliam has been looking up from second most of the season.  Last weekend Pulliam took four wins, two at Caraway and two at South Boston and this past weekend he swept at Southern National.  His win total of 21 is second only to Anthony Anders’ 27 as the two were only six points apart going into this past weekend’s events.

2. Bubba Pollard (SSS, PLM) – Eleven wins this season, leading the points in the Southern Super Series and he’s won in Michigan at Berlin.  He’s unbeaten in his Pro Late Model since the month of January.  The 2014 season has been a big one for Pollard and it could only get bigger as the races bunch up towards the end of the year in his region.

3. Justin Bonsignore (NWMT, MRS) – Has come on strong in Modified ranks with three wins in the NWMT and he’s only four points off the lead.  On the Modified Racing Series side Bonsignore leads the points after several strong runs.  He has been strong all season long having won in February at New Smyrna and the success has not ended since then.

4. Travis Braden (ARCA/CRA) – The defending ARCA/CRA Super Series champion had a bit of a slow start to the 2014 season, but he’s come on strong as of recent having won two of the last three races.  Braden leads the charge back to Winchester where he is expected to be tough.  Right after that will be a stop at a Kilkare, which could be considered his home track.

5. Keith Rocco (NWAAS, Mods) – With 13 wins this season Rocco has had a fine year, putting him in the mix for the NWAAS National Championship.  Rocco entered the weekend 32 points of the lead and with three tracks at his disposal he could stand to pick up more ground down the stretch.  Rocco is also 10th in the Division II standings because of his Late Model efforts at Waterford and Thompson.

6. Daniel Hemric (SSS, SLM, Legends) – Very few drivers have won in CRA, PASS and the Southern Super Series.  Daniel Hemric has done it this season.  He took the Redbud 300 and a near miss at the World Crown 300 could have made his season one of the most memorable in recent memory.  Either way, wins across all three Super Late Model series and a Summer Shootout title have him high in our tower of power.

7. Donny Schatz (WoO) – A big point lead and 17 wins has Donny Schatz in the tower of power as he is chasing a sixth title in the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars.  Schatz has 44 finishes in the top five this year and has been a contender each and every week. Schatz is eyeing his sixth championship which is second only to “The King of the Sprint Cars” Steve Kinser.

8. Terry Senneker, Jr. (Outlaws) – Won the Kalamazoo Klash for the fourth time in his career and third-consecutive time.  Senneker hopes to add the Glass City 200 to his list of achievements this season.  Senneker won that race back in 2012.

9. Ben Rhodes (NKNPSE) – Rhodes has all but clinched the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East after a strong early part of the season.  Rhodes has five wins and 10 finishes in the top five this season. Rhodes has also finished in the top 10 12 times in 14 starts.  He’ll make his ARCA debut this weekend.

Anthony Anders wins another pair in South Carolina. (David Allio Photo)

Anthony Anders wins another pair in South Carolina. (David Allio Photo)

10. Anthony Anders (NWAAS, LMSC) – Anders has 25 wins this season in Late Model Stock Cars and he is leading the NASCAR Whelen All American Series Division I National points.


11. Matt Hirschman (NWMT, RoC Mods) – RoC Mod winner chasing yet another title.

12. Grant Enfinger (ARCA) – Five wins this season has Alabama driver second in points.

13. Nathan Haseleu (ARCA Midwest) – Second in ARCA Midwest Tour points after Norway win.

14. DJ Shaw (PASS North) – Second in PASS North point after three wins this season.

15. Jeremy Doss (SRL) – Leads the SRL points after two wins this season.

16. Danny Bohn (NWSMT/Mods) – Southern Mod Tour winner and track champ at Bowman Gray (NC)

17. Donnie Wilson (SSS,SLM) – Has three Southern Super Series wins in 2014.

18. Andy Seuss (NWSMT) – Leading Southern Modified Points after strong start.

19. Jon McKennedy (ISMA) – Three wins this season as he contends for the ISMA title.

20. Preston Peltier  (PASS South) – Won the last two PASS South Events at SoBo and Southern National.


Others Receiving Votes:   Alex Labbe, Ali Kern, Alex Prunty, Anderson Bowen, Andy Jankowiak, Brad Mueller, Burt Myers, Carson Ferguson, Casey Roderick, Chris Wimmer, Chuck Hossfeld, Conrad Morgan, Dakota Carlson, Dan Church, Dan Leeck, Daryn Pittman, David Gravel, Dennis Prunty, Derek Hagar, Derek Thorn, Drew Charlson, Eric Lee, Jacob Poel, Jason Myers, Jeff Ganus, Jensen Jorgensen, Johnny VanDoorn, Josh Weston, Lee Jefferys, Lowell Bennett, Mason Mitchell, Matt Frahm, Matt Sheppard, Nick Sweet, Ross Kenseth, Ryan Preece, Steve Apel, Steve Dorer, Stewart Friesen, Tom Rogers, Jr., Tommy Barrett, Jr. Tyler Church, Ty Majeski, Wayne Helliwell, Jr,

Speed51.com Short Track Power Rankings – Who’s #1?