Spring Green 116 – Airborne Park Speedway (NY) – 5/14/16 

Last Update: 8:28 p.m. ET

(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)





























What Won the Race: Eddie MacDonald used lapped traffic to make his way by Nick Sweet on lap 107 and drove away to win the Spring Green 116.


The Finish:

1 17MA Eddie MacDonald
2 40VT Nick Sweet
3 91QC Patrick Laperle
4 4NY Brandon Atkins
5 37VT Scott Payea
6 48QC Alex Labbe
7 58VT Jimmy Hebert
8 28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr.
9 5CT Dillon Moltz
10 27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr.
11 16VT Scott Dragon
12 34NH Todd Davis
13 31NH Luke Hinkley
14 1VT Devin O’Connell
15 11NY Josh Masterson
16 9NH Kyle Welch
17 30NH Rich Dubeau
18 61NH Ryan Olsen
19 15NH Brad Babb
20 9ME Emily Packard
21 41QC Jonathan Bouvrette
22 38QC Gaetan Gaudreault
23 22RI Mark Jenison
24 49NH Matt Anderson
25 11QC Claude Leclerc
26 82MA Mark Hudson
27 19QC Dany Trepanier
28 54VT Mike Ziter
29 5VT Bobby Therrien


The Skinny: Patrick Laperle and Nick Sweet swapped the lead during the middle portion of the race before a 26-minute rain delay on lap 61.  Following the delay, Eddie MacDonald powered his No. 17MA towards the front.  He made his way by Laperle for second on lap 93 and used a lapped car as a pick to get by Sweet on lap 107.


Winning Quote: “The harder I drove it the faster it went.  Luckily, the lapped cars really helped to slow Nick (Sweet) down a little bit, just enough to catch him and kinda use that to help us get by him.” – Eddie MacDonald to VTMotorMag.com


Notebook: Officials have adjusted tonight’s schedule and the ACT Spring Green 116 will now be the first feature of the night.


Unofficially, Alex Labbe (+6) and Brandon Atkins (+4) will start on the front row for tonight’s race.


Car Count: 29 ACT Late Models


Title Fight: Unofficially, Nick Sweet will lead the American-Canadian Tour standings after a second-place finish at Airborne.  Bobby Therrien, who sat atop the standings entering the race, finished 29th.


Winning Chassis: Dale Shaw Racecars

Winning Engine: Butler McMaster

Winning Shocks: Koni

Winning Crew Chief: Rollie Lachance


On the Move: Eddie MacDonald started from the 13th position and passed 12 cars in 116 laps on his way to victory lane.


Biggest Loser: Dany Trepanier started from the outside of the second row but retired from the race on lap 93 and finished 27th, a loss of 23 positions.


Starting Line-Up:

1 48QC Alex Labbe
2 4NY Brandon Atkins
3 91QC Patrick Laperle
4 19QC Dany Trepanier
5 15NH Brad Babb
6 40VT Nick Sweet
7 11NY Josh Masterson
8 28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr.
9 54VT Mike Ziter
10 16VT Scott Dragon
11 37VT Scott Payea
12 27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr.
13 17MA Eddie MacDonald
14 5CT Dillon Moltz
15 5VT Bobby Therrien
16 58VT Jimmy Hebert
17 31NH Luke Hinkley
18 9NH Kyle Welch
19 41QC Jonathan Bouvrette
20 9ME Emily Packard
21 34NH Todd Davis
22 30NH Rich Dubeau
23 61NH Ryan Olsen
24 49NH Matt Anderson
25 38QC Gaetan Gaudreault
26 1VT Devin O’Connell
27 11QC Claude Leclerc
28 82MA Mark Hudson
29 22RI Mark Jenison


Consolation Race Results:

1 19QC Dany Trepanier
2 31NH Luke Hinkley
3 5VT Bobby Therrien
4 5CT Dillon Moltz
5 27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr.
6 34NH Todd Davis
7 30NH Rich Dubeau
8 61NH Ryan Olsen
9 49NH Matt Anderson
10 38QC Gaetan Gaudreault
11 1VT Devin O’Connell
12 11QC Claude Leclerc
13 82MA Mark Hudson
14 22RI Mark Jenison


Heat Race Results:

Heat 1 Unofficial Results

1 54VT Mike Ziter
2 58VT Jimmy Hebert
3 17MA Eddie MacDonald
4 37VT Scott Payea
5 4NY Brandon Atkins
6 5CT Dillon Moltz
7 5VT Bobby Therrien
8 34NH Todd Davis
9 61NH Ryan Olsen
10 1VT Devin O’Connell


Heat 2 Unofficial Results

1 16VT Scott Dragon
2 40VT Nick Sweet
3 91QC Patrick Laperle
4 41QC Jonathan Bouvrette
5 11NY Josh Masterson
6 27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr.
7 31NH Luke Hinkley
8 30NH Rich Dubeau
9 22RI Mark Jenison
10 11QC Claude Leclerc


Heat 3 Unofficial Results

1 15NH Brad Babb
2 48QC Alex Labbe
3 9NH Kyle Welch
4 9ME Emily Packard
5 28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr.
6 49NH Matt Anderson
7 19QC Dany Trepanier
8 38QC Gaetan Gaudreault
9 82MA Mark Hudson

Qualifying Events
: There will be three 10-lap qualifying heat races with the top-five finishers qualifying to the plus/minus (positions gained or loss) for the feature.  There will be one 12-lap consi with the top five also qualifying to the plus/minus. The rest of the 29-car field will start straight up based on heat race results.


Practice Results: Scott Payea led the final round of ACT practice over Brandon Atkins, Ryan Olsen, Eddie MacDonald and Todd Davis.


Event Schedule: Qualifying heat races for the American-Canadian Tour get underway at 5 p.m. ET.  Heats for the Sportsman Modifieds, Renegades and Mini-Mods will follow. There will then be an ACT consi, 25-lap Renegade feature and 35-lap Modified feature before the ACT Spring Green 116.  The Mini-Mod feature will be the last feature on the track Saturday night.


Who To Watch For: When the American-Canadian Tour visits Airborne, a strong contingent of Quebec driver invade the states attempting to take the trophy back across the border.  Patrick Laperle and Alex Labbe are two of the drivers to keep an eye on as serious threats to beat the U.S. contingent.


Nick Sweet, the current ACT points leader and 2015 ACT International winner at Airborne, will also be strong.  If you’re looking for an underdog, Brandon Atkins may be your pick.  Atkins’ dad Jamie owns Airborne Park Speedway and Brandon has a lot of laps around the 4/10-mile oval.


Entry List:

1VT Devin O’Connell
4NY Brandon Atkins
5CT Dillon Moltz
5VT Bobby Therrien
9ME Emily Packard
9NH Kyle Welch
11NY Josh Masterson
11QC Claude Leclerc
15NH Brad Babb
16VT Scott Dragon
17MA Eddie MacDonald
19QC Dany Trepanier
22RI Mark Jenison
27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr.
28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr.
30NH Rich Dubeau
31NH Luke Hinkley
34NH Todd Davis
37VT Scott Payea
38QC Gaetan Gaudreault
40VT Nick Sweet
41QC Jonathan Bouvrette
48QC Alex Labbe
49NH Matt Anderson
54VT Mike Ziter
58VT Jimmy Hebert
61NH Ryan Olsen
82MA Mark Hudson
91QC Patrick Laperle


The Track: Airborne Park Speedway is half-mile asphalt oval located in Plattburgh, New York.  2016 is the first year for the track under new management with promoter John Walker calling the shots.


Weather: Temperatures will hover in the high 60s this afternoon before the sun goes down and things cool off throughout the night. There is a chance for a small rain shower, but nothing that should hinder the running of tonight’s Spring Green 116.


Next Series Race: The American-Canadian Tour’s next stop will be Connecticut’s shoreline oval, the New London-Waterford Speedbowl, for the first race of the Southern New England Tripleheader.


Speed Central: MacDonald Pours It on Late at Airborne