Southern Modified Racing Series – Caraway Speedway (NC) – 10/22/16

Last updated: October 24, 2016 at 10:17 am
(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)

SMRS_Myers winner and champ Caraway

























What Won the Race:

Burt Myers charged to the front after a lap 92 pit stop where he took on his tire.

The Finish: 

1 1 Burt Myers 125
2 23 Brian Loftin 125
3 4 Jason Myers 125
4 83 Tim Brown 125
5 O5 LW Miller 125
6 95 Cale Gale 125
7 54 Scott Hall 125
8 5 Tom Buzze Jr. 125
9 77 Gary Putnam 125
10 25 John Smith 123
11 19 Brandon Ward 102
12 75 Ron Souders 77
13 12 Mike Norman 49

The Skinny:  

Burt Myers wins the battle and the war at Caraway as he takes the final feature and the season championship for the Southern Modified Racing Series.

Winning Quote:

“It sure does mean a lot to win this because I don’t think anyone will ever win all three in a year again,” Said Myers. “We won the Stadium title, we won the NASCAR tittle and now we are the SMRS champs, what a feeling.”

Winning Crew Chief: 

Marty Edwards

Winning Chassis: 

Furry Chassis

On the Move:

Scott Hall started 10th and finished seventh.

Biggest Loser:

Fast time award winner and Pole sitter Brandon Ward led over half the race, but got tangled up in a wreck after lap 100 and finished 11th.


Feature Notebook:

Burt Myers wins the race and Southern Modified Racing Series title.

The early laps of the race were controlled by Brandon Ward.  John Smith‘s title bit came to an end after he went for a spin and then made an unapproved tire change which cost him two laps.   Cale Gale and Brian Loftin each had shots up front at leading and were in the mix late.  51 will have video highlights next week.

Pre-Feature Notebook:

For the fifth time this season Brandon Ward sets fast time for tonight’s feature event.  Ward hopes to end the 2016 season in victory lane.

The redraw saw Ward pull the one pill and Gary Putnam will start second.

Scott Hall and John Smith led the two practice rounds here at Caraway.  Cale Gale led the final round of practice.

Today marks the return of former NASCAR Modified Champion LW Miller who has won several events here at Caraway Speedway. Miller has been out of Modifieds since 2012.

We look for strong things out of Tom Buzzie Jr. who led several laps at Hickory at the last event.

John Smith has had an amazing season with four wins this year.  He is tied with Burt Myers who won the last race here.  Myers has had several strong runs to go with his lone win.

Starting Lineup:

1 19 Brandon Ward
2 77 Gary Putnam
3 23 Brian Loftin
4 4 Jason Myers
5 1 Burt Myers
6 83 Tim Brown
7 O5 LW Miller
8 95 Cale Gale
9 25 John Smith
10 54 Scott Hall
11 5 Tom Buzze Jr.
12 12 Mike Norman
13 75 Ron Souders

Time Trial Results: There will be a redraw among the top six.

1 19 Brandon Ward 15.910
2 1 Burt Myers 15.923
3 77 Gary Putnam 15.942
4 4 Jason Myers 15.977
5 83 Tim Brown 16.068
6 23 Brian Loftin 16.119
7 O5 LW Miller 16.176
8 95 Cale Gale 16.235
9 25 John Smith 16.249
10 54 Scott Hall 16.394
11 5 Tom Buzze Jr. 16.665
12 12 Mike Norman 17.099
13 75 Ron Souders 17.444


Car Count: 13 SMRS machines


Entry List: 

1 1 Burt Myers
2 4 Jason Myers
3 5 Tom Buzze Jr.
4 12 Mike Norman
5 19 Brandon Ward
6 23 Brian Loftin
7 25 John Smith
8 54 Scott Hall
9 75 Ron Souders
10 77 Gary Putnam
11 83 Tim Brown
12 95 Cale Gale
13 O5 LW Miller


Qualifying Format:  Each driver will get two laps on the clock.

Event Schedule: 

5pm Grandstand Open

5:30pm SMRS Qualifying

6:25pm Autograph Session

7:00pm Racing Starts

Legends 20 Laps

Limited 40 Laps

SMRS 125 Laps

Chargers 25 Laps

Mini Stocks 15 Laps

Hornets 15 Laps

Wild Cats 15 Laps

Who to Watch For: John Smith has four wins this season, Jason Myers, Burt Myers have also posted wins this year.  Tim Brown and LW Miller are here making starts and they should be in the mix for victories.

Another name that will be in the mix is Brian Loftin who has eight NASCAR Modified Tour wins here at this track.


Title Fight: John Smith & Burt Myers enter tonight’s race tied for the Champion.  Whoever finishes above the other will win the title tonight.


The Track: Caraway Speedway is a 4/10th of a mile track located just outside of Asheboro, NC.


Weather: Temps will be in the 50’s tonight with dry conditions.


Next Series Race: This is the final race for the SMRS this year. The 2017 plans should be announced in the coming months.



Speed Central: Myers Gets the Broom in Finale at Caraway