PASS Super Late Models at Thompson – 4/10/16

(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)


























What Won the Race: Garrett Hall took over the lead from Trevor Sanborn on a lap 52 restart and held off Derek Griffith to score his first career PASS North victory.

The Finish:

1 94 Garrett Hall
2 12 Derek Griffith
3 8 David Garbo
4 29 Trevor Sanborn
5 4 Ben Rowe
6 15H Mike Hopkins
7 37 Larry Gelinas
8 68 Joey Doiron
9 7L Glen Luce
10 35 Derek Ramstrom
11 80 Donald Theetge
12 8MA Angelo Belsito
13 60 DJ Shaw
14 09 Jeremy Davis
15 15X George Bessette
16 1 Cory Casagrande
17 82 John Michael-Shennette
18 16ME Travis Stearns
19 59 Reid Lanpher
20 54 Johnny Clark
21 00 Bryan Kruczek
22 46 Jake Vanada
23 2M Matt Matheson
24 42 Eric St. Gelais
25 24 Mike Rowe


The Skinny: The first 50 laps of the race belonged to Trevor Sanborn, but Garrett Hall shocked everyone when he took over the lead on the lap 52 restart.  Griffith shadowed Hall throughout the closing laps but was unable to make the pass.


Winning Quote: “I came down here, I wanted to win and I had it in my mind.  It’s just something I needed to win.  I felt like down at New Smyrna I had a little higher goals and I didn’t fulfill them. Coming here I felt like I needed to win to be competitive again.” – Garrett Hall


Notebook: Travis Benjamin and the Petit Motorsports team loaded up following a crash on the first lap of their heat race Saturday afternoon.  Benjamin told that the team is now focused on preparing a game plan for next weekend’s race at Oxford Plains Speedway (ME).


Reid Lanpher is one driver in today’s field that is hungry to take the green flag at Thompson.  He recently tested the No. 31 K&N Pro Series East car at Thompson and said that he learned a lot about the track during the test.  He will make his K&N East debut at Bristol (TN) next weekend.


Joey Doiron will not be in his usual No. 73 here today.  The team was not able to repair the car following a crash at Hickory (NC) last month so he will be behind the wheel of a DJ Shaw car for today’s race.


The last time the Pro All Stars Series visited Thompson in 2012 it was Derek Ramstrom taking the checkered flag.  He was fast in practice Saturday and will start towards the front of the field today.


Today’s race will be the second race for Ben Rowe and Mike Rowe as teammates at Richard Moody Racing.  The team got off to a good start in their first race at Hickory and will look to build on that momentum here today.


Connecticut racer Cory Casagrande will make his first career Pro All Stars Series start today at Thompson.


The first 10 laps of the race have been clean and green with Larry Gelinas leading over Trevor Sanborn, Garrett Hall, David Garbo and Derek Griffith.


Trevor Sanborn takes over the lead on lap 16. Johnny Clark is off the pace with a flat right front tire.


Defending champion Mike Rowe makes hard contact with the backstretch wall on lap 24 to bring out the first caution. Heavy front end damage.


Sanborn continues to lead with 45 laps complete and 30 laps to go. Garbo, Hall, Griffith and Ramstrom complete the top five as they run.


Hall takes over the lead from Sanborn on a lap 52 restart. Caution is out on lap 53 as Ramstrom spins. Clark and Vanada also involved.


Hall continues to lead with five laps to go.  He and Griffith have broken away from the rest of the field. Garbo, Sanborn and Ben Rowe complete the current top five.


Car Count: 25 cars will take the green flag.


Title Fight: This is the first race of the season for PASS North. Today’s race is also a PASS National Championship race. Derek Ramstrom currently leads the way in the PASS National standings by two points over Ben Rowe and Mike Hopkins.


Winning Chassis: Distance Chassis

Winning Engine: Hamner Spec Motor

Winning Shocks: Penske

Winning Crew Chief: Robbie Harrison


On the Move: Joey Doiron started 24th and charged to the 8th spot, a gain of 16 positions.


Biggest Loser: Jake Vanada suffered trouble throughout the race and finished 22nd after starting 7th, a loss of 15 positions.


Starting Line-Up:

1 29 Trevor Sanborn
2 37 Larry Gelinas
3 94 Garrett Hall
4 82 John-Michael Shennette
5 8 Dave Garbo, Jr.
6 35 Derek Ramstrom
7 46 Jake Vanada
8 54 Johnny Clark
9 4N Ben Rowe
10 59 Reid Lanpher
11 42QC Eric St. Gelais
12 12 Derek Griffith
13 2M Matt Matheson
14 1 Cory Casagrande
15 24 Mike Rowe
16 60 DJ Shaw
17 7L Glen Luce
18 15H Mike Hopkins
19 80QC Donald Theetge
20 16ME Travis Stearns
21 00 Bryan Kruczek
22 15 George Bessette
23 8MA Angelo Belsito
24 68 Joey Doiron
25 09 Jeremy Davis


Last-Chance Race Results: There will not be a last chance race today.


Heat Race Results:

PASS Qualifying Heat #1 Unofficial Results

1 29 Trevor Sanborn
2 82 John Michael Shenette
3 46 Jake Vanada
4 59 Reid Lanpher
5 2 Matt Matheson
6 60 DJ Shaw
7 80 Donald Theetge
8 15 George Bessette
9 09 Jeremy Davis


PASS Qualifying Heat #2 Unofficial Results

1 37 Larry Gelinas
2 8 David Garbo, Jr.
3 54 Johnny Clark
4 42 Eric St. Gelais
5 1 Cory Casagrande
6 7L Glen Luce
7 16 Travis Stearns
8 8 Angelo Belsito
9 60 DJ Shaw


PASS Qualifying Heat #3 Unofficial Results

1 94 Garrett Hall
2 35 Derek Ramstrom
3 4 Ben Rowe
4 12 Derek Griffith
5 24 Mike Rowe
6 15 Mike Hopkins
7 00 Bryan Kruczek
8 60 Joey Doiron


Qualifying Events: Three 10-lap qualifying heat races set the grid for Sunday’s 75-lap race.


Practice Results: Derek Ramstrom led the way in the first PASS practice, while Trevor Sanborn — Sunday’s polesitter — was fastest in the final round of practice.


Event Schedule: The Pro All Stars Series Super Late Models will race for 75 laps following the Sunoco Modified and Vintage Modified features.  Racing is scheduled to begin at 12:30 p.m. ET.


Who To Watch For: Ben Rowe will be a driver to watch for after winning the Easter Bunny 150 at Hickory Motor Speedway last month.  A lot of eyes will also be on the hometown favorite Derek Ramstrom, the last driver to win a PASS race at Thompson.  Others including polesitter Trevor Sanborn and six-time PASS North champion Johnny Clark looked strong during Saturday’s qualifying heat.


Entry List:

Pro All Stars Series Entry List (26 entries)

No. Driver
00 Bryan Kruczyk
09 Jeremy Davis
1 Cory Casagrande
2 Matt Matheson
4 Ben Rowe
7 Travis Benjamin
7L Glen Luce
8 David Garbo Jr
8MA Angelo Belsito
12 Derek Griffiith
15 George Bessette
15H Mike Hopkins
16 Travis Stearns
24 Mike Rowe
29 Trevor Sanborn
35 Derek Ramstrom
37 Larry Gelinas
42 Eric St. Gelais
46 Jake Vanada
54 Johnny Clark
59 Reid Lampher
60 DJ Shaw
68 Joey Doiron
80 Donald Theetge
82 John-Michael Shenette
94 Garrett Hall


The Track: Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park is a 5/8-mile oval located in Thompson, Connecticut.


Weather: Temperatures are expected to rise into the mid 40s throughout the day.  There is no sort of precipitation expected, so the only thing fans will have to battle is the colder than normal temperatures.  That won’t stop race fans from the Northeast, though.


Next Series Race: The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North returns to action next weekend for a doubleheader with the American-Canadian Tour at Oxford Plains Speedway (ME).


Speed Central: PASS Super Late Models at Thompson Icebreaker