PASS North Summer Sizzler 151 – Speedway 51 (NH) – 8/11/18

Last updated: August 12, 2018 at 12:27 pm
(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)

DJ Shaw celebrates his second PASS North victory of the 2018 season. ( photo)
















What Won the Race: DJ Shaw wrestled the lead away from Garrett Hall on Lap 116 after the two driver swapped a little bit of paint while battling for the top spot.


The Finish: 

1 60 DJ Shaw
2 7 Travis Benjamin
3 94 Garrett Hall
4 35 Derek Ramstrom
5 12G Derek Griffith
6 5X Bobby Therrien
7 09 Jeremy Davis
8 4 Ben Rowe
9 9 Kyle Welch
10 01 Sammy Gooden
11 24 Nick Patnode
12 72 Guy Caron
13 32 Nick Jenkins


The Skinny: Ben Rowe started from the pole and dominated the early stages of the race, leading 89 of the first 90 laps.  Bobby Therrien took the lead from Rowe just before a caution on Lap 91 but Therrien was sent to the rear after two failed attempts at a restart. Rowe inherited the lead and held it until a Lap 100 restart when Garrett Hall took over the lead.  DJ Shaw closed in on Hall and the two made slight contact while fighting for the lead.  Ultimately, on Lap 116, Shaw powered by Hall to take over the lead for good.


Winning Quote: “That was a fun battle there.  We raced hard but I would consider it clean.  I hope he does to; I think he does.  It’s always good to come out on the winning end of those.” – DJ Shaw


Winning Crew Chief: Dale Shaw


Winning Chassis: Dale Shaw Racecars


Winning Shocks: Advanced Racing Suspension (ARS)


Winning Engine: GM Crate


On the Move: DJ Shaw started the race from the 13th position and charged to the lead, gaining 12 spots on his way to victory lane.


Biggest Loser: Nick Jenkins started the race in the sixth position, but retired from the race early on Lap 55 and finished 13th.


Pre-Feature Notebook: 

  • PASS North has not visited Speedway 51 (previously known as Riverside Speedway) since the 2010 season.  Trevor Sanborn won that race.


Starting Lineup:

1 4 Ben Rowe
2 35 Derek Ramstrom
3 5X Bobby Therrien
4 09 Jeremy Davis
5 01 Sammy Gooden
6 32 Nick Jenkins
7 94 Garrett Hall
8 72 Guy Caron
9 9 Kyle Welch
10 24 Nick Patnode
11 12G Derek Griffith
12 7 Travis Benjamin
13 60 DJ Shaw


Heat Race Results:

Heat 1 Unofficial Results

1 4 Ben Rowe
2 35 Derek Ramstrom
3 5X Bobby Therrien
4 09 Jeremy Davis
5 32 Nick Jenkins
6 72 Guy Caron
7 24 Nick Patnode


Heat 2 Unofficial Results

1 12G Derek Griffith
2 7 Travis Benjamin
3 60 DJ Shaw
4 01 Sammy Gooden
5 94 Garrett Hall
6 9 Kyle Welch


Heat Race Lineups:

Heat 1

1 32 Nick Jenkins
2 4 Ben Rowe
3 35 Derek Ramstrom
4 72 Guy Caron
5 5X Bobby Therrien
6 09 Jeremy Davis
7 24 Nick Patnode


Heat 2

1 01 Sammy Gooden
2 94 Garrett Hall
3 9 Kyle Welch
4 7 Travis Benjamin
5 12G Derek Griffith
6 60 DJ Shaw


Car Count: 13 PASS North Super Late Models


Entry List: 

01 Sammy Gooden
09 Jeremy Davis
4 Ben Rowe
5X Bobby Therrien
7 Travis Benjamin
9 Kyle Welch
12G Derek Griffith
24 Nick Patnode
32 Nick Jenkins
35 Derek Ramstrom
60 DJ Shaw
72 Guy Caron
94 Garrett Hall


Qualifying Format: There will be two qualifying heats to determine the feature lineup for tonight’s feature.


Event Schedule: Heat racing is scheduled to get underway at 6 p.m. PASS North Super Late Models, Daredevils, Tigers, Street Stocks, PASS Modifieds and Cyclones/Angels will be in competition.


Who to Watch For: Outside of the favorites like DJ Shaw, Travis Benjamin and Derek Griffith, we’ll be keeping an eye on Jeremy Davis, who is a two-time Granite State Pro Stock Series winner at Speedway 51.


Title Fight: DJ Shaw leads defending series champion Travis Benjamin by 38 points in the PASS North standings.


The Track: Speedway 51 is a quarter-mile oval located in Groveton, New Hampshire.  The track sits next to the Connecticut River, which separates the states of Vermont and New Hampshire.


Weather: While many tracks in the Northeast have been forced to cancel their racing program, radar shows that Speedway 51 appears to be in the clear tonight.  Temperatures are expected to be in the mid 70s when the green flag waves.


Next Series Race: Next up for the PASS North Super Late Models will be the 45th Annual Oxford 250 on Sunday, August 26 at Oxford Plains Speedway.


Speed Central: PASS Summer Sizzler 151 at Speedway 51 (NH)