JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour 125

(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)

PLM CRA SpeedFest Grid Shot 2016


What Won the Race: John Hunter Nemechek used a three-wide pass of Chris Dilbeck and Zane Smith on lap 64 to take the lead, then held off those two drivers on a series of late-restarts for a third-straight JEGS Tour SpeedFest victory.


The Finish:

1 8 John Hunter Nemecheck
2 9 Chris Dilbeck
3 18 Casey Roderick
4 2 Bret Holmes
5 10 Steve Dorer
6 26 Chandler Smith
7 04 Phil Bozell
8 83 Andy Bozell
9 23 Dalton Grindle
10 24 Christopher Tullis
11 5 Justin Wakefield
12 4 Jordan McCallum
13 77 Zane Smith
14 27 Joe Ross
15 01 Derek Scott Jr.
16 21 Riley Thorton
17 8H Hope Hornish
18 43 Justin South
19 98 Justin Ashburn
20 1A Josh Adkins
21 30 Joshua James
22 19 Adam Johnson
23 1 Connor Okrzesik


The Skinny: John Hunter Nemechek started ninth, working his way up through the field to take over  Chris Dilbeck’s consistent lead.  Zane Smith rallied his way forward from a midway racing incident, looking to become Nemechek’s biggest challenger throughout the race.

Nemechek was able to hold off Smith for his third SpeedFest Pro Late Model win, Smith being involved with Casey Roderick in a late caution that caused a green-white-checkered finish.

Winning Quote: “There definitely was some tough competition,” said Nemechek.  “We just had to run our race.  I had to listen to my guys and I did.  It was going to come down to that final restart and luckily we got the jump a little bit and that’s what put us here in victory lane.”


Notebook: John Hunter Nemechek has won this event in each of the last two years. He will go for three straight SpeedFest Pro Late Model wins, but will do so from the ninth starting position. Nemechek set fast-time in Saturday’s qualifying session, but drew a nine for the invert.

We’re about to go green for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour 125.  See all of the Pro Late Model racing action by clicking here to purchase our live PPV broadcast.


Russell Fleeman withdrew this morning.  He will not be starting today’s 125-lap race.  As a result, his row will move up and fill in through the field.

Just over 40 laps are complete, Chris Dilbeck having lead every lap thus far.  A small pile up in turn one collected several drivers like Hope HornishAdam Johnson and Joshua James which will give Zane Smith a chance to challenge Dilbeck on the restart.

It was a bumpy restart between Chris Dilbeck and Zane Smith, but the action focused back in the field on Justin Ashburn who took the first trip of the day into the creek just outside turns three and four.  Only 62 laps to go.

John Hunter Nemechek has taken over the top position.  He will have 22 laps now to seal the deal.

A green, white and checkered flag is all that stands between John Hunter Nemechek and his third SpeedFest Pro Late Model win.

John Hunter Nemechek takes the win with Chris Dilbeck finishing second and Casey Roderick third.


Car Count: 24 Pro Late Models turned out to Crisp Motorsports Park in Cordele, Georgia


Title Fight: The is a special-event, non-point race.  Indiana driver Dalton Armstrong won the 2015 JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour championship.


Winning Chassis: Phil Harper Chevy Chassis

Winning Engine:Hamke Engine

Winning Shocks: Ohlin Shocks


Starting Line-Up:

1 9 Chris Dilbeck
2 01 Derek Scott Jr.
3 21 Riley Thorton
4 2 Bret Holmes
5 77 Zane Smith
6 18 Casey Roderick
7 43 Justin South
8 26 Chandler Smith
9 8 John Hunter Nemecheck
10 24 Christopher Tullis
11 18 Casey Roderick
12 98 Justin Ashburn
13 5 Justin Wakefield
14 23 Dalton Grindle
15 4 Jordan McCallum
16 1A Josh Adkins
17 83 Andy Bozell
18 10 Steve Dorer
19 30 Joshua James
20 04 Phil Bozell
21 198 Russell Fleeman
22 27 Joe Ross
23 19 Adam Johnson
24 8H Hope Hornish


Fast Qualifier: John Hunter Nemechek (16.007 seconds)

Qualifying Events: The qualifying procedure for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour SpeedFest 125 was a two-lap time-trial format with the best time standing as the lap of record. The top nine starting positions were determined after an invert chosen by the fast-time winner. As a result, Chris Dilbeck will start from the pole position with John Hunter Nemechek rolling off ninth.


Who To Watch For: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series winner John Hunter Nemechek goes for the hatrick on Sunday.  If the won of former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series winner Joe Nemechek pulls into victory lane, it would be JH’s third consecutive win in the Pro Late Model portion of SpeedFest.  California’s Zane Smith continues to impress just a year into his Late Model portion of his career.  Former Snowball Derby winning crew chief Ricky Turner is now leading the team of 13 year-old Chandler Smith in 2016.  Justin South has won many Pro Late Model events in the Deep South, but never SpeedFest.  The Bozell family, both father Andy and son Phil, have made the long haul from Michigan to compete this weekend.  Two former winners of the World Crown (held at Gresham Motorsports Park – aka Peachstate Speedway), Casey Roderick and Justin Wakefield are scheduled to race.  Hope Hornish, niece of Indy 500 champion Sam Hornish, will make her JEGS All-Stars Series debut with three-time CRA Super Series champ Scott Hantz as her crew chief.


Former Winners: 

2015 – John Hunter Nemechek

2014 – John Hunter Nemechek

2013 – Chase Elliott

2012 – Chase Elliott

2011 – Chase Elliott

2010 – Greg Simpson

2009 – Greg Simpson


Green Flag: 2pm start for the Pro Late Model portion of SpeedFest 2016 at Crisp Motorsports Park in Cordele, GA.


Weather: The forecast calls for partly cloudy skies with a high temperature of 71-degrees.


Next Series Race: Race number-one in the quest for the JEGS All-Stars Tour championship will be on Sunday, May 1 at Springport Speedway in Michigan.  Points will be awarded in the first of this 13 event schedule for the series.

Watch It Live

You can watch all of the live video coverage of SpeedFest 2016 beginning at 1:30pm ET Sunday only on Speed51 TV.  To order the live pay-per-view broadcast for just $27.99, click here.  There is a 200-mile blackout radius surrounding Crisp Motorsports Park.

Entry Lists

JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Entry List

1Connor Okrezesik
1AJosh Adkins
01Derek Scott Jr.
2Bret Holmes
4Jordan McCallum
04Phil Bozell
5Justin Wakefield
8John Hunter Nemechek
8HHope Hornish
9Chris Dilbeck
18Casey Roderick
19Adam Johnson
21Riley Thornton
22Kevin Herbert
23Dalton Grindle
24Christopher Tullis
26Chandler Smith
27Joe Ross
30Joshua James
43Justin South
77Zane Smith
83Andy Bozell
98Justin Ashburn


Saturday’s Trackside Now Coverage

Click here for Saturday’s practice and qualifying Trackside Now coverage


Friday’s Trackside Now Coverage

Click here for Friday’s practice and qualifying Trackside Now coverage



Speed Central: JEGS Tour Pro Late Model SpeedFest 2016