ARCA Midwest Tour – Golden Sands Speedway (WI) – 8/18/18

Last updated: August 19, 2018 at 13:05 pm
(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)

Carson Kvapil wins his first ARCAMT race. ( photo)


What Won the Race:

Running second, Carson Kvapil chose to restart on the inside behind leader Chris Weinkauf with just over 30 laps to go.  Kvapil was able to get a good run and passed Weinkauf to take the lead. From there, Kvapil held off Weinkauf on another restart and Travis Sauter on additional late-race restarts.


The Finish: 

1 35 Carson Kvapil
2 5S Travis Sauter
3 80 Ryan Farrell
4 77 Jonathan Eilen
5 8M Billy Mohn
6 71 Mark Eswein
7 39 Andrew Morrissey
8 5J Casey Johnson
9 44 Justin Mondeik
10 7D John DeAngelis Jr.
11 14 Austin Nason
12 22G MG Gajewski
13 75H Dillion Hammond
14 9 Derek Kraus
15 15S Gabe Sommers
16 5B John Beale
17 75W Chris Weinkauf
18 76W Jason Weinkauf
19 45 Rich Bickle Jr.
20 5H Jeff Holmgren Jr
21 15 Dean LaPointe
22 119 Dalton Zehr
23 81S Bryan Syer Keske
24 25 Wyatt Brooks
25 7S Paul Shafer Jr.


The Skinny: 

Chris Weinkauf led a good chunk of the middle of the race.  Kvapil, who started the race on the outside, lost positions at the drop of the green, but slowly worked his way to the front. Once Kvapil got up to second he took advantage on a restart to take the lead.  The caution flew again quickly, and on that restart, Weinkauf, who was running second, made contact with Dalton Zehr, sending the two to the back.  Kvapil then held off Travis Sauter on late race restarts to win the race.


Winning Quote: “I just knew I had to race him hard. I knew getting down he’d try to chop me off, but I just stayed in there and made it happen.” – Carson Kvapil


Winning Crew Chief: Toby Nuettleman


Winning Chassis: Lefthander


Winning Shocks: Penske


Winning Engine: B&B


On the Move:

Ryan Farrell started 18th and worked his way up to a third place finish, a gain of 15 positions.


Biggest Loser:

Fast qualifier Paul Shafer appeared to have a competitive car, but motor problems on lap 28 forced him to retire early.  Shafer finished 25th after starting 10th, a loss of 15 positions.


Feature Notebook:

Carson Kvapil passed Chris Weinkauf on a restart with just over 30 laps to go and hung on to win his first Super Late Model race and first ARCA Midwest Tour event.  The 15-year-old driver held off Travis Sauter on a pair of late race restarts to take the checkered flag.


Starting Lineup:

5j 119
14 7s
5ts 8m
77 44
5b 75h
22 25
80 15s
7d 76
15L 5h


Time Trial Results: 

1 7S Paul Shafer Jr. 12.07
2 14 Austin Nason 12.079
3 19 Dalton Zehr 12.095
4 5J Casey Johnson 12.116
5 35 Carson Kvapil 12.133
6 75W Chris Weinkauf 12.14
7 39 Andrew Morrissey 12.141
8 9 Derek Kraus 12.19
9 81S Bryan Syer Keske 12.199
10 71 Mark Eswein 12.202
11 5TS Travis Sauter 12.208
12 8M Billy Mohn 12.208
13 77 Jonathan Eilen 12.217
14 44 Justin Mondeik 12.219
15 5B John Beale 12.225
16 75H Dillion Hammond 12.227
17 25 Wyatt Brooks 12.231
18 22G MG Gajewski 12.235
19 80 Ryan Farrell 12.237
20 15S Gabe Sommers 12.247
21 76W Jason Weinkauf 12.26
22 15L Dean LaPointe 12.338
23 7D John DeAngelis Jr. 12.342
24 5H Jeff Holmgren Jr. 12.364
25 45 Rich Bickle 12.483


Car Count: 25 ARCA Midwest Tour Super Late Models


Entry List: 

Car # Name Hometown State
4 – Luke Fenhaus – Wausau WI
5 – Casey Johnson – Edgerton WI
5 – Jeff Holmgren, Jr – East Troy WI
5 – John Beale – Verona WI
5 – Travis Sauter – Prairie Du Sac WI
7 – John DeAngelis, Jr – Hubertus WI
7 – Paul Shafer, Jr – Portage IN
8 – Billy Mohn – New Market MN
9 – Derek Kraus – Stratford WI
14 – Austin Nason – Roscoe IL
15 – Dean LaPointe – Marshfield WI
15 – Gabe Sommers – Plover WI
22 – MG Gajewski – Wausau WI
25 – Wyatt Brooks – Amherst WI
35 – Carson Kvapil – Mooresville NC
39 – Andrew Morrissey – DeForest WI
40 – Curt Tillman – Roscoe IL
44 – Justin Mondeik – Gleason WI
45 – Rich Bickle, Jr – Edgerton WI
71 – Mark Eswein – Wisconsin Rapids WI
75 – Chris Weinkauf – Merrill WI
75 – Dillon Hammond – Grand Marsh WI
76 – Jason Weinkauf – Merrill WI
77 – Jonathan Eilen – Hampton MN
80 – Ryan Farrell – Big Bend WI
81 – Bryan Keske – Lakeville MN
119 – Dalton Zehr – Daytona Beach FL

Qualifying Format: 

Each car will be given two (2) qualifying laps with the best lap establishing their qualifying time.  The top 16 qualifiers will be locked into feature (inversion roll plus 7) and will contest odd/even heats, fully inverted with points awarded. The remainder of cars will be split into one, two or three qualifying races with a total of four (4) cars transferring
into feature to fill positions 17-20. Cars not transferring will run a last chance race(s), with starting positions being straight up from qualifying race finish order with a total of 2 cars transferring into positions 21-22.


Event Schedule: 

Pits: 1:30pm

Practice 3:30pm

Qualifying 5:00pm

Post Qualifying – autograph session

Racing 7pm


Who to Watch For:

The top two in ARCA Midwest Tour points, Austin Nason and Casey Johnson will definitely be two drivers to keep an eye on.  Both drivers have been successful in the Midwest Tour this year and are a threat wherever they go.


Mark Eswein currently leads the Golden Sands Speedway points and has many, many laps around the Plover, WI track, expect him to contend for the win.


Others to watch for: Travis Sauter, Dalton Zehr, Chris Weinkauf


Title Fight:

Austin Nason currently leads Casey Johnson in the Midwest Tour point standings by just 21 points.  Johnson has yet to record a Midwest Tour win this year, while Nason owns two.


The Track:

Golden Sands Speedway is located in Plover, Wisconsin.  The track features approximately 12 degrees of banking on the straightaways and 14-16 degrees of banking in the corners.



Partly cloudy with a high of 79 degrees


Next Series Race:

August 25th at Grundy County Speedway for the Wayne Carter Classic


Speed Central: ARCA Midwest Tour at Golden Sands (WI)