American-Canadian Tour – Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (ME) – 8/12/17

Last updated: August 14, 2017 at 10:11 am
(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)

Eddie MacDonald celebrates his first ACT win of 2017. ( photo)



























What Won the Race: Eddie MacDonald drove around Scott Payea on lap 41 and drove away late to claim his first ACT victory of the 2017 season.


The Finish: 

1 17MA Eddie MacDonald
2 37VT Scott Payea
3 58VT Jimmy Hebert
4 21QC Jean-Francois Dery
5 28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr.
6 21NH Oren Remick
7 30NH Rich Dubeau
8 0NH Miles Chipman
9 5CT Dillon Moltz
10 04NH Shawn Swallow
11 66VT Jason Corliss
12 9NH Kyle Welch
13 54VT Mike Ziter
14 11NY Josh Masterson
15 11QC Claude Leclerc
16 77MA Jimmy Linardy
17 00MA TJ Moreshead
18 82MA Mark Hudson
19 93CT Ray Christian III
20 34ME Spencer Morse
21 22RI Mark Jenison


The Skinny: Scotty Payea started from the outside of the front row and jumped out to the early lead at the green flag. He led until lap 41 when Eddie MacDonald closed in through lapped traffic and made the pass for the lead.


Winning Quote: “It’s definitely good. We’ve only run three ACT races this year and the first two were kind of awful. To come here, we changed a lot of things on the car, and it’s great to be able to come out of the box with a brand new setup and get a win.” – Eddie MacDonald


Winning Crew Chief: Rollie LaChance


Winning Chassis: Dale Shaw Racecars


Winning Shocks: Koni Shocks


Winning Engine: Butler MacMaster


On the Move: Rowland Robinson, Jr. started 13th and charged to a fifth-place finish, a gain of eight positions.


Biggest Loser: Shawn Swallow started from the pole position but faded to 10th at the end of 100 laps, a loss of nine positions.


Feature Notebook:

-Charlie Sanborn won the 35-lap Sport Series feature in dominating fashion.

-Dave Cameron won a caution-filled Wildcat feature that was reduced to 25 laps.


Pre-Feature Notebook: 

-Scott Payea enters today’s race looking to make it five straight ACT victories.

-Seven states and one Canadian province are represented in tonight’s field.

-Mike Ziter, the winner of the third ACT heat, has been disqualified for being too wide in post-qualifying tech.


Starting Lineup:

1 04NH Shawn Swallow
2 37VT Scott Payea
3 17MA Eddie MacDonald
4 21NH Oren Remick
5 30NH Rich Dubeau
6 66VT Jason Corliss
7 58VT Jimmy Hebert
8 0NH Miles Chipman
9 11NY Josh Masterson
10 9NH Kyle Welch
11 21QC Jean-Francois Dery
12 22RI Mark Jenison
13 28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr.
14 34ME Spencer Morse
15 93CT Ray Christian III
16 11QC Claude Leclerc
17 5CT Dillon Moltz
18 00MA TJ Morsehead
19 82MA Mark Hudson
20 77MA Jimmy Linardy
21 54VT Mike Ziter


Heat Race Results:

Heat 1 Unofficial Results

1 0NH Miles Chipman (+1)
2 30NH Rich Dubeau (+2)
3 66VT Jason Corliss (+2)
4 17MA Eddie MacDonald (+3)
5 28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr. (+1)
6 11QC Claude Leclerc (-4)
7 82MA Mark Hudson (-4)


Heat 2 Unofficial Results

1 11NY Josh Masterson (+1)
2 21QC Jean-Francois Dery (0)
3 22RI Mark Jenison (0)
4 9NH Kyle Welch (+1)
5 34ME Spencer Morse (-1)
6 5CT Dillon Moltz (+1)
7 77MA Jimmy Linardy (-1)


Heat 3 Unofficial Results

1 54VT Mike Ziter (+1)
2 37VT Scott Payea (+2)
3 04NH Shawn Swallow (+3)
4 58VT Jimmy Hebert (+1)
5 21NH Oren Remick (+2)
6 93CT Ray Christian III (-5)
7 00MA TJ Moreshead (-4)


Heat Race Lineups:

Heat 1

1 0NH Miles Chipman
2 11QC Claude Leclerc
3 82MA Mark Hudson
4 30NH Rich Dubeau
5 66VT Jason Corliss
6 28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr.
7 17MA Eddie MacDonald


Heat 2

1 11NY Josh Masterson
2 21QC Jean-Francois Dery
3 22RI Mark Jenison
4 34ME Spencer Morse
5 9NH Kyle Welch
6 77MA Jimmy Linardy
7 5CT Dillon Moltz


Heat 3

1 93CT Ray Christian III
2 54VT Mike Ziter
3 00MA TJ Morsehead
4 37VT Scott Payea
5 58VT Jimmy Hebert
6 04NH Shawn Swallow
7 21NH Oren Remick


Car Count: 21 ACT Late Models


Entry List: 

0NH Miles Chipman
5CT Dillon Moltz
9NH Kyle Welch
11NY Josh Masterson
11QC Claude Leclerc
17MA Eddie MacDonald
21NH Oren Remick
21QC Jean-Francois Dery
22RI Mark Jenison
28ME Rowland Robinson, Jr.
30NH Rich Dubeau
34NH Spencer Morse
31NH Mike Kennison
34ME Spencer Morse
37VT Scott Payea
54VT Mike Ziter
58VT Jimmy Hebert
66VT Jason Corliss
77MA Jimmy Linardy
82MA Mark Hudson
93CT Ray Christian III


Qualifying Format: There will be three 10-lap ACT qualifying heats using the plus/minus system to set the field for tonight’s 100-lap race. Four drivers from each heat will qualify to the plus/minus.


Event Schedule: Racing begins at 7 p.m. with qualifying heats for the American-Canadian Tour. There will also be qualifying heats for the Sport Series, Wildcats and Pro Series divisions. Feature racing will begin with the Sport Series followed by the Wildcats, ACT consolation race, Pro Series feature and ACT 100.


Who to Watch For: Scott Payea is on a roll having won four straight ACT races entering today’s race. It’d be silly not to keep an eye on him tonight. Another driver to keep an eye on will be “The Outlaw” Eddie MacDonald who has previously won ACT races at Beech Ridge.


Title Fight: Scott Payea leads Dillon Moltz by 36 markers in the ACT championship standings.


The Track: Beech Ridge Motor Speedway is a flat 1/3-mile oval located in Scarborough, Maine.


Weather: Temperatures are in the mid 70s with partly cloudy skies above the race track.


Next Series Race: ACT visits White Mountain Motorsports Park (NH) next Saturday, August 19.


Speed Central: MacDonald Ends Payea’s ACT Streak at Beech Ridge