ACT Late Models – Oxford Plains Speedway – 8/27/16

Last updated: August 28, 2016 at 23:32 pm
(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Scott Payea celebrates the win in Victory Lane. ( photo)



























What Won the Race: Scott Payea survived a fierce battle with Brad Babb and Eddie MacDonald, pulling away from MacDonald late to win the 100-lap race.


The Finish: 

1 37VT Scott Payea
2 17MA Eddie MacDonald
3 5CT Dillon Moltz
4 15NH Brad Babb
5 40VT Nick Sweet
6 61NH Ryan Olson
7 28ME Rowland Robinson Jr.
8 9ME Emily Packard
9 16VT Scott Dragon
10 30NH Rich Dubeau
11 1VT Devin O’Connell
12 23ME Dave Farrington Jr.
13 04NH Shawn Swallow
14 54VT Mike Ziter
15 5VT Bobby Therrien
16 50ME Spencer Morse
17 22RI Mark Jenison
18 11QC Claude Leclerc
19 4NY Brandon Atkins
20 93CT Ray Christian III
21 1NH Corey Mason
22 10NH Bryan Mason
23 3NH Mike Kenison
24 82MA Mark Hudson
25 97ME Walt Hammond Jr.
26 77MA James Linardy


The Skinny: Brad Babb took over the lead for the first time on lap 18 and led until lap 30 when Scott Payea took over the lead for the first time.  From there, the two drivers swapped the lead back and forth while swapping paint before Payea took over the lead for the final time on lap 82. He had to then fend off MacDonald on a pair of late-race restarts.


Winning Quote: “At the middle of the race we were swapping the lead back and forth, inside and outside. I didn’t know if we’d have enough.  I knew he (Babb) was getting loose so I knew we’d probably be able to beat Brad but then when Eddie was coming up behind us, and all those restarts at the end, I didn’t want to see that.” – Scott Payea


Winning Crew Chief: Rick Paya


Winning Chassis: RPM/RB Performance


Winning Shocks: Koni


Winning Engine: RPM Racing Engines


On the Move: Dillon Moltz started 19th and charged to a third-place finish, a gain of 16 positions.


Biggest Loser: Brandon Atkins started on the outside of the front row but faded back to 19th, a loss of 17 positions.


Feature Notebook:

-The race was highlighted by 13 lead changes between four drivers.

Scott Payea is unsure of whether or not his team will bring the Super Late Model back to the track and use the Oxford 250 provisional they earned with the win.


Pre-Feature Notebook: 

-The winner will receive an guaranteed starting spot in tommorow’s Oxford 250 should they choose to attempt to qualify.

Dave Farrington Jr. is the only driver currently committed to running both ACT and the Oxford 250.


Staring Lineup:

1 5VT Bobby Therrien
2 4NY Brandon Atkins
3 30NH Rich Dubeau
4 37VT Scott Payea
5 61NH Ryan Olson
6 17MA Eddie MacDonald
7 1VT Devin O’Connell
8 54VT Mike Ziter
9 40VT Nick Sweet
10 15NH Brad Babb
11 1NH Corey Mason
12 9ME Emily Packard
13 10NH Bryan Mason
14 04NH Shawn Swallow
15 28ME Rowland Robinson Jr.
16 23ME Dave Farrington Jr.
17 3NH Mike Kenison
18 82MA Mark Hudson
19 5CT Dillon Moltz
20 50ME Spencer Morse
21 93CT Ray Christian III
22 16VT Scott Dragon
23 11QC Claude Leclerc
24 77MA James Linardy
25 97ME Walt Hammond Jr.
26 22RI Mark Jenison


Heat Race Results:

Heat One

1 54VT Mike Ziter
2 1NH Corey Mason
2 61NH Ryan Olson
4 4NY Brandon Atkins
5 37VT Scott Payea
6 23ME Dave Farrington Jr.
7 5CT Dillon Moltz
8 16VT Scott Dragon
9 97ME Walt Hammond Jr.


Heat Two

1 40VT Nick Sweet
2 10NH Bryan Mason
3 17MA Eddie MacDonald
4 5VT Bobby Therrien
5 1VT Devin O’Connell
6 3NH Mike Kenison
7 50ME Spencer Morse
8 11QC Claude Leclerc
9 22RI Mark Jenison


Heat Three

1 15NH Brad Babb
2 28ME Rowland Robinson Jr.
3 04NH Shawn Swallow
4 30NH Rich Dubeau
5 9ME Emily Packard
6 82MA Mark Hudson
7 93CT Ray Christian III
8 77MA James Linardy




Heat Race Lineups:

Heat One

1 54VT Mike Ziter
2 16VT Scott Dragon
2 1NH Corey Mason
4 97ME Walt Hammond Jr.
5 61NH Ryan Olson
6 5CT Dillon Moltz
7 23ME Dave Farrington Jr.
8 37VT Scott Payea
9 4NY Brandon Atkins


Heat Two

1 40VT Nick Sweet
2 10NH Bryan Mason
3 3NH Mike Kenison
4 22RI Mark Jenison
5 17MA Eddie MacDonald
6 11QC Claude Leclerc
7 1VT Devin O’Connell
8 50ME Spencer Morse
9 5VT Bobby Therrien


Heat Three

1 28ME Rowland Robinson Jr.
2 15NH Brad Babb
3 04NH Shawn Swallow
4 82MA Mark Hudson
5 77MA James Linardy
6 9ME Emily Packard
7 30NH Rich Dubeau
8 93CT Ray Christian III



Car Count: 26 Late Models


Entry List: 

1NH Corey Mason
1VT Devin O’Connell
3NH Mike Kenison
4NY Brandon Atkins
5CT Dillon Moltz
5VT Bobby Therrien
9ME Emily Packard
10NH Bryan Mason
11QC Claude Leclerc
15NH Brad Babb
16VT Scott Dragon
17MA Eddie MacDonald
22RI Mark Jenison
23ME Dave Farrington Jr.
28ME Rowland Robinson Jr.
30NH Rich Dubeau
37VT Scott Payea
40VT Nick Sweet
50ME Spencer Morse
54VT Mike Ziter
61NH Ryan Olson
77MA James Linardy
82MA Mark Hudson
93CT Ray Christian III
97ME Walt Hammond Jr.
04NH Shawn Swallow


Qualifying Format: 

Three heats, top five in each start feature in the top fifteen based on the plus/minus system.


Event Schedule: 

Practice: 2pm, 3:20 & 4:40

Heats: 5:30

Feature: 8pm


Who to Watch For: Scott Payea, Nick Sweet, Eddie MacDonald, Brad Babb, Bobby Therrien


Title Fight:  Nick Sweet leads by 16 points over Scott Payea, and 20 over Eddie MacDonald.


The Track: Oxford Plains Speedway in Oxford, ME; 3/8 mile semi-banked asphalt oval


Weather: Sunny and in the mid 80’s


Next Series Race: Fall Folliage 200 at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (ME)



Speed Central: Payea Prevails in ACT Thriller at Oxford