ACT Labor Day Classic 200 – Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl (VT) – 9/2/18

Last updated: September 3, 2018 at 0:57 am
(Updated throughout the day – Be sure to refresh this page frequently)

Jason Corliss climbs out a winner at Thunder Road. ( photo)
















What Won the Race: Jason Corliss took the lead from Cody Blake on Lap 97 and pulled away late to win the Labor Day Classic 200.


The Finish: 

1 66VT Jason Corliss
2 16VT Scott Dragon
3 99VT Cody Blake
4 2VT Stephen Donahue
5 37VT Scott Payea
6 17MA Eddie MacDonald
7 86VT Marcel Gravel
8 68VT Brooks Clark
9 27VT Kyle Pembroke
10 46VT Nick Sweet
11 58VT Jimmy Hebert
12 11NY Josh Masterson
13 9VT Boomer Morris
14 30NH Rich Dubeau
15 04VT Bobby Therrien
16 41VT Christopher Pelkey
17 38VT Tyler Cahoon
18 7NH Dylan Payea
19 1NH Corey Mason
20 11QC Claude Leclerc
21 54VT Mike Ziter
22 17VT Darrell Morin
23 9MA Brian Tagg
24 94VT Brendan Moodie
25 1VT Evan Hallstrom
26 40VT Eric Chase


The Skinny: Cody Blake started from the pole position and dominated the opening 96 laps of the 200-lap race before Jason Corliss powered around the outside for the lead on Lap 97.  Corliss was challenged by Blake and Scott Dragon on additional restarts to score the win.


Corliss moves into the history books with his one as one of the few drivers to win three of Thunder Road’s crown jewel events — the Milk Bowl, the Memorial Day Classic and the Labor Day Classic.


Winning Quote: “Really can’t put it into words. It means a lot to me.  I just try to do the best job I can every race, every week.” – Jason Corliss on having his name on all three pieces of granite at Thunder Road.


Winning Crew Chief: Andrew Hill


Winning Shocks: Koni


Winning Engine: Ford Crate Engine


On the Move: Eddie MacDonald started 20th and charged to a sixth-place finish, a gain of 14 spots.


Biggest Loser: Brendan Moodie started fourth but retired from the event early and finished 24th, a loss of 20 positions.


Pre-Feature Notebook: 

  • Jason Corliss swept the three ACT Late Model practice sessions earlier today.
  • Nick Sweet is behind the wheel of the No. 46 Late Model today and will serve as a teammate to Eric Chase.
  • Today’s race can be viewed live via’s Summer Thunder TV broadcast.


Starting Lineup:

1 99VT Cody Blake
2 04VT Bobby Therrien
3 11NY Josh Masterson
4 94VT Brendan Moodie
5 27VT Kyle Pembroke
6 16VT Scott Dragon
7 2VT Stephen Donahue
8 30NH Rich Dubeau
9 17VT Darrell Morin
10 37VT Scott Payea
11 66VT Jason Corliss
12 40VT Eric Chase
13 1NH Corey Mason
14 38VT Tyler Cahoon
15 68VT Brooks Clark
16 58VT Jimmy Hebert
17 41VT Christopher Pelkey
18 86VT Marcel Gravel
19 9MA Brian Tagg
20 17MA Eddie MacDonald
21 7NH Dylan Payea
22 46VT Nick Sweet
23 54VT Mike Ziter
24 9VT Boomer Morris
25 11QC Claude Leclerc
26 1VT Evan Hallstrom


Heat Race Results:

Heat 1 Unofficial Results

1 94VT Brendan Moodie
2 1NH Corey Mason
3 2VT Stephen Donahue
4 9MA Brian Tagg
5 04VT Bobby Therrien
6 11NY Josh Masterson
7 17Vt Darrell Morin
8 71VT Trevor Lyman
9 21VT Reilly Lanphear
10 77MA James Linardy
11 00VT Mike Bailey


Heat 2 Unofficial Results

1 27VT Kyle Pembroke
2 41VT Christopher Pelkey
3 38VT Tyler Cahoon
4 99VT Cody Blake
5 17MA Eddie MacDonald
6 7NH Dylan Payea
7 58VT Jimmy Hebert
8 9VT Boomer Morris
9 54VT Mike Ziter
10 14VT Phil Scott
11 11QC Claude Leclerc

Heat 3 Unofficial Results

1 16VT Scott Dragon
2 37VT Scott Payea
3 86VT Marcel Gravel
4 68VT Brooks Clark
5 66VT Jason Corliss
6 30NH Rich Dubeau
7 42VT Matt White
8 46VT Nick Sweet
9 40VT Eric Chase
10 1VT Evan Hallstrom
11 22VT Peyton Lanphear



Heat Race Lineups:

Heat 1

1 94VT Brendan Moodie
2 1NH Corey Mason
3 9MA Brian Tagg
4 2VT Stephen Donahue
5 21VT Reilly Lanphear
6 00VT Mike Bailey
7 77MA James Linardy
8 17VT Darrell Morin
9 04VT Bobby Therrien
10 11NY Josh Masterson
11 71VT Trevor Lyman


Heat 2

1 41VT Christopher Pelkey
2 27VT Kyle Pembroke
3 38VT Tyler Cahoon
4 17MA Eddie MacDonald
5 7NH Dylan Payea
6 11QC Claude Leclerc
7 58VT Jimmy Hebert
8 99VT Cody Blake
9 9VT Boomer Morris
10 54VT Mike Ziter
11 14VT Phil Scott


Heat 3

1 16VT Scott Dragon
2 86VT Marcel Gravel
3 37VT Scott Payea
4 68VT Brooks Clark
5 1VT Evan Hallstrom
6 66VT Jason Corliss
7 30NH Rich Dubeau
8 46VT Nick Sweet
9 42VT Matt White
10 40VT Eric Chase
11 22VT Peyton Lanphear


Consolation Race Results:

Consi #1 Unofficial Results

1 11NY Josh Masterson
2 58VT Jimmy Hebert
3 30NH Rich Dubeau
4 46VT Nick Sweet
5 54VT Mike Ziter
6 71VT Trevor Lyman
7 1VT Evan Hallstrom
8 11QC Claude Leclerc
9 77MA James Linardy


Consi #2 Unofficial Results

1 7NH Dylan Payea
2 40VT Eric Chase
3 17VT Darrell Morin
4 9VT Boomer Morris
5 42VT Matt White
6 14VT Phil Scott
7 22VT Peyton Lanphear
8 00VT Mike Bailey
9 21VT Reilly Lanphear


Consolation Race Lineups:

Consi #1

1 11NY Josh Masterson
2 30NH Rich Dubeau
3 58VT Jimmy Hebert
4 71Vt Trevor Lyman
5 46VT Nick Sweet
6 54VT Mike Ziter
7 77MA James Linardy
8 1VT Evan Hallstrom
9 11QC Claude Leclerc


Consi #2

1 7NH Dylan Payea
2 17VT Darrell Morin
3 42VT Matt White
4 9VT Boomer Morris
5 21VT Reilly Lanphear
6 40VT Eric Chase
7 14VT Phil Scott
8 00VT Mike Bailey
9 22VT Peyton Lanphear
10 54VT Mike Ziter
11 11QC Claude Leclerc


B-Main Feature Results:

1 46VT Nick Sweet
2 54VT Mike Ziter
3 42VT Matt White
4 9VT Boomer Morris
5 1VT Evan Hallstrom
6 14VT Phil Scott
7 71VT Trevor Lyman
8 11QC Claude Leclerc
9 22VT Peyton Lanphear
10 00VT Mike Bailey
11 77MA James Linardy
12 21VT Reilly Lanphear



Car Count: 33 ACT Late Models


Entry List: 

1NH Corey Mason
1VT Evan Hallstrom
2VT Stephen Donahue
7NH Dylan Payea
9MA Brian Tagg
9VT Boomer Morris
11NY Josh Masterson
11QC Claude Leclerc
14VT Phil Scott
16VT Scott Dragon
17MA Eddie MacDonald
17VT Darrell Morin
21VT Reilly Lanphear
22VT Peyton Lanphear
27VT Kyle Pembroke
30NH Rich Dubeau
37VT Scott Payea
38VT Tyler Cahoon
40VT Eric Chase
41VT Christopher Pelkey
42VT Matt White
46VT Nick Sweet
54VT Mike Ziter
58VT Jimmy Hebert
66VT Jason Corliss
68VT Brooks Clark
71VT Trevor Lyman
77MA James Linardy
86VT Marcel Gravel
94VT Brendan Moodie
99VT Cody Blake
00VT Mike Bailey
04VT Bobby Therrien


Qualifying Format: There will be three qualifying heats, two consolation races and one B-feature to set the 26-car starting field.


Event Schedule: Qualifying heats begin at 1 p.m. ET with ACT Late Models, Flying Tigers, Street Stocks, Dwarf Cars and Road Warriors.  Consolation races for the ACT Late Models and Flying Tigers will follow. Feature racing will begin with Street Stocks prior to the ACT B-Feature.  Dwarf Cars and Flying Tigers will compete in their feature races prior to the 40th Coca-Cola Labor Day Classic 200.  The Road Warrior feature will end the night.


Who to Watch For: Jason Corliss, the defending Milk Bowl and Merchant’s Bank 150 winner, will certainly be a driver to keep an eye on.  Track champion Scott Dragon, ACT points leader Scott Payea and track regular Cody Blake should also all be strong.


Title Fight: Scott Payea leads Eddie MacDonald by 21 points at the top of the ACT standings.  Jimmy Hebert sits just four points behind MacDonald.


The Track: Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl is a high-banked, 1/4-mile asphalt oval located in Barre, Vermont. The track will host its biggest event, the Milk Bowl, on September 28-30.


Weather: It’s a great late summer day for racing with temperatures in the mid 70s and blue skies above the race track.


Next Series Race: The American-Canadian Tour Late Models will next be in action during the Milk Bowl, a non-points counting event.  The next points-counting event will be the season finale at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (CT) on October 13.

Speed Central: ACT Labor Day Classic at Thunder Road