Mother Nature has been mighty kind to those that enjoy racing action at Midvale Speedway.  Picture perfect weather has led to some thrillers the last couple of Saturday’s at the 3/10-mile asphalt oval and this Saturday should be no different.  Five divisions of racing are scheduled to race with specials on tap for the Street Stock and Compact divisions.  While the women got to enjoy the brand new restroom facilities for the first time last week, the men’s restrooms should be open this Saturday.

The J.D. Byrider Street Stocks have put on great shows since the start of the 2014-campaign with highly competitive races and three different winners during the four nights.  Gary Hoopingarner now from Perry, Ohio, a longtime driving veteran, won the opening night feature, while Canton, Ohio driver Mike Martin won on the second night.  The division’s fastest car, one driven by Rick Elkins, Jr. of Waynesburg, Ohio, claimed a dominating win on the third night, while Elkins came up just short to Martin this past Saturday.  The class has rebounded well from low car counts for a couple of seasons, with an average of over 14 per night this year.  This weekend’s race will be a 40 lap special with drivers racing for at least $350 to win and $60 to start.

The Canton Auto Salvage Compact division will be racing a 40-lap special as well.  The class has seen some great three and even four wide racing at times but Saturday will be about patience as well with a large field of cars racing for the top prize of at least $150, while it will be $20 to start.  New Philadelphia, Ohio driver Kyle Grove has had all eyes glued to his blue and black #3 but the field has been closing the gap.  After winning the first three features this year, Grove was edged to the line by a couple of cars Saturday.  Laney Striejewske claimed the feature win after a dq in post race tech.  At least 20 cars are scheduled to start in Saturday’s 40-lap event.

While the Street Stocks and Compacts are running special events this week, a lot of focus will remain on the other three classes.  After the top two drivers in the McIntosh Oil Company Late Model division point race had mechanical issues Saturday night, the championship battle really tightened up.  The top eight in the standings are now within 27 points of the number one position.  Seven time Midvale Speedway champion Mike Miller leads the points by 7 over rookie Randy Smart.  Both had engine issues this past Saturday to allow the rest of the field to close.  Bob Schneider, Jr., who has been battling issues since the start of the season is right behind in third, while Rick Sibila and Bryant Smith are fourth and fifth.  Marcus Malcuit, Ron Kirkpatrick, and Alex Rosenberry have also been contenders.

A model of consistency when it comes to winning championships is leading the Summit Racing Economy Modified points.  Kevin McClintock, of Dover, Ohio, leads the standings by 55 over Jason Grewell and Shawn Marder.  McClintock ducked to the inside of Don Boron, Jr. and Glen Jewell late in the race this past Saturday and had a three wide move that most would’ve tried to pull off.  McClintock, being the patient driver that he is, decided to back out and avoid what may have been a mishap.  It all worked out in the end as Boron spun and the two that finished ahead of him in the final rundown were disqualified, thus giving him his first win of the year.  Lee McCreery, Tim Westerfield, Jr., and Adam Stewart have also picked up feature wins this year, giving the division four winners in as many nights.

Lastly, the Finish Line Motors Mini Truck division will also be in the house on Saturday night.  Mike Martin has won all four features against small fields of challengers this season but Cyler Bertram has been close and Keith Anderson and Bruce George are closing the gap as well.  Rookie Derek Cordia has been logging plenty of laps trying to improve in his #72 ride.  It’s a division that needs a few more competitors and division rules are available online at

In addition to the Street Stocks and Compacts running their 40-lap features, Late Models, Economy Modifieds, and Mini Trucks will be on the card for a normal program.

Pit gates will open at 2:30, hotlaps will start and grandstands open at 3:00, qualifying is at 4:45, and racing will take its first green at 6:30.

Grandstand admission is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, $8 for kids 6-15, and children 5 and under are free.  Pit admission is $25 for members and $30 for non-members.

Full info is available at

Current Points (Top 10’s)

McIntosh Oil Company Late Models – #22 Mike Miller 307, #9 Randy Smart 300, #17 Bob Schneider, Jr. 296, #21 Rick Sibila 292, #1 Bryant Smith 287, #75 Marcus Malcuit 285, #23 Ron Kirkpatrick 281, #2 Alex Rosenberry 280, #6 Larry Baker 244, #82 Joe Linard 237

Summit Racing Economy Modifieds – #38 Kevin McClintock 376, #99 Jason Grewell 321, #25 Shawn Marder 281, #11 Ujcich Racing 279, #82 Don Boron, Jr. 260, #02 Mike Bowers 243, #29 Steve Mowery 241, #9 Tim Westerfield, Jr. 233, #0 Lucas Ripley 229, #09 Philip Cox 225

J.D. Byrider Street Stocks – #6 Mike Martin 403, #68 Gary Hoopingarner 347, #77 Miller/Moss 337, #28 Waylon Orr 312, #75 Bob Passwaters, Sr. 308, #62 Rick Elkins, Jr. 303, #74 Bob Passwaters, Jr. 291, #41 Hunter/Wood 289, #5 Vince Martin 259, #93  Brian Lewis, Jr. 216

Canton Auto Salvage Compacts – #3 Kyle Grove 396, #19 Clayton Oliver 362, #69 Dan Buckey 337, #57 Larry Ennis, Jr. 299, #15 Kyle Finlayson 290, #17 Laney Striejewske 288, #18 Tim Frederick 285, #70 Colton Cottis 274, #4 Blaine Salsberry 241, #8 Jeffrey Orr 237

Finish Line Motors Mini Trucks – #5 Mike Martin 412, #32 Keith Anderson 342, #72 Derek Cordia 316, #13 Bruce George 238, #155 Cyler Bertram 148, #22 Bill Aubihl 67


– Midvale Speedway PR.  Photo: Midvale Speedway

Specials On Tap For Midvale Street Stocks & Compacts