Predicting a winner in the Modified race at the Snowball Derby is no easy task.  Each year, drivers from all over the Gulf Coast and beyond make their way to Five Flags Speedway (FL) hoping to win on the big stage.  While the races have been thrilling to watch in recent years, there’s been one driver who has come out on top three years in a row.


That driver is Donnie Hamrac, who at this time three years ago, would never have pictured having a Snowball Derby hat-trick in hand.


“Never dreamed I would have. It’s hard enough to just get one and three is just unbelievable,” Hamrac told powered by JEGS.

sd-ppvBut now, Hamrac’s three straight wins are in the rearview mirror.  This year the Modified division at Five Flags Speedway has seen a lot of parody.  The track hosted four Modifieds of Mayhem races this year with four different drivers visiting Victory Lane.  Hamrac was one of those drivers.  He was joined by Donald Crocker, Okie Mason and Joe Aramendia who also tasted victory.


Jeff Letson won four of the 10 races this year on the Modified of Mayhem tour and looks to be the next favorite in line behind Hamrac. Early on, the entry list includes 15 names including a half dozen from the great state of Texas.


More big names will be added in the coming days and others will just show up on race day.  Some of the names include former track champion Okie Mason, as well as Joe Aramendia who is a stud on the Texas racing scene with three track titles at Houston in recent years.


To help get you even more prepared for one of the most exciting races of Snowball Derby week, lets take a look at the Modified division “by the numbers.”


By The Numbers

8: Donnie Hamrac in the No. 8 ride will be the one to watch as he looks for his fourth straight win in the Modified class.

30: The Modified car count can be well over 30 and even pushing 40 some years.

50: The main event will be 50 laps.

$2,500: The feature pays $2,500 to win and over $500 in the top five.

Time for Redemption: Jeff Letson was disqualified from a win earlier this season and looks to lock down a win to cap off a long season.

Late Model Crowd:  Don’t be surprised to see a Late Model driver or two try there hand in the mods.  Augie Grill, Bubba Pollard, Korey Ruble, and several others have run the Friday night tune up event. Jeff Choquette put down the fastest Modified time at the Snowball Preview, look for him to be a contender when green flag falls.


Past Winners

2015 Donnie Hamrac

2014 Donnie Hamrac

2013 Donnie Hamrac

2012 Billy Melvin

2011 Brian Nester

2010 Mark Chrudimsky

2009 Mark Chrudimsky

2008 Tuffy Hudson

2007 Kurt Jett

2006 Jason Boyd

2005 Jeff Letson

2004 Tim Martin

2002 Jeff Letson


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: Nuttleman

Snowball Derby Modified Drivers Looking to Dethrone Hamrac