Smooth Operator Grabs Victory at I-55

PEVELY, MO — Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill. became the eighth different winner in eight races on the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series by taking the $3,000 payday on Saturday Night at Federated Auto Parts Raceway @ I-55 in Pevely, Mo.

Fast qualifier and heat race winner Pierce and Daryn Klein brought the field of 22 to life for the start of the 30-lapper. Klein would jump to the early race lead but Pierce would get around Klein for the race lead on lap 10 and never look back en route to the feature win over Klein and Jason Papich.

Pierce drove his Rocket Chassis powered by a Pro Power Racing Engine to the victory with sponsorship from Hoker Trucking, Allgayer Inc., Premier Waste Services and Mesilla Valley Transportation.

On Sunday August 18, the series will head to the Charlie Depew-promoted Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill. paying $3,000-to-win to wrap up the three-race swing.

Further information on the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or (828) 361-5981 or log on to the series official webpage at

The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series would like to thank the following 2019 Series Sponsors: Schaeffer’s Oil, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tire Midwest, AR Bodies, Cruise with the Champions, Knowles Race Parts and Bodies,, Brucebilt Performance, Wiles Racing Driveshafts and Custom Suspension.

Official Summary of Results
Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series
Federated Auto Parts Raceway @ I-55 (Pevely, MO)

Feature Finish:
1. Bobby Pierce-Oakwood, Ill.
2. Daryn Klein-Fairview Heights, Ill.
3. Jason Papich-Nipomo, Calif.
4. Spencer Diercks-Davenport, Iowa
5. Michael Kloos-Trenton, Ill.
6. Ken Rumble-Arnold, Mo.
7. Jeff Herzog-Festus, Mo.
8. Tim Ratajezyk-Millstadt, Ill.
9. Joseph Gorby-Bartlesville, Okla.
10. Dean Carpenter-Coldwater, Miss.
11. David Seibers-Chapel Hill, Tenn.
12. Bret McKinnon-Carlyle, Ill.
13. Scott Henseler-South Roxana, Ill.
14. Butch Kruckeberg-Edwardsville, Ill.
15. Paul Roider-Columbia, Ill.
16. Jason Milam-Guntown, Miss.
17. Mike Hammerle-St. Charles, Mo.
18. Tony Toste-Pismo Beach, Calif.
19. Rusty Griffaw-Festus, Mo.
20. Jason Riggs-Harrisburg, Ill.
21. Brian Shirley-Chatham, Ill.
22. Rickey Frankel-Quincy, Ill.

Entries: 22
Knowles Race Parts & Bodies Fast Time: Bobby Pierce-12.648 seconds

Heat One Finish: Bobby Pierce, Ricky Frankel, Brian Shirley, David Seibers, Joseph Gorby, Tim Ratajczk, Tony Toste, Butch Kruckeberg.

Heat Two Finish: Daryn Klein, Spencer Diercks, Michael Kloos, Dean Carpenter, Rusty Griffaw, Paul Roider, Mike Hammerle.
Heat Three Finish: Jason Papich, Jason Riggs, Jeff Herzog, Brent McKinnon, Ken Rumble, Jason Milam, Scott Henseler.

Current Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series Points:
1. David Seibers-1,450
2. Dean Carpenter-1,438
3. Brian Shirley-904
4. Jose Parga-672
5. Devin Gilpin-625
6. Allen Weisser-582
7. Dennis Erb Jr.-562
8. Greg Johnson-558
9. Shelby Miles-546
10. Chad Stapleton-534

2019 Series Winners/Upcoming MARS Racing Series Events:
March 1-Clarksville Speedway-Brian Shirley
March 2-Clarksville Speedway-David Seibers
April 13-Brownstown Speedway-Devin Gilpin
May 10-Farmer City Raceway-Farmer City, IL-Kent Robinson
July 6-Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN)-Shelby Miles
August 3-Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN)-Mike Marlar
August 16-Tri-City Speedway (Pontoon Beach, IL)-Daryn Klein
August 17-Federated Auto Parts Raceway @ I-55 (Pevely, MO) Bobby Pierce
August 18-Fayette County Speedway (Brownstown, IL)-$3,000 to win
August 30-Thunder Valley Raceway (Salem, IN)-$3,000 to win

Smooth Operator Grabs Victory at I-55