SMART Mods Ready to Rumble in Franklin County Debut

The SMART Modified Tour heads to Franklin County Speedway on Saturday, May 8, the first trip to the Callaway, Virginia facility since the rebirth of the Tour-type Modified series.


The Franklin County date was added to SMART’s 2021 schedule in April, The race will be the fourth of the season for the series, and the second in the state of Virginia.  Matt Hirschman won the season opener at Caraway Speedway, with Caleb Heady winning at Florence Motor Speedway and Ryan Preece taking the checkered flag at South Boston Speedway.


With the NASCAR Cup Series competing Sunday at Darlington Raceway, Preece will once again go for a Modified win Saturday at Franklin County.  He will be joined by the usual cast of stars competing in the SMART Modified Tour, including Bobby Labonte, Burt and Jason Myers, Brian Loftin, Jeremy Gerstner and John Smith.

Ryan Preece, the most recent SMART Modified Tour winner during their last race at South Boston Speedway, will once again try his hand in a Modified race Saturday at Franklin County.

Burt Myers currently leads the series points standings, ahead of Jason Myers, John Smith, Bobby Labonte and Dennis Holdren.  Burt Myers is coming off a third-place finish at South Boston.


Franklin County Speedway hosted five races between 1995 and 1999 on the original SMART Modified Tour.  Those races were won by Jay Foley, Frank Fleming, Roger Hill, Gary Myers and Junior Miller.  Franklin County has long been a home for Modified racing, and hosted several races in 2020 utilizing rules from Bowman Gray Stadium while that venue was closed due to COVID-19 regulations.


Racing will begin at Franklin County Speedway at 5:30 p.m. ET.  Fans unable to attend the event will be able to watch live on Speed51.TV by clicking here.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo

SMART Mods Ready to Rumble in Franklin County Debut