HOHENWALD, TN–The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series returned to the Tennessee National Raceway Saturday night and the huge crowd was entertained by a 40 lap event that saw Winfield, TN., driver Skylar Marlar get his first career Southern All Star win by out running his brother Mike for a $4,000 pay day in the PPM Racing Products house car powered by a Clements racing engine.


S Marlar set fast time in White Performance Group qualifying with Josh Putnam, Dillon Tidmore, Mike Marlar and Chris Wilson fastest in group one. Group two had Eric Hickerson setting fast time along with Rick Rickman, Brian Rickman, Brad Skinner and Todd Morrow.


Skylar Marlar moved ahead of Hickerson at the start along with Putnam, B Rickman, and Tidmore in the top five. Putnam got under S Marlar and did lead lap five but S Marlar went back around Putnam on lap six and then worked the track and lapped traffic to capture his first career series win.


Meanwhile the battle for second on back was intense racing as they was a lot of contact on the tight ¼ mile oval and on lap 15 the second place car of Putnam spun off turn two ending his night from contention. B Rickman was now in second, M Marlar third Hickerson fourth and Tidmore fifth.


In the final stages of the race Skylar Marlar was having to work his way around the lapped traffic and also to keep his brother behind him over the final laps of the race and he did and brother Mike could never mount another serious challenge and take the win, finishing in third behind the Marlar brothers were Brian Rickman, fourth to Erick Hickerson and fifth to Dillon Tidmore in his best finish of the season so far with the series.


Finishing in the sixth spot was Rick Rickman, seventh to Dane Dacus, eighth to Riley Hickman, ninth to Neil Baggett and tenth to David Seibers.


The next Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series event will be Saturday night June 13th at the Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN., the 3rd Annual Scott Sexton Memorial 52 laps $5,200 to win.


Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series continues to work out scheduling for the 2015 season and if any tracks would like to be a part of the 32nd year of Southern All Star Dirt Series racing please call Lynn Acklin at 256-924-4546 or email at [email protected]


OFFICIAL FINISH TENNESSEE NATIONAL RACEWAY MEMEORIAL WEEKEND SHOOTOUT: 1.Skylar Marlar; 2.Mike Marlar; 3.Brian Rickman; 4.Eric Hickerson; 5.Dillon Tidmore; 6.Rick Rickman; 7.Dane Dacus; 8.Riley Hickman; 9.Neal Baggett; 10. David Seibers; 11.Donald Johns; 12.Jeff Walker; 13.Todd Morrow; 14.Oakley Johns; 15.Michael Greer; 16.Josh Putnam; 17.Brad Skinner; 18.A J Ferguson; 19.Scott Shelton; 20.Derrick White; 21.Justin Taylor; 22.Ray McElhaney; 23.Ronny Lee Hollingsworth; 24.Tyler Wood. DNS Chris Wilson


-Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Press Release. Photo credit: Rich Allen

Marlar Outruns Brother in SAS Event at Tennessee National