Short Track Madness Champion Decided by Handful of Votes

Five rounds of competition gave us two finalists in the inaugural Speed51 Short Track Madness Tournament. The final round proved to be one of the closest votes in the history of Speed51.  Nonetheless, it is time to crown a Short Track Madness Champion.


After an incredibly tight competition which went down to the final hours of voting, Ty Majeski has been crowned the Speed51 Short Track Madness Champion.  Majeski defeated fellow Super Late Model standout Bubba Pollard in the championship by a scant margin of voters.


Even across platforms, voting was split between the Wisconsin racer and the Georgia hotshoe. Majeski received the most votes on, as well as Speed51’s Twitter poll.  Meanwhile, Pollard was the leading vote-getter from Speed51’s Five Star Race Car Bodies Facebook Feed.


Majeski entered the tournament as the No. 6 seed in the Heartland Region, and defeated Dirt Modified standout Rodney Sanders in the opening round.  Majeski defeated fellow Super Late Model racer Brian Campbell in round two to advance to the Speed 16.


There, Majeski ended No. 15 seed Tyler Roahrig’s Cinderella run, earning a spot against Snowball Derby winner Travis Braden in the Epic 8.  Majeski won that “race” to move on to the Fast 4.


Majeski faced West/Canada Region champion Derek Thorn there, and defeated him for the right to face Pollard in the Championship Race.


It is fitting that two of the most renowned Super Late Model racers of the past decade were nearly inseparable in the Championship Race.


Majeski scored his 100thcareer victory in February, winning the Orange Blossom 100 during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway. Pollard has also achieved triple-digit wins in Late Model competition during his storied career.


Speed51 thanks everyone for voting for their favorite drivers throughout the Short Track Madness Tournament.


To view the final bracket, click here.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans



Short Track Madness Champion Decided by Handful of Votes