Short Track Draft Throwback: The 2009 Draft

As the 2019 Short Track Draft presented by PFC Brakes on Speed51 wraps, we take a look back at the ten-year anniversary of the 2009 Short Track Draft.  Our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes us back in time with this Short Track Draft Throwback.


The year was 2009, and the racing landscape was quite different back then.  We had not yet switched to the teenage craze when it came to evaluating the future talent of our sport.  A lot of the names that made the 2009 Short Track Draft on went on to win big races and championships; some are still doing that today.


Brian Ickler had just won the Snowball Derby before a tech infraction took away the win.  Despite the disqualification, our voters saw enough success to put him ahead of a young Modified driver named Matt Hirschman.   The funny thing is that Hirschman has now won well over 100 races since 2009 and Ickler has all but disappeared from the racing world.


Bobby Santos, Sean Caisse and Josh Richards made up the rest of a hot-at-the-time top five.  Santos was an open-wheel standout who went on to win a NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship one year later. Caisse was fresh off success in what is now called the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and Richards was a rising dirt star who later went on to claim a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series championship, among many other accolades.


Further down the draft board that year we see future Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne, current NASCAR Cup Series driver Ryan Preece and a younger Bubba Pollard who was just getting started.


Biggest Bust: Brian Ickler – It was no surprise at the time that Brian Ickler was selected as the top pick, but what happened after this unraveled his career and his future in the spot.  Ickler raced under the Billy Ballew and Kyle Busch Motorsports banners up until the 2011 season.  Ickler was also a Roush development driver, but from there things never panned out.  One might say he was Erik Jones before Erik Jones, but we never got to see it.


Biggest Steal: Josh Richards – Looking at this objectively, we had Richards ranked fifth among a lot of asphalt guys.  This was all before he won five national touring series titles and many marquee races on the Dirt Late Model circuit.


2009 Short Track Draft on Speed51
1 Brian Ickler
2 Matt Hirschman
3 Bobby Santos
4 Sean Caisse
5 Josh Richards
6 Ryan Lawler
7 Jeff Choquette
8 DJ Shaw
9 Kevin Swindell
10 Josh Hamner
11 Alex Yontz
12 Trevor Bayne
13 Johnny Clark
14 Johny VanDoorn
15 Corey Williams
16 Jimmy Lang
17 Ryan Preece
18 Cassius Clark
19 Andy Seuss
20 Tim Russell
21 Jacob Goede
22 Bubba Pollard
23 Michael Pope
24 Coleman Pressley
25 Stephen McCurley
26 Justin Loftin
27 Darren Hagan
28 Adam Bates
29 Peyton Sellers
30 George Brunnhoelzl III
31 Jason Bowles
32 Jeremy Colangelo
33 Alex Haase
34 Ryan Crane
35 Joey Pole
36 Paul Kelley
37 Drew Herring
38 Trent Snyder
39 Erica Santos
40 Matt Sheppard
41 Eddie MacDonald
42 Brandon Johnson
43 Levi Jones
44 Jimmy Blewett
45 Ronnie Silk
46 Justin Larson
47 Caleb Holman
48 Brandon Carlson
49 Colt James
50 Jason Hogan
51 Paddy Rodenbeck


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: photo

Short Track Draft Throwback: The 2009 Draft