CANANDAIGUA, N.Y. – There was no catching Matt Sheppard after he took the lead from pole sitter Steve Paine on lap nine of the 64-lap Jan Corcoran Memorial Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series event Wednesday at Canandaigua Motorsports Park.

Sheppard had sizeable leads trimmed by four cautions, but he was able to maintain control each time, including a final restart on lap 48.

Larry Wight, Sheppard’s closest pursuer, drew within four car-lengths of Sheppard’s FX Caprara No. 9h on the final lap, but had to settle for the runner-up spot. Paine was third, followed by Brett Hearn and Billy Dunn.

“This was a great race for a great lady,” said Sheppard, of Waterloo, N.Y. “I don’t know how I could have done any better. Between me and this car and this track, it’s quite a combination right now. I feel confident racing here.”

Sheppard started fifth in a 28-car field, three spots better than Wight.

“We both had solid cars, but it’s hard to close on somebody that strong on a big track that gets slippery,” Wight said.

Wight passed Paine for second a lap after the first caution of the race for Billy Dunn, who slowed and then pitted to replace a deflating right rear tire.

Dunn had started 25th. He raced into the top-10 on lap 42, spent several laps dicing with Billy Decker for sixth and closed in on Hearn for fourth, but couldn’t get past him.

Decker, Mat Williamson, Matt Billings, Danny Johnson and Erick Rudolph completed the top ten.

Earlier, Hearn had won the Pole Position Raceway Fast Time Award, but after the Dig Safely NY 811 redraw, he started 11th.

The Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series’ next stop is at Brockville Ontario Speedway Wednesday, May 27.

For more information on the Super DIRTcar Series, visit,, follow on Twitter@SuperDIRTcar, and like us on Facebook at

Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series Statistical Report

‘Jan Corcoran Memorial 64’

Canandaigua, NY

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

A-Main (64 laps): start in (*)

1. 9h Matt Sheppard – Waterloo, N.Y. (5)

2. 99L Larry Wight – Phoenix, NY (8)

3. 7x Steve Paine – Waterloo, NY (1)

4. 20 Brett Hearn – Sussex, N.J. (11)

5. 49D Billy Dunn – Watertown, N.Y. (25)

6. 91 Billy Decker – Unadilla, N.Y. (10)

7. 6m Mat Williamson – St. Catherines, Ont (13)

8. 74m Matt Billings – Brockville, Ontario (6)

9. 27J Danny Johnson – Rochester, N.Y. (9)

10. 7z Erick Rudolph – Ransomville, N.Y. (19)

11. 42p Pat Ward – Genoa, N.Y. (7)

12. 98h Jimmy Phelps – Baldwinsville, N.Y. (18)

13. 99 Ryan Phelps – Fulton, N.Y. (15)

14. 3h Justin Haers – Phelps, N.Y. (14)

15. 8 Rob Bellinger -Cicero, NY (3)

16. 38 Ryan Suscie – Ransomville, NY (17)

17. 14j Alan Johnson – Middlesex, NY (20)

18. 21a Pete Britten – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia (27)

19. 07 Tim Kerr – Picton, Ont. (30)

20. 43 Keith Flach – Ravena, N.Y. (24)

21. 55H Anthony Perriego – Montgomery, NY (16)

22. 77 Dan Wiesner – Waterloo, NY (26)

23. 51 Stewart Friesen – Sprakers, NY (2)

24. 32c Vic Coffey – Leicester, NY (22)

25. 4* Tim McCreadie – Watertown, NY (4)

26. 5H Chris Hile – Syracuse, N.Y. (23)

27. 19 Tim Fuller – Edwards, NY (12)

28. 21 Gary Tomkins – Clifton Springs, NY (28)

Did Not Start:

56 Vince Vitale – Phoenix, N.Y.

48 Dave Rauscher – Waterloo, N.Y.

21k Randy Chrysler – Lewiston, N.Y.

13 Rick Regalski – Slippery Rock, PA

63 Adam Roberts – Watertown, N.Y.

1jr Mike O’Brien – Avon, N.Y.

28 Eldon Payne Jr. – Hopewell, N.Y.

5* Tyler Siri – Horseheads, N.Y.

21p Derrick Podsiallo – Penn Yan, N.Y.


-Super DIRTcar Series Press Release.  Photo Credit: Troyer Race Cars

Sheppard Dominates For Canandaguia Super DIRT Win