DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 4, 2016) – Lyle Shepard stayed perfect in NCRA Late Model competition by wiring the field in Saturday night’s 25-lap feature event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.

While the Manhattanite made it three NCRA Late Model wins in a row to kick off the 2016 campaign, Daylon Bergeron outdueled Mike Roach for IMCA Sport Modified honors, Angel Munoz posted his first DCRP win of the year in IMCA Stock Car action and Matt O’Hair made a late move to take his second IMCA Hobby Stock win of the year.

In the lone Late Model card of the year at DCRP, Shepard gunned into the lead from the pole position at the outset and led all the way aboard the No. 2x entry in the feature that was interrupted by just one caution when Dan Smith came to a stop in turn two after 14 laps.

“I wouldn’t have dreamed this, there are a lot of cars out here that can win on any given night,” Shepard said of his perfect start to the NCRA season.

While “The Hitman” held a ten car-length advantage to the stripe, Jimmy Segraves held off the advances of Dusty Leonard for runner-up honors with Darrick Klima right on their heels in fourth. Chris Kratzer rounded out the top five after taking the position away from Rob Day with nine laps to go.

After leading the opening 16 rounds, Daylon Bergeron outlasted fellow Woodward, OK, show Mike Roach over the closing circuits to capture his first DCRP win in the IMCA Sport Modified ranks.

Bursting into the lead from the pole position, Bergeron cruised out front until Mike Roach battled his way past Slade Roach to take over second just past the midway point.

After a caution with seven laps to go, Mike Roach put the pressure on Bergeron and finally slipped under to take command on the 17th lap after splitting a lapped car on the backstretch. Bergeron battled right back, pulling even as the white flag flew after.

Dodging a spinning car in turn two, Bergeron used the high side of turns three and four to edge Mike Roach at the line with Slade Roach, Jeff Kaup and Darren Hacker rounding out the top five.

In the 15-lap IMCA Stock Car feature, Lamar, Colorado’s Angel Munoz battled past Cody Zimmerman on the fifth round and led the rest of the way for his first DCRP score of the year and first since topping last year’s season finale.

Munoz survived one of a pair of opening lap incidents to race on to the win ahead of Zimmerman and Dalton Bauer with Chris Oliver and Mike Warta rounding out the top five.

In the IMCA Hobby Stock ranks, Matt O’Hair made a move into the lead with the white flag in sight and held off his rivals over the final round to secure his second win of the year and take over the points lead in the process.

While Laverne, Oklahoma’s O’Hair worked forward from the seventh starting position, Reagan Sellard held off a host of challengers much of the way until slipping high exiting turn two on the 13th round.

The miscue by Sellard was all it took for Duane Wahrman and O’Hair to rally by on the backstretch with O’Hair then slipping underneath to take the lead as the white flag flew.

O’Hair led the closing lap to take the checkered flag in front of Wahrman with Sellard settling for third in front of Cody Davis and Bryan Habiger.

Action continues at Dodge City Raceway Park next Saturday night, June 11, with a full slate of championship chase competition featuring Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Dodge City Raceway Park

June 4 Results:

NCRA Late Models:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 7c-Jimmy Segraves, 2. 1-Darrick Klima, 3. 55-Chris Kratzer, 4. 10-4-Adam Popp, 5. 11b-Justin Bussell, 6. 92-Delbert Smith.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. D6-Rob Day, 2. 2x-Lyle Shepard, 3. 7d-Dusty Leonard, 4. 92s-Dan Smith, 5. 12g-Ryan Grit, 6. 15-Nathan Mayes.

“A” Main (25 Laps): 1. 2x-Lyle Shepard, 2. 7c-Jimmy Segraves, 3. 7d-Dusty Leonard, 4. 1-Darrick Klima, 5. 55-Chris Kratzer, 6. 11b-Justin Bussell, 7. D6-Rob Day, 8. 92-Delbert Smith, 9. 10-4-Adam Popp, 10. 12bg-Ryan Grit, 11. 15-Nathan Mayes, 12. 92s-Dan Smith.

IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 33h-Darren Hacker, 2. 33s-Slade Roach, 3. 8-Brian May, 4. 7J-Jamie French, 5. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 6. 33hs-Rayce Hacker, 7. 57-Tanner Brunson, 8. 62-Marvin Ward. DNS: 10T-Toby Witthuhn.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 4p-Daylon Bergeron, 2. 33r-Mike Roach, 3. 37-Bart Baker, 4. 92-Jeff Kaup, 5. 18-Kyle Wiens, 6. 12-Kevin Tabor, 7. 10-Alex Wiens, 8. 67-Edwin Elliott, 9. 12x-Brad Johnson.

“A” Main (20 Laps): 1. 4p-Daylon Bergeron, 2. 33r-Mike Roach, 3. 33s-Slade Roach, 4. 92-Jeff Kaup, 5. 33h-Darren Hacker, 6. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 7. 37-Bart Baker, 8. 7J-Jamie French, 9. 12-Kevin Tabor, 10. 18-Kyle Wiens, 11. 33hs-Rayce Hacker 12. 10-Alex Wiens, 13. 67-Edwin Elliott, 14. 57-Tanner Brunson, 15. 12x-Brad Johnson, 16. 62-Marvin Ward, 17. 8-Brian May, 18. 10T-Toby Witthuhn.

IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 22-Michael Pepper, 2. 19-Brett Copeland, 3. 33-Marlin Hogie, 4. 2m-Angel Munoz, 5. 2z-Cody Zimmerman, 6. 3-Chris Oliver, 7. 22w-Mike Warta, 8. 16-Aaron Gray, 9. 57-Dalton Bauer.

“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 2m-Angel Munoz, 2. 2z-Cody Zimmerman, 3. 57-Dalton Bauer, 4. 3-Chris Oliver, 5. 22w-Mike Warta, 6. 33-Marlin Hogie, 7. 16-Aaron Gray, 8. 19-Brett Copeland, 9. 22-Michael Pepper.

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 007-Bryan Habiger, 2. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 3. 55-Jacob Huse, 4. 44b-David Berger, 5. 72T-Tobby Schield, 6. 1c-Cody Ghumm, 7. 20-Tyler Walker.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 91d-Cody Davis, 2. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 3. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 4. 17-Will Bauer, 5. 7-Tom Reed, 6. 7h-Tom Hacker, 7. 45p-Michael Penrod.

“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 2. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 3. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 4. 91d-Cody Davis, 5. 007-Bryan Habiger, 6. 17-Will Bauer, 7. 45p-Michael Penrod, 8. 44b-David Berger, 9. 1c-Cody Ghumm, 10. 7-Tom Reed, 11. 20-Tyler Walker, 12. 7h-Corey Hacker, 13. 72T-Tobby Schield, 14. 55-Jacob Huse.

Courtesy :Lonnie Wheatley & Dodge City Raceway Park Saturday Report & Photo

Shepard Scores NCRA Late Model Triumph at Dodge City