Oxford, Maine – Shawn Martin of Turner took another step toward earning yet another Oxford Championship Series title on Saturday night, capitalizing upon the misfortune of Pro Late Model rookie Mark Lundblad, Jr. to win the 50-lap feature event at Oxford Plain s Speedway.

Gorham’s Joe Pastore, Jr. claimed victory in the 40-lap PASS Sportsman Series finale, while other main event victors were Spencer Morse of Waterfortd, Kyle Hewins of Leeds and Oxford’s own Shaun Hinckley.

Martin started deep in the 24-car Pro Late Model main event where everyone chased Lundblad, from Conway, New Hampshire. A Late restart offered up an opportunity for higher-point drivers who had worked from the rear of the starting grid to challenge the top-class freshman.

With just over three laps remaining, Lundblad went spinning, and officials sent TJ Brackett to the rear of the restart lineup as a result.

Martin too command and outraced Groham’s Joe Pastore, Jr. to the checkered flag. Buckfield veteran TYim Brackett filled out the podium, with Anson’s Scott Moore and rookie Kyle Treadwell of Auburn rounding out the top five.

“I wish we could have had a battle with TJ and Mark,” said Martin, holding his son in victory lane. “It would have been a good one.”

Pro Late Model runner-up Pastore then strapped into his Pro All Stars Series Sportsman division ride and dominated the 40-lap main event in that class.

Pastore took the lead away from Whitefield, New Hampshire competitor Sudden Sam Gooden and never looked back.

Gooden, making his first start in a racecar in some six years, knocked the rust off in style with as hard-fought runner-up finish in front of former series champion Dan McKeage of Gorham. Rusty Poland of Windham was the fourth-place finisher, in front of Portland’s Scott Dorr.

“I knew that Dan and Rusty and those guys would put on a good show and that helped me to get away,” said Pastore, who credited spotter Steve Tapley with aiding his efforts immensely.

Spencer Morse of Waterford made a thrilling, last-lap charge to the winner’s circle in Allen’s Coffee-Flavored Brandy Street Stock division competition, padding his lead atop the championship standings. Kyle Hewins of Leeds led most of the 30-lapper before Morse took command on the money lap. Ryan Hewins of Leeds was third under the checkered flag, followed by Keith Stuart of Naples and Lisbon’s Rick Spaulding.

“When you start racing for points you finish fifth,” the happy winner said from victory lane. “I like trophies. We’re not points racing until championship night.”

Hometown racer Shaun Hinckley romped to an easy victory in the rntry-level Bandito class. John Childs, Dan Wade, James Record and Cam Childs filled out the top five,

Oxofrd Championship Series competition resumes Saturday, August 9 at 7:00 p.m., with PASS Mods joining the Pro Late Models, Street Stocks, Outlaw Sportsman and Bandito divisions for Pepsi night. Oxford Plains Speedway is located in Route 26 in Oxford, Maine. For more information call (207) 539-8865 or visit oxfordplains.com

Oxford Championship Series Whitehead RV Night results, Saturday, August 2, 2014

Budweiser Pro Late Model (50 laps) 1 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 2 20 Joe Pastore, Jr, Gorham; 3 60 Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 4 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 5 44 Kyle Treadwell, Auburn; 6 09 Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, NH; 7 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 8 33 Gary Norris, Randolph; 9 6 Tommy Ricker, Poland; 10 14 Scott McDaniel, Livermore; 11 61 T J Brackett, Buckfield; 12 72 Chris Coolidge, Norway; 13 55 Kurt Hewins, Leeds; 14 24 Gunnar Rowe, Turner; 15 22 Scott Farrington, Minot; 16 64 Matt Sanborn, Westbrook; 17 28 Mark Lundblad, Jr., Conway, NH; 18 3 Vanna Brackett, Buckfield; 19 5 Dustin Bisson, Greene; 20 78 Quinney Welch, Lancaster, NH; 21 96 justin Gibbons, Bridgton; 22 54 Shane Green, South Paris; 23 63 Donnie Wentworth, Otisfield; 24 11 Billy Childs, Jr., Leeds.

Pro All Stars Series Sportsman (40 laps) 1 20 Joe Pastore, Jr., Gorham; 2 4 Sudden Sam Gooden, Whitefield, NH; 3 43 Dan McKeage, Gorham; 4 44 Rusty Poland, Windham; 5 60 Scott Dorr, Portland; 6 09 Frank Eldridge;7 01 Rob Drew, Center Lovell; 8 7 Grant Aither, Kingston, NH.

Allen’s Coffee-Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps) 1 34 Spencer Morse, Waterford; 2 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 3 5 Ryan Hewins, Oxford; 4 8 Keith Sturat, Naples; 5 36 Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 6 17 Gary Davis, Harison; 7 05 Glen Reynolds, Greene; 8 777 Mike St. Germain, Auburn; 9 3 Josh Childs, Oxofrd; 10 23 Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 11 39 Drew Morse, Waterford; 12 81 B J Chapman, Bridgton; 13 08 Richard Wentworth, Center Conway, NH; 14 33 Andrew Breton, Sabattus.

Ripley & Fletcher Ford Outlaw Sportsman (25 laps) 1 5 Guy Childs, Sr., Sabattus; 2 Troy Jordan, Turner; 3 67 Mike Haynes, Livermore Falls; 4 19 Steve Moon, Auburn, 5 77 Bryce Mains, Naples; 6 39 Gerry Freve, Buckfield; 7 6 Todd Bisbee, South Paris; 8 2 Dale Lawrence, (hometown unavailable at deadline time).

Bandits: 1 2 Shaun Hinckley, 2 69 John Childs, 3 17 Dan Wade, 4 28 James Record, 5 11 Cam Childs, 6 44 Robert Kahkonen, 7 99 Paul Harmon, 8 32 Troy Smith, 9 87 Derek Cairns, 10 14 Adam O’Neil, 11 49 Rob Lowe, 12 24 Tyler Greene, 13 13 Richard Kimball, 14 9 David Brennon, 15 88 Derek Cook, 16 51 Ryan Berry, 17 10 Travis Verrill.

– Oxford Plains Speedway Press Release

Shawn Martin prevails at Oxford Plains Speedway