WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Shanon Mongeau raced into contention early and then survived an oily racetrack to win the second of three Triple Crown 50-lap races for the Downs Ford Modified stock cars at Wall Stadium Speedway Saturday night. It was the Manchester resident’s first Modified win of the year.


Kenny Matlach of New Hyde Park, N.Y. took advantage of a front row starting spot to lead the 19-car field at the outset. Matlach was able to stretch an impressive advantage early but went from dominant leader to innocent victim in an instant. With 29 laps complete Matlach found super slick synthetic oil that was dropped from the car of another competitor and spun from the lead in turn two. On the restart Mongeau had moved into position to take the lead and then fought off the advances of Willingboro’s Zack Alspach to the checker flag. Justin Gumley of Howell, Holmdel’s Andrew Krause and Jackson’s Steven Reed wrapped up the top five.


“This win is real special,” Mongeau said after the race. “The car has been fast, but Rob Ormsbee worked on it Friday night and it was the best it has ever been tonight. I’m real happy to win one for the car’s owner, Steve Blauvelt.


Matt Langbein of Laurence Harbor led the entire distance to win his first ever 30-lap Snap-on Sportsman main event on Saturday. The 18-car field cruised 28 straight laps without a caution before the yellow flag waved three times in the final two laps. Those restarts made Langbein fight for the win as he was challenged by Brick’s Robert Sutphin every step of the way. Holmdel’s Andrew Krause, Larry Thompson of Parlin and Howell’s Kevin Davison were third, fourth and fifth.


Howell’s Robert French grabbed the win in the 25-lap main event for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars fighting off defending champ Brian Spencer of Edison most of the way. Nick Van Wickle of Edgewater, Jim Sylvester and Malcolm Campbell of Eatontown wrapped up the top five.


Ronnie Mullen of Brick took the lead near the halfway point and won the first of two 25-lap races for the Green Monster Insulation 4 Cylinder Stocks. Jason Lane of Brick, Mike Lavery, Alonzo Morales of Burlington and Wall’s TJ Graves wrapped up the top five.


Morales came back to win the 4 Cylinder Stocks nightcap over Mullen, Graves, Lane and Fred Cannock.


Mullen was also the winner of a special 25-lap race in Legend Cars for drivers who are 40 years of age and older. The victory came in Mullen’s first ever race in a Legend Car.


Wall Stadium returns to action this Saturday (June 13) with four divisions competing in five main events. The Sportsman cars are set for Twin 35-lappers, while the Elite Maintenance Limited Late Models, O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stocks and the Legends Cars all race in 25-lappers. A special mechanics race will be contested and the Limited Late Model crews will compete in a tire changing competition. With spectator seating opening at 5:00 p.m. qualifying is set for 6:00 p.m. followed by main events.


Wall Stadium presents professional motorsports events on Saturdays and Sundays through September with special post-season races in October and November. The speedway is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400, while [email protected] is the track’s email address. More information is also available at www.wallspeedwayracing.com.


-Wall Stadium Press Release. Photo credit: Speed51.com


MODIFIED FEATURE – 50 Laps“ 1. SHANON MONGEAU, MANCHESTER, 2. Zack Alspach, 3. Justin Gumley, 4. Andrew Krause, 5. Steven Reed, 6. Eric Mauriello, 7. Chas Okerson, 8. Ken Matlach, 9. Shaun Carrig, 10. Jonathan Mandato, 11. Chad Churilla, 12. Derek Hopkinson, 13. Shawna Ingraham, 14. Jason Treat, 15. Trevor Alspach, 16. Glenn Slocum, 17. Adam LaCicero, 18. Ron Frees, 19. Kevin Davison

SPORTSMAN FEATURE  30 Laps 1. MATT LANGBEIN, LAURENCE HARBOR, 2. Robert Sutphin, 3. Andrew Krause, 4. Larry Thompson, 5. Kevin Davison, 6. Shanon Mongeau, 7. Jason Caruso, 8. Chris Lane, 9. Tyler Truex, 10. Eric Lane, 11. Jarret DiGiantamasso, 12. Scott Brannick, 13. Tim Stephan, 14. Kenny Van Wickle, 15. Rob Silver, 16. Dave Bailey, 17. Robby Walton, 18. Rob Hyer

LEGEND CARS FEATURE 25 Laps  1. ROBERT FRENCH, HOWELL, 2. Brian Spencer, 3. Nick Van Wickle, 4. Jim Sylvester, 5. Malcolm Campbell, 6. Chris Gall, 7. Ricky Collins, 8. James Van Wickle, 9. Art Marrero, 10. Peter Bruno, 11. Steven Woytysiak, 12. Eric Henschel, 13. Roger Nickerson, 14. Matt Marzano, 15. Beth MacFarlane, 16. Mitchell Dowd, 17. Casey Robicheau

1ST 4 CYLINDER STOCK FEATURE 25 Laps 1. RONNIE MULLEN, BRICK, 2. Jason Lane, 3. Mike Lavery, 4. Alonzo Morales, 5. TJ Graves, 6. Christian LaCicero, 7. Corey Stockert, 8. Darianne McLaren, 9. Cody Mount, 10. James Meyers, 11. Darren Burdge, 12. Fred Cannock

2ND 4 CYLINDER STOCK FEATURE 25 Laps  1. ALONZO MORALES, BURLINGTON, 2. Mullen, 3. Graves, 4. Lane, 5. Cannock, 6. Meyers, 7. Lavery, 8. Stockert, 9. LaCicero, 10. Mount, 11. McLaren


Shanon Mongeau Claims ‘Special’ Modified 50 at Wall