KALAMAZOO, MI – Billy Shannon held off two-time defending champion Mike “Bubba” Brooks to pick up the victory in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Model feature Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway. AJ Foote picked up his second consecutive top five finish by finishing third ahead of “12-Time” Andy Bozell and Matt Frazier. Brandon Zachary finished an impressive sixth beating out Justin Claucherty, Jerry Pierman, Todd Currier and Mark Shook. Phil Bozell set quick time while Shannon and Dave Lober won the heat races.

Defending Super Stock champion Buddy Head beat out brother Kenny Head in an action packed thirty lap feature. Eric McGlothlen held off opening night winner Brandon Lyons for third while Chris Shannon rounded out the top five. The second half of the top ten was led by Jim Leonard over Rodney Smith, Ron Landis, Larry Hollenbeck and Robby Henderson. Buddy Head also set quick time and won his heat race while Chris Shannon won the other heat.


The Pro Stock Spring Fling Presented by Orrin B Hayes saw young Chaz Hook pick up the victory over his father Brent Hook. Matt Corliss set quick time and worked his way through the field all the way to third beating out Robbie Ferrier and Zach Westdorp. Nick Pressler led the second half of the top ten over defending champion John Foote Jr., Keith Wilfong, Greg Brown and Will Raber.


Logan Knight made a thrilling late race pass on Kyle Shannon to pick up the Mini Stock victory. Steve Potter finished third ahead of former champion Frank Stager and Chuck Greer. Former Cyber Stock champion Keith Dunham finished sixth beating out Brian Echtinaw, Andrew Brest, Curtis Towne and JR Long. Knight also set quick time.


Keegan Dykstra picked up his second consecutive win in the Outlaw Cyber Stock feature. Dan Rigoni set quick time and drove all the way up to second while Nick Layman, Jerry Jansen Jr. and Larry Richardson rounded out the top five. The second half of the top ten was led by Doug Nelson over Bob Miller, Jeremy Young, Scott Custer and Kyle Jansen.


The Flip Flop Cyber Stock Nationals Presented by NAPA saw Brad Hall pick up the victory. Brock Sweeter finished second ahead of Lynne Zachary, Keith Ribble and Bert Brown. Joey Failing led the second half of the top ten over Brooke Derrick, Gail Carlin, Chuck Anderson and Michael Jenks.


Next Saturday night the action continues with another full 6 in 1 show featuring the Titan Equipment 40 for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Outlaw Super Late Models. AJ Foote brings a seven point lead over Billy Shannon into the third night of racing. The Super Stocks will also be in action with the running of Super Stock Mania Presented by Lane Automotive. The Pro Stocks, Mini Stocks, Outlaw Cyber Stocks and Flip Flop Cyber Stocks will complete the program.


-Kalamazoo Press Release.  Photo Credit: Kalamazoo Speedway

Shannon Holds Off Defending Champ For Shifters 40 Win