The Summer Shootout at Charlotte Motor Speedway is the mecca for kids aspiring to be the next Jeff Gordon.  Nearly 150 cars scoured the pits for the double header, opening rounds of the 21st annual Summer Shootout Monday and Tuesday evening and less than a quarter percent of those drivers racing at the quarter-mile track were more than 21 years-old.

There were a bunch of Legends Cars in the garage area at Charlotte Motor Speedway. ( photo)

There were a bunch of Legends Cars in the garage area at Charlotte Motor Speedway. ( photo)

Two Legends Car drivers scored back-to-back wins on the opening rounds of the 10-race summer series and one of those was above the magic age of 21. Tom Pistone started seventh, charged the front and took the lead on lap 10 of the Masters division, which is for drivers more than 40 years-old.  He then held off the advances of John Sossoman and Bruce Silver for the victory in the 30-lap main event.

In the Young Lions Legends car feature Carson Ferguson crushed the field two-nights in a row.  On Tuesday, the 14 year-old held off 17 year-old Stefan Parsons (son of former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series winner Phil Parsons) for the second straight night.

“I got up to second early and kept getting run down the track by the leader every time I got underneath him, but that is racing,” said Carson, who is the cousin of Dirt Late Model racer Chris Ferguson.  “It got a little exciting there.  I chose the outside (on a late race restart), hit my gears right and got down on the outside and it was smooth sailing from there.  Stefan Parsons, I thought he was going to move me a couple of times, but he has enough respect and I have respect for him.  We race each other clean and have to thank him for that.  Got to thank the Lord for giving us the ability and keeping us safe as well.”

Another teenager, Riley Halverson won the Legends Car Semi-Pro 30-lap race from the pole position.  He lost the lead to Austin Langenstein on the frontstretch with just three laps to go, but going into the first turn Halverson laid a bumper on Langenstein’s car to shove him up the racetrack.

Riley Halverson took the trophy in the Semi Pro division. ( photo)

Riley Halverson took the trophy in the Semi Pro division. ( photo)

“He got into me a few corners before,” said Halverson.  “I was just going to get into him and move him up a groove, but I misjudged it a little bit, he locked the left front up and went up the track.  He raced me pretty clean and I am sorry it happened.  It’s racing I guess.”

Unfortunately a storm with severe lightning was moving into Concord, NC area and speedway officials were forced to postpone the remainder of the night’s racing card, which included the Legends Pro event and three Bandolero races.

The action will continue next Tuesday evening, June 17th with (local area) Team Mascot Night.  Legends Cars and Bandolero racing will again be on the schedule at the Charlotte Motor Speedway.

By Bob Dillner & Blaise Dillner

Photo Credit: photo

Round 2 (Tuesday):

Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (25 laps): 1. Tom Pistone; 2. John Sossoman; 3. Bruce Silver; 4. Scott Whittaker; 5. Robbie Woodall; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Chip Ferguson; 8. Ron Mander; 9. Steve Lewis; 10. Karl Moberg; 11. Shawn Geisel; 12. Robby Faggart; 13. Jeff Green.

Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (25 laps): 1. Riley Halverson; 2. Sheldon Crouse; 3. Josh Turner; 4. Billy Webb; 5. Josh Brimecombe; 6. Jordan Stillwell; 7. Robby Lyons; 8. Craig Biryla; 9. Enrique Limon; 10. Devin O’Connell; 11. Tyler Truex; 12. Grant Winchester; 13. Richie Rapa; 14. David Schilling; 15. Dylan Faggart; 16. Austin Langenstein; 17. John Holleman; 18. Connor Pyle; 19. Casey Brown; 20. Colin Jareb.

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. Carson Ferguson; 2. Stefan Parsons; 3. Christian Eckes; 4. Ryan Millington; 5. Matt Thomas; 6. Stevie Johns Jr.; 7. Alex Reece; 8. Austin Green; 9. Enzo Fittipaldi; 10. Matt Craig; 11. Alex Murray; 12. Michael Womack; 13. Jacob Heafner; 14. Cason Werner; 15. AJ Davis; 16. Amber Burchette; 17. Sprout Royal; 18. Seth Werner; 19. Dawson Cram; 20. Woodrow Mullis; 21. Scott Joy; 22. Walter Thomas.

Round 1 (Monday):

Legend Car Pro Feature (30 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric; 2. William Byron; 3. Greg Lang; 4. Michael Torres; 5. Jordan Black; 6. Joey Padgett; 7. Steven Cantrell; 8. Kason Plott; 9. Tripp Gerrald; 10. Joe Ryan Osborne; 11. Jared Irvan. 12. Kyle Beattie; 13. Alex Pacheco; 14. Evan Swilling; 15. Zane Smith.

Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (30 laps): 1. Tom Pistone; 2. John Sossoman; 3. Robby Faggart; 4. Jeff Green; 5. Bruce Silver; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Shawn Geisel; 8. Chip Ferguson; 9. John Craig; 10. Robbie Woodall; 11. Carl Moberg; 12. Ron Mander; 13. Scott Whitaker.

Quaker Steak & Lube Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (30 laps): 1. Dylan Faggart; 2. Connor Pyle; 3. Josh Brimecombe; 4. Riley Halverson; 5. Devin O’Connell; 6. John Holleman; 7. Austin Langenstein; 8. Tyler Truex; 9. Josh Turner; 10. Craig Biryla; 11. Jake Tretow; 12. Robby Lyons; 13. David Schilling; 14. Josh Stillwell; 15. Colin Jareb; 16. Casey Brown; 17. Grant Winchester; 18. Alex Urbina; 19. Enrique Limon; 20. Sheldon Crouse; 21. Billy Webb; 22. William Cunningham.

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (20 laps): 1. Carson Ferguson; 2. Stefan Parsons; 3. Matt Craig; 4. Stevie Johns Jr; 5. Seth Werner; 6. Alex Reece; 7. Woodrow Mullis; 8. Christian Eckes; 9. Alex Murray; 10. Jacob Heafner; 11. Enzo Fittipaldi; 12. Michael Womack; 13. Austin Green; 14. Matt Thomas; 15. Ryan Millington; 16. Scott Joy; 17. Dawson Cram; 18. Cason Werner; 19. Amber Burchette; 20. Walter Thomas.

Bandolero Outlaws Feature (14 laps): 1. Miguel Cesar; 2. Ashton Winger; 3. Jensen Jorgenson; 4. Jordan Plummer; 5. Nate Tretow; 6. Austin Powell; 7. Jack Fread; 8. Matthew Davey; 9. Kayla Lyons; 10. Justin Taylor; 11. Chase Purdy; 12. Kamera McDonald; 13. Hanna Bell; 14. Mathew Emery; 15. Trevor Rizzo; 16. Matt Mead; 17. Nick MacMillan; 18. Eric Brown.

LiveWell Homes Bandolero Bandits Feature (13 laps): 1. Chandler Smith; 2. DJ Canipe; 3. Eddie Fatscher; 4. Daniel Wilk; 5. Connor Younginer; 6. Mini Tyrell; 7. William Robusto; 8. Austin Geer; 9. Braydn Mander; 10. Liz Montgomery; 11. Richie Kuty; 12. Brayde Miranda; 13. Mark Durgin Jr; 14. Josh Kossek; 15. Blake Cisneros; 16. Ryan Israel; 17. Ryleigh Lemonds.

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Cameron Bolton; 2. Carson Kvapil; 3. Bryson Ruff; 4. Elijah Todd; 5. Josh Speas; 6. Dylan Notaro; 7. Carson Poindexter; 8. Roy Hayes; 9. Isabella Robusto; 10. Brandon Grants; 11. George Hayes; 12. Tommy Good.

Several Strike on Storm Shortened Summer Shootout Night