Ty Majeski’s stock is continuing to rise in the Super Late Model ranks as he dominated round one of the Triple Crown Challenge Series Friday night at Madison International Speedway in Oregon, Wisconsin.


While he looked untouchable on the track, Majeski admitted afterwards that the car was running on seven cylinders.


“I wasn’t sure if we were going to win this race.  On the last couple of restarts we were off and only on seven cylinders,” admitted Majeski.  “I don’t know if a plug wire got loose or what.  About three to four laps after a restart it would start missing down the straightaways, but other than that, the car was absolutely flawless tonight.”


Majeski, who was also the fast qualifier, started seventh in the 50-lap feature and didn’t waste time getting to the front as he worked his way to second by lap 14.  Six laps later, he would get a run off of turn two and fly by Jeremy Miller to take the lead.


After taking the lead, Majeski wasn’t challenged during the remaining 29 laps en route to his first Super Late Model victory at “Wisconsin’s Fastest Half Mile Oval.”  Majeski’s margin of victory was 1.9-seconds over Paul Shafer Jr.


Shafer was still pleased with his finish.


“I was glad just to make the race this time.  We have come here four times previously and only made the race once,” recalled Shafer.  “I am glad to be on the frontstetch after the race; that’s something that doesn’t happen very often.  I am happy with second place.  Ty and his crew are really good.  We will get there.”


Jeff Storm rebounded from a spin after hitting some fluid on the track late in the race.  Track officials gave him his spot back and he took advantage of the final restart; he went from eighth to third with 12 laps to go to earn the final spot on the podium.


“I don’t know if there was oil on the backstretch, but the car went around real quick,” Storm said after the race.  “Thank God the track officials were able to see that and give me my spot back.  On the restart, we just drove by them all.  It was pretty awesome.”


Miller would finish fourth with Dave Feiler rounded out the top five.


Round two of the Trip Crown Challenge Series will take place on Friday, July 10th with the final round scheduled for Friday, August 21st.


Madison International Speedway

Super Late Model Triple Crown Series

Round One – Results

1. Ty Majeski (Seymour, WI)

2. Paul Shafer Jr. (Portage, IN)

3. Jeff Storm (Waterford, WI)

4. Jeremy Miller (Rockton, IL)

5. Dave Feiler (Sun Prairie, WI)

6. Dan Lensing (Roscoe, IL)

7. Dalton Zehr (Daytona Beach, FL)

8. Travis Dassow (West Bend, WI)

9. Brandon Hill (Genoa City, WI)

10. Ryan Farrell (Menomonee Falls, WI)

11. Joel Theisen (Maple Grove, MN)

12. John Beale (Madison, WI)

13. Dale Nottestad (Cambridge, WI)

14. Steve Apel (Slinger, WI)

15. Bobby Kendall (Montello, WI)

16. Reagan May (DePere, WI)

17. Todd Schmitz (Verona, WI)

18. Nathan Haseleu (Pardeeville, WI)

19. James Swan (Lake Geneva, WI)

20. Steve Rubeck (Monroe Center, IL)

21. Dean Lapointe (Marshfield, WI)

22. Jim Olson (Harvard, IL)

23. Ryan Goldade (Edgerton, WI)

24. Dave Finney (Sycamore, IL)

25. Derek Kraus (Stratford, WI)

By Kevin Ramsell, Correspondent, Speed51.com – Photo: Speed51.com photo

Seven Cylinders Might Have Been Majeski’s Madison Magic