Setting the Stage for Tonight’s Rowdy Series Finale

The Rowdy Energy Super Select Series powered by Speed51 reaches its dramatic conclusion Tuesday night at North Wilkesboro Speedway (NC), with the 10th and final round of racing taking place at 7:30 p.m. ET.


Preview the action, which you will be able to watch live on Speed51 by clicking here, as we set the stage for the season finale.


Points Battle Coming Down to the Wire


After nine races, just seven points separate two title contenders entering the season finale. Currently, Parker Retzlaff leads the title chase over Alex McCollum after scoring his first win of the seasonat The Milwaukee Mile.


The ARCA Menards Series East competitor will now start no better than 11th in Tuesday’s feature race, while McCollum cannot start better than 21st by virtue of his three wins over the course of the season.


Still, both racers will be looking for valuable bonus points early in the night.  With a bonus point on the line both for quick time in qualifying and for winning a heat race, how the preliminary action plays out could play a crucial role for the title contenders.


There will also be incentive to get to the front, as a bonus point will be awarded for leading a lap and another bonus point will go to the driver who leads the most laps.


The Rowdy Energy Super Select Series Champion will receive a one-of-a-kind prize for their efforts.  Along with a points fund sponsored by Rowdy Energy and PFC Brakes, the Rowdy Energy Super Select Series champion will receive an invitation to the Speed51 Super Late Model All-Star Race.


A Trip Back in Time for Finale


When the Rowdy Energy Super Select Series schedule was initially set, the final race of the campaign was slated to take place at the virtual South Boston Speedway (VA). However, that schedule was altered due to competitor demand and fan interest after iRacing released its version of North Wilkesboro Speedway ahead of schedule.


North Wilkesboro Speedway was originally expected to be released in June, just after the conclusion of the Rowdy Energy Super Select Series.  With the track now available, the series made adjustments to include the historic facility as the host venue for the season finale.


With the schedule change, competitors and viewers will get a trip back in time to 1987, when the 0.625-mile track tucked into the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains hosted two NASCAR Cup Series events annually.


A Lucky Seventh Rowdy Series Winner?


In the first nine Rowdy Energy Super Select Series events, there have been six different winners. Several other drivers have enjoyed strong runs throughout the season and will be looking to break through with a win before the curtain drops on the season.


Ryan Doucette tops that list with his performance throughout the season.  Doucette is fifth in series points and has top-10 finishes in the last five events with three top-five finishes in that stretch.  Can the real-life Legends and Modified racer break through at North Wilkesboro?


However, some other names merit consideration as possible first-time winners.  Treyten Lapcevich is coming off a podium finish at The Milwaukee Mile, and Riley Stenjem has shown speed throughout the season before a rough pair of races at Milwaukee and World Wide Technology Raceway.


John Peters, Corey Deuser and 2019 Snowball Derby winner Travis Braden sit 10th through 12th in season points and are locked in a tight battle for the 10th and final paying position in the season-long points fund.  A win for any of those drivers could be enough to secure the spot.


Tune in to the final round of the Rowdy Energy Super Select Series powered by Speed51 at 7:30 p.m. ET Tuesday by clicking here.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

Setting the Stage for Tonight’s Rowdy Series Finale