Sunshine State driver Tim Moore drove off to the victory in the Florida IMCA-Style Modified 35-lap feature, kicking off the 2015 edition of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) on Friday night.


Pole starter, Virginian Hunter Slayton, was shuffled back at the green flag and Moore immediately jumped to the front along with fellow Floridian Doug Moff.  Things heated up quickly when perennial contender Jerry Symons and four-time champion Tank Tucker tangled.  Tucker’s night would come to an end, which will leave him well behind the eight ball for the remaining six nights of racing for the open wheel division.


Meanwhile, Moore would cruise to an easy win in a race that would go green the rest of the way.  The performance came as a surprise to the Pinellas Park, Florida resident.


“I didn’t think I had that good of a piece when I got here, but we haven’t stopped working on it and man it truly showed,” Moore said on the FansChoice.TV powered by broadcast.  “It’s unbelievable.  I’m lost for words right now.”


It was definitely a statement to be made in front of his competition including runner up Kevyn Terry and final podium finisher Michigan’s Travis Eddy, son of ASA racing legend Mike Eddy.


“If that thing stays like that all week they’ve got their hands full,” Moore concluded as he searches for his first New Smyrna World Series championship.


The Pro Late Model 35-lap race would feature some intense dueling for the lead, but it would be the initial second-place finisher that would be named the victor when the night was over.


Defending division champion Spencer Davis closed the gap on New Smyrna rookie Derek Scott Jr. from Texas and would later clear him after leaning off one another on a restart.  The Dawsonville, Georgia driver’s car would be found to be 25 pounds too light according to tech director Ricky Brooks thus disqualifying the effort.


Matt Wallace, son of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Mike Wallace, and Indiana driver Dalton Armstrong inherited second and third-place in the official finishing order.


The hardest hit of the evening came when the lapped car of Erica Thiering got sideways and collected frontrunners Stephen Nasse, driving for Kurt Jett, and Michael Lira on the frontstretch.  All drivers were okay, but their cars suffered severe damage as a result of the incident.


In the Pro Truck 25-lap event, which concluded the night, Becca Monopoli started at the front, but Michael Burns would advance around the outside of her to take the lead and the win.  The caution free race turned out to be the cleanest of the night as the competitors would save their stuff in preparation for the following night’s Joey Coulter Pro Truck Series 50-lap headliner.


Full results from all three features can be found by clicking here.


-By Aaron Creed, Correspondent – Twitter: @Aaron_Creed

-Photo Credit:

Scott Awarded PLM Win Following DQ, Moore Wins FL Mods