BAKERSFIELD, CALIFORNIA  – Brian Richardson scored his tenth win of the 2014 NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model season, while Ryan Partridge used a runner-up finish to solidify the state title during Saturday’s Budweiser Night at Kern County Raceway Park.  The Bakersfield, CA speedway had seven main events of action across three different tracks on the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series venue.

Five of the seven main events were won by division points leaders as the championship battles for 2014 come to a close.

Richardson’s victory in the second of the Twin 35s all but assures him the track championship going into the final round on October 4th.  The championship would add to Richardson’s 2003 Mesa Marin Speedway Late Model title.  Partridge, who visited from Burbank, unofficially claimed the 2014 NASCAR Whelen California State title as well.

“What a night!  We came out here today and missed one of my daughter’s volleyball games to be here,” Richardson said.  “That first race our car was really really loose and I was not happy with the car.  These guys came back and made big adjustments.  Hats off to how hard these guys worked to make it go fast!”

Outside pole sitter Toni McCray, who made her first career KCRP start with an outside chance at the state title herself, led the first three laps of the night cap 35 lap race.  Lance Wilson started third and took over the top spot on lap four.

The exclamation point of the race came on lap five when McCray and Partridge tangled for second, sending McCray hard into the turn two wall.  McCray’s state title hopes were dashed and Partridge was sent to the rear of the field for his involvement.

A wild restart saw Wilson shut the door hard on Richardson and maintain the lead.  Richardson would not be deterred and was able to muscle his way to the inside to take the lead on lap 11.

Richardson never looked back for a 1.6 second win with Partridge working through the field to come home second.  Wilson, Racin Vernon, and John Piker rounded out the top-five.

Richardson was satisfied to win against the top-two cars in the state as well.

“This is our track (and) this is our place,” Richardson said.  “So when they show up here you want to beat them!  To come back here and put it on them like that was a great feeling!”

The first of the twin 35s saw second in points Lance Wilson score his fourth 2014 victory.  Wilson took over the lead from Josh Horn on lap six and maintained the lead throughout the caution-free affair.  McCray ran second ahead of Vernon, who fended off Brian Richardson for third.

Also racing on the half-mile were the Super Stocks with a 25 lap race that had last lap drama.  Points leader Perrin Koostra chased Bobby Aldridge for much of the event before finally making his move in turn one on the white flag lap.  The pair collided twice, with the second hit sending Aldridge on a 360 degree spin.

Koostra crossed the stripe first but was penalized to end of the lead lap for rough driving, giving Tehachapi’s Gene Fife his third consecutive win in the division.  Dylan Baker earned a career best second while Michael Nicks was a career best third as well.

“Shorty” Brandon Weaver won his fifth consecutive INEX Legends race, and sixth overall, to extend his points lead.  His pass around Eddie Garone on lap 19 proved to be the decisive move as he cruised to the $500 victory in the 30 lap contest.  Eric Olson used a backup car to charge from last on the grid to third.

Points leader Randy Smith stayed ahead of a wild pack of racing behind him, leading all 30 laps for his fourth NASCAR Mini Stock win on the quarter-mile oval.  Terry Pettit scored his second straight fast time in qualifying and parlayed that to a second place finish ahead of Sam Peasha who had his career best run in third.

Both the Jr. and Sr. Mini Dwarf races were hotly contested, highlighted by the Sr. Mini Dwarf 25 lapper won by Anthony Balcazar.  Balcazar and Jeremy Clark traded the lead in lapped traffic four official times at the stripe, but nearly 10 times total, in one of the most exciting races of the year.  Balcazar earned the victory ahead of Clark and Cheyenne Flippo.

Taft’s Bailey Thompson led Kercie Jung in a nose-to-tail battle for the Jr. Mini Dwarf main for much of the race but was able to keep her at bay for the win.  Kabe McClenny entered the event with two straight wins but finished third.

Kern County Raceway Park is dark for racing this Saturday night but will host Stars Under the Stars with Godzilla playing on the big screen in the infield.  Ticket information for this drive-in movie experience available at

Major marketing partners at Kern County Raceway Park include Budweiser, CITGO Lubricants, Monster Energy, Advance Beverage Company, Coca Cola, DC’s RV Center, Three-Way Chevrolet, and Whelen Engineering.

Kern County Raceway Park is online at  More information is available on Facebook at and on Twitter at

For marketing information on Kern County Raceway Park, contact Steven Blakesley by email at [email protected] or by phone at (661) 835-1264, ext 3203.

September 20, 2014 Budweiser Night
Kern County Raceway ParkBakersfield, CA
NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model – Twin 35 #1
1) 15 Lance Wilson, 2) 90 Toni McCray, 3) 51 Racin Vernon, 4) 4 Brian Richardson, 5) 22 Buddy Shepherd, 6) 48 Ryan Partridge, 7) 13 Josh Horn, 8) 40 Cole Adamo, 9) 1 Paul Ebersbacher, 10) 28p John Piker 11:28.056

NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model – Twin 35 #2
1) 4 Brian Richardson, 2) 48 Ryan Partridge, 3) 15 Lance Wilson, 4) 51 Racin Vernon, 5) 28p John Piker, 6) 40 Cole Adamo, 7) 1 Paul Ebersbacher, 8) 22 Buddy Shepherd, 9) 13 Josh Horn, 10) 90 Toni McCray 18:31.683

Super Stock – 25 laps
1) 7 Gene Fife, 2) 14 Dylan Baker, 3) 77 Michael nicks, 4) 26 Bobby Aldridge, 5) 1 Perrin Koostra, 6) 18 Craig Rayburn, 7) 12 Bailey Thompson, 8) 94 Greg Puskarich 17:32.916

NASCAR Mini Stock – 30 laps
1) 41 Randy Smith, 2) 15 Terry Pettit, 3) 5 Sam Peasha, 4) 51 Eric Brust, 5) 22 Stacy Evans, 6) 18 Greg Bardonnex, 7) 46 Eric Aldridge, 8) 14 Josh Robertson 12:14.585

INEX Legend – 30 laps
1) 15 Brandon Weaver, 2) 31 Eddie Garone, 3) 1 Eric Olson, 4) 5 Garrett Fine, 5) 25 Lawless Alan, 6) 19 Chad Actis, 7) 18 Justin Eddleman, 8) 24p Colton Page, 9) 80 Sonny Sparks 10:39.680

Sr. Mini Dwarf – 25 laps
1) 17 Anthony Balcazar, 2) 8 Jeremy Clark, 3) 00 Cheyenne Flippo, 4) 12 Seth Wise, 5) 08 Makena McCaslin, 6) 41 Braelyn Whittington, 7) 01 Cayden McCaslin 4:55.740

Jr. Mini Dwarf – 25 laps
1) 19 Bailey Thompson, 2) 17 Kercie Jung, 3) 13 Kabe McClenny, 4) 07 Kale McClenny, 5) Riley Massey 4:57.279

Track PR – Photo provided by the track

Ryan Partridge Captures Late Model Title at Kern County