Five of six nominees for Racing Promotion Monthly’s Auto Racing Promoter of the Year are repeat nominees. The nominees’ experience ranges from half decade to over 30 years and among them are promoters of three paved ovals and three dirt ovals. Three are affiliated with NASCAR for weekly racing, one with WISSOTA, one with USRA, and one is independent.


The nominees are: Region One, Eastern Region: Bruce & Teresa Rogers and the Rogers Family, Grandview (PA) Speedway:; Region Two, Southeastern Region; Tim Bryant, Five Flags (FL) Speedway; Region Three, Central Region; Gary & Donna Howe, Kalamazoo (MI) Speedway; Region Four, Northern Region: Wayne Anderson, Don & Linus Mack, Darren Evavold, River Cities (ND) Speedway; Region Five, Great Plains Region; Dan Robinson, Lucas Oil (MO) Speedway; Region Six, Southwest and Western Region; Doug and Traci Hobbs, Evergreen (WA) Speedway. The Rogers family’s nomination is their fifth. Bryant’s is his first nomination.


Roger Hadan, Eagle (NE) Raceway, received the award last year. Previous winners are: Hugh Deery, 1976/1984; J.C. Agajanian, 1977; D. Anthony Venditti, 1978; Jack Gunn, 1979; George Eisenhart, 1980; Dick O’Brien, 1981; Howard Tiedt, 1982; Don Martin, 1983; Glenn Donnelly, 1985; Cary Agajanian, 1986; Bud Lunsford, 1987; Bob Daniels, 1988; Howard Commander, 1989; Ray Wilkings, 1990; Paul Kuhl, 1991; Robert Lawton; 1992; Earl Baltes, 1993; Jody Deery, 1994; Andy Vertrees, 1995; Charles Powell, 1996; C-Ray Hall, 1997; Larry Kemp, 1998; Charles Cathell, 1999; Charles Deery, 2000; Ralph Capitani, 2001; Lanny Edwards, 2002; Bob & Nadine Strauss, 2003; Tom Curley, 2004, Steve York, 2005; John Padjen, 2006; Lynn Phillips, 2007; Joe & Walt Doellefeld, 2008; the Nuckles family, 2009; the Queensland family, Deer Creek (MN) Speedway, 2010; and Robert Sargent, Track Enterprises, Macon (IL), Paducah (KY) Speedways, 2011; Ron Drager and Scott Schultz, Flat Rock (MI) and Toledo (OH) Speedways, 2012.


The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers. The award is for the 25th year of sponsorship by Charlotte Motor Speedway.


The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year ballot will soon reach promoters in the latest issue of Racing Promotion Monthly. The Thirty-Ninth Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be revealed during the 42nd Annual [email protected] National Workshop at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Daytona Beach, FL, February 16 & 17, 2015.


-Racing Promotion Monthly Press Release

RPM Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Nominees Announced