Port Colborne, Ontario – The Race of Champions Sportsman 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified Series fueled by Sunoco took to the Humberstone Speedway in Port Colborne, Ontario with the running of the Brian’s Tire Repair presents the Canada Day $1,000-to-Win Showdown and when the dust settled, Brad Rouse of St. Catharines, Ontario stood in victory lane.


Rouse, who started from the pole, had to work his way back to the lead on two occasions before taking the checkered flag. Justin Sharp of St. Catharines, Ontario, worked his way into the lead and later Chad Chevalier of Port Colborne, Ontario.


Rouse held off Chevalier at the checkered flag and Sharp finished third. Cody McPherson of St. Catharines, Ontario, who won the first-ever Race of Champions 602 event at Humberstone last May, finished fourth. Jay Mallory of St. Catharines, Ontario rounded out the top-five.


Chevalier posted the fastest overall time in the timed hot lap sessions.


Chevalier, Tyler Puchakski of Port Colborne, Ontario, Matt Farnham of Tonawanda, N.Y., and Rouse earned the qualifying racing victories. Ray Bliss, Jr., of Warsaw, N.Y., won the B-Main.


The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey. The 67th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2017 at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pennsylvania and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.


For more information, contact;

Race of Champions Media at [email protected]

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website: www.rocmodifiedseries.com


Feature Finish

Brian’s Tire Repair Presents the Canada Day $1,000-to-Win Showdown

Humberstone Speedway, Port Colborne, Ontario – Canada

Finishing Position, Driver

1.)      Brad Rouse

2.)      Chad Chevalier

3.)      Justin Sharp

4.)      Cody McPherson

5.)      Jay Mallory

6.)      Adam Leslie

7.)      Luke Carleton

8.)      Dylan Davidson

9.)      Jeff Armstrong

10.)   Jordan Cosco

11.)   Dave Flannigan Jr.

12.)   Chris Storm,

13.)   Tyler Puchalski

14.)   Matt Farnham

15.)   James Michael Friesen

16.)   Gord McIntosh

17.)   Tom Richau Jr.

18.)   Robbie Johnston

19.)   AJ Custodi,

20.)   Chad Brown

21.)   Pat Sonnenberg

22.)   Andy Smith

23.)   Greg Martin

24.)   Ray Bliss Jr.

25.)   Emily Puchalski

26.)   Scott Sonnenberg


Did Not Qualify: Dean Scott, Sean Dominey


-Race of Champions Press Release & Photo

Rouse Defends Home Turf in RoC 602 Opener at Humberstone