Mooresville, NC – The history books show that there’s only been one “youngster” to have won a Pro Cup Series race at the ultra-abrasive Myrtle Beach (SC) Speedway since the series’ first race there back in 1998. That came in 2007 when, now NASCAR Sprint Cup Series star Trevor Bayne, took home the trophy at age sixteen. Now there’s a second.

Nineteen year old Tyler Lester did all he could to edge veteran Caleb Holman at the line by .0130 seconds to make it the closest finish at Myrtle Beach Speedway in series history. Lester then celebrated his first career win with several hundred fans that chose to join him in Edelbrock Victory Lane as the series showed their appreciation for the very impressive crowd that stuck it out through multiple rain delays throughout the evening.

Watch Video on Pro Cup Facebook Page

“I thought we had him and then my spotter said outside on the white flag, so then I did whatever I had to do to win the race. I only get to race a few times a year so I have to make the most of it when I do. This is big as it gets for me; a big thanks to all my guys, Econo Studios, BWP Bats, car owner Benny Gordon, and of course my mom and dad,” explained an excited Tyler Lester before taking a phone call from car owner Benny Gordon in Victory Lane.

Though dejected after the race thinking he had won, Holman did all he could in the closing laps making up a five car length gap between he and Lester when the pair caught Reid Wilson and Brady Boswell battling hard for fourth place position and points. The group saw three wide chaos ensue with Lester sticking his nose through and squeezing Holman’s #75 ride toward Boswell machine. Despite that Holman was still able to get inside of Lester by a nose down the backstretch. In an amazing move of racing talent beyond his years Lester then hit the brakes entering turn three letting the #75 machine sail high before sliding underneath him to complete the crossover move.

The two then drag raced to the finish line side-by-side with smoke and sparks flying almost wrecking one another before it was announced that Lester was the winner sending the diehard fans into a frenzy.

Gus Dean, the only South Carolina driver in the field, rounded out the podium a good distance back giving his sponsors something to be proud about at night’s end. Reid Wilson got back to his early season form finishing fourth, followed by Brady Boswell fifth to complete the youth movement up front.

Next up for the X-1R Pro Cup Series is the Precision Printed Products 250 presented by Caldwell Community College and 92.1 The Big Dawg at Tri-County Motor Speedway in Hudson, North Carolina on Friday July 11th.  For more information on this event and the entire X-1R Pro Cup Series visit or contact the series directly at 704-662-9212.

CARS X-1R Pro Cup Series

Dean Custom Air 250 presented by Carrier & Sports Radio 100.3

Myrtle Beach Speedway-Myrtle Beach, SC

Unofficial Results

  1. #25 Tyler Lester
  2. #75 Caleb Holman
  3. #56 Gus Dean
  4. #66 Reid Wilson
  5. #2 Brady Boswell
  6. #23 JP Morgan
  7. #88 Doug Barnes Jr.
  8. #15 Bill Plemmons Jr.
  9. #54 Matt Craig
  10. #05 Codie Rohrbaugh
  11. #29 Brian Keselowski
  12. #6 Jeff Oakley
  13. #22 Spencer Boyd

Rookie Lester Wins First Pro Cup Race by .0130 Seconds at Myrtle Beach