ROSEVILLE, CALIFORNIA — 2009 All American Speedway Late Model champion Jason Romero debuted a new car for Saturday’s Pacific Challenge Series 100 at the one-third mile oval and promptly won the feature, in a crowd pleasing duel with 2014 PCS champion Mike Beeler. Saturday’s nights races presented by served as round two for the touring Super Late Model championship series.


Mike Beeler won the $500 Dash for Cash after some nice outside moves against Loomis’ Chris Scribner, with the dash finish setting the lineup for the main event. The battling between the two continued on a red-hot race track with five drivers breaking the track record in qualifying.


Eric Schmidt of Roseville, CA, both a PCS and All American Speedway champion, was the fastest of them all to set a new track record. He used the outside to get around Romero at the start to take third.


The top nine cars ran nose to tail until encountering lapped traffic, when Schmidt bounced off the lapped car of Dave Skaggs and into the infield. Schmidt collected 2015 Rookie of the Year Cole Moore. Schmidt was able to restart from the rear of the field while Moore lost nearly 20 laps making repairs.


Beeler won a cat and mouse restart with Scribner while Jeremy Doss battled hard with Romero for the third position. Doss hung in tight with Romero despite a persistent right front tire rub throughout the battle.


Jason Mitchell and Jimmy Stillman tangled with both black and red 39 cars making contact in turn four to bring out the next caution. Romero stumbled on the restart and fell back to the eighth position with Matthew Wendt in his series’ points race debut also falling backwards from the top-five. Doss got around Scribner but Scribner was able to take the position back on lap 44 to maintain second.


2015 PCS champion John Moore remained in the top-five throughout the first half of the race until his brake rotors began glowing and he started to slip from the lead pack. Romero spent nearly five laps dueling with Moore before overtaking him for fourth on lap 51 and Jeff Bischofberger followed on lap 52.


Mike Hite spun across the infield grass for a lap 54 caution and Wendt spun for another caution on the ensuing restart. Things again settled down and stayed green allowing Romero to swoop past Doss on the outside for the third position. The intensity picked up as Romero then used an inside maneuver to take second and start to reel in race long leader Mike Beeler.


Wendt retired to the pits on lap 66 and the final caution of the night fell on lap 71 when Don Swartz and Hite got together in turn four with Hite spinning to a stop.


That caution set up a duel for the ages between Mike Beeler and Jason Romero with Romero hounding Beeler throughout lapped traffic for the extended green flag run. With ten laps to go, Romero truly had Beeler in his grasp and five laps later Romero completed the pass for the lead to the roar of the approval for the track champion.


Romero cruised home for the victory while Beeler had to settle for second with Bischofberger and Scribner both managing to get past Doss before the finish. Canadian Darrell Midgley came from 13th on the grid to finish sixth for the Penney Racing Supply Hard Charger ahead of John Moore, Tracy Bolin, Ryan Peeples of Anderson, CA with a strong top-ten, and Hayward’s Danny Malfatti with his second straight PCS top-ten.


JD Motorsports teammates Jeff Bischofberger and Jeremy Doss lead the series points with the next round taking place May 7th for its first of three appearances at Ukiah Speedway in Ukiah, CA.


Visit’s Speed Central for more.


-Pacific Challenge Series Press Release

-Photo Credit: Pacific Challenge Series


Pacific Challenge Series Round 2: All American Speedway Results


Finish Car Driver Hometown Sponsors
1 8 Jason Romero Cameron Park, CA Folsom Lake Asphalt
2 6 Mike Beeler Modesto, CA Beeler Industries
3 66 Jeff Bischofberger Tracy, CA Rent to Own
4 5 Chris Scribner Loomis, CA Quick Quack Car Wash/Scribner Plastics
5 75 Jeremy Doss Upperlake, CA I-5 Tire Factory
6 81 Darrell Midgley Sidney, Alberta Northern Provincial Pipelines
7 27 John Moore Granite Bay, CA JM Environmental
8 11j Tracy Bolin Valley Springs, CA Bolin Builders
9 5p Ryan Peeples Anderson, CA Interstate Batteries
10 55 Danny Malfatti Hayward, CA Malfatti Motorsports
11 70 Mike Hite Elk Grove, CA Storage for Less
12 33 Don Swartz Grass Valley, CA Swartz Diesel
13 20 Cole Moore Granite Bay, CA JM Racing
14 1 Matthew Wendt Lodi, CA Cali Style Customs
15 39m Jason Mitchell Redding, CA Headrick Trucking
16 18 Travis Milburn Eagle, ID Cooks Collision
17 39 Jimmy Stillman Upperlake, CA Treasure Cove Pizza
18 05 Eric Schmidt Roseville, CA Sierra Speed
19 07 Dave Skaggs Woodland, CA Skaggs Trucking

Romero Takes Pacific Challenge Home Track Win at All American