Rocky Ridge 150 Next for GSPSS

Up next for the Granite State Pro Stock Series is the second running of the Rocky Ridge 150 at the Claremont Motorsports Park in Claremont, New Hampshire. This is the second year for what is quickly becoming the series’ most anticipated event. With the winner’s share of the purse being upped to $5,000, excitement is high for Sunday’s event.

For the second year in a row, Springfield GMC and their Rocky Ridge lineup of trucks have come on board as the title sponsor for this event. Springfield GMC will be offering some fantastic deals on the full line of Rocky Ridge trucks as well as deals on any new or used vehicle in their inventory. Race fans will also have the opportunity to purchase the GSPSS 2019 pace truck at a greatly reduced price.

Last year’s event was settled between Jeremy Davis and eventual winner DJ Shaw in a battle for the ages. The two rivals battled side by side on the tight 1/3-mile oval for most of the second half of the event, showing a great deal of respect for each other the whole time. In victory lane, both competitors talked about how much fun they had and neither could remember racing that hard in a long time.

For 2019, the series has upped the purse, upped the laps and upped the intensity. An additional 50 laps and more prize money spread throughout the finishing order has caught the eye of many competitors from throughout New England and beyond.

Several local competitors have filed entries including Luke Hinkley, who will try to welcome his new son to the racing world with a win. Hinkley was in contention for most of the 2019 event but faded late and hopes to pick up his first win in a Pro Stock at his home track.

Ricky Bly returns to GSPSS competition for this event. The Sunapee, New Hampshire driver has been running his L.M.S. car this summer but hopes to run several GSPSS races this fall. Also entered is Guy Caron who hopes to contend at the track that he grew up racing at as he makes a rare start in his Pro Stock.

Joey Doiron returns to the 1/3-mile speed plant as the point leader and the most recent GSPSS winner at the track. Doiron chose to start at the rear and drove all the way to the win the last time the series raced in Claremont. The driver from the state of Maine made it look fairly easy and picked up an extra $1,000 in the process. He will be challenged by the likes of Davis, Matt Frahm, Hinkley and Ray Christian III who will be breaking out a new car for this event.

Other notables expected include 2018 series champ Devin O’Connell, two-time series champ Mike O’Sullivan, multi-time Claremont Motorsports Park winner Barry Gray and former track regular Josh King. A surprise entry is Joe Squeglia and his No. 03 team. Squeglia is a multi-time series winner and normally only competes at the Lee, Star and Waterford Speedbowl events. The Derry, New Hampshire driver will try to take the win and its $5,000 prize back to Southern New Hampshire with him.

Joining the action on Sunday, September 1 will be five other divisions. There will be two Battle for the Belt races as the Mini Stocks will make their only visit of the season to the New Hampshire speed plant and the Street Stocks will go 73 laps in memory of the late Richard Tetreault. Both races are expected to draw healthy fields of cars and the Street Stocks will see an increased payout due to the efforts of Joe Tetreault and Mike Parks who have come together to make this race a fitting tribute to a great husband, father, grandfather and a true racer. A top prize of at least $1,000 has been announced to go along with numerous bonus payouts and money for the top three heat race finishers.

Also in action will be the Granite State Legends in a national event qualifier which is expected to bring competitors from Connecticut, Maine and all states in between. The always exciting Pro Truck Challenge will be in action and the night will conclude with a wild and crazy redneck enduro.

Racing will kick off at 4:45 p.m. with the Crazy Horse Racing race for the pole followed by heat races and all of the feature action. Adult tickets will be just $20, ages 6-12 will be $10 and under six free.

Pre Entry List (As of 8/28)

1. 43 Devin O’Connell

2. 21 Josh King

3. 1x Todd Stone

4. 00 Jimmy Renfrew Jr.

5. 14 Matt Frahm

6. 08 Mike O’Sullivan

7. 93 Ray Christian III

8. 16 Tommy Rosati

9. 73 Joey Doiron

10. 52 Jake Matheson

11. 46 Dennis Spencer Jr.

12. 29 Barry Gray

13. 8 Angelo Belsito

14. 12 Bobby Pelland

15. 40 Mike Mitchell

16. 09 Jeremy Davis

17. 7 Cory Casagrande

18. 03 Joe Squeglia

19. 8 Guy Caron

20. 28 Ricky Bly

21. 31 Luke Hinkley

22. 16 Austin Blais

For more information visit or check them out on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

-Granite State Pro Stock Series Press Release
-Photo Credit: GSPSS

Rocky Ridge 150 Next for GSPSS