WATERFORD – Five-time SK Modified division champion Keith Rocco returned to victory lane in the division as part of a packed racing card Saturday at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl.
Also, Glen Thomas Jr. won the 50-lap North East Mini Stock Tour feature.
Other winners on the night include Bruce Thomas Jr. in the 30-lap Late Model feature, Tony Membrino Jr. in the 25-lap SK Light Modified feature, Al Stone III in the 25-lap Limited Sportsman feature, Seth Carlson in the 25-lap Northeastern Midget Association feature and Robin Berghman in the 25-lap New England Pro Four Modified feature.

Rocco, of Wallingford, picked up his second victory of the season in the 35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified feature. Rocco’s first victory came in the season opener on May 8.
Tyler Chadwick of Ledyard was second and Todd Owen of Somers third.
Tim Jordan led the field to green with Justin Gaydosh to his outside.
With 31 laps left Owen moved under Jordan off of turn four to take over the lead, with Rocco moving into second place.

On a restart with 25 laps remaining Rocco was able to get the jump on Owen on the outside and then cleared him to take over the lead through turn three.
On a restart with eight laps remaining Chadwick moved to second past Owen and two laps later got to Rocco’s bumper.

But Rocco was up to the challenge of defending the lead over the final five laps.
Thomas, of Groton, got his second career North East Mini Stock Tour victory and first at the Speedbowl.

Thomas passed Matt Sonhalter with five laps remaining in the event and pulled away to victory.
Sonhalter, of East Thetford, Vt., held on for second and Emerson Cayer of Contoocook, N.H. was third.
Bruce Thomas, of Groton, won for the second consecutive week in the 30-lap Late Model feature.
Jason Palmer of Berlin was second and Anthony Flannery of East Hampton third.
Flannery took the field to the green with Ray Christian III to his outside.
With 21 laps left Christian went by Flannery, who had a bad tire, allowing Bruce Thomas to move to second place.

Christian held the lead through a restart with 16 laps left with Palmer moving to second past Thomas. A lap later Palmer made a move under Christian to battle for the top spot.
A side-by-side battle at the front ensued before Christian cleared Palmer for the lead with 10 laps left. A caution flew on the next lap and then with eight laps remaining Palmer took the lead from Christian, but a lap later it was Christian moving back to the front. Palmer regained the lead with five laps left. With four laps left Christian slid up the track allowing Bruce Thomas to move to second.

The caution flew with two laps left setting up a green-white-checkered finish.
Palmer held the lead through the penultimate lap, but on the final lap Bruce Thomas got under him in turn three. The two made contact with Bruce Thomas winning the race to the checkered.
Memrbino, of Berlin, stayed perfect in the SK Light Modified division in 2016 at the Speedbowl with his third win in three events.

Corey Barry of Plainfield was second and Andrew Molleur of Shelton third.
Cal Therrien led the field early with Molleur chasing him in second.
With 23 laps left Chris Correll moved to second behind Therrien. Five laps later Correll used the high lane to go by Therrien for the lead.

On a restart with 13 laps left Membrino got by Chris Gombos to take over second place.
With eight laps remaining Membrino took the lead off of turn four from Correll. Two laps later Barry got by Correll to take over second place. A caution bunched the field with four laps remaining. Barry stayed to the outside of Membrino on the ensuing restart. Contact between the two though with three laps remaining saw Barry slide up in turn three and Membrino was able to drive to victory.
Stone III, the reigning division champion, picked up his second win of the season in the Limited Sportsman feature.

Chris Meyer of Norwich was second and Allen Coates of Ledyard third.
Jack Aqualina started on the pole and led the early stages, with Stone moving to second with 20 laps remaining. Stone erased Aqualina’s big lead swiftly and with 16 laps remaining Stone moved the lead with a pass off of turn four.

Coates moved to second on a restart with 15 laps remaining, but Stone quickly checked out from the field. It left Coates and Meyer battling for second over the closing stages.
Carlson, of Brimfield, Mass. took the lead on the opening lap and never trailed again on the way to victory in the 25-lap NEMA Midget feature.
Carlson went around pole-sitter Paul Scally on the first lap and then was able to check out from all pursuers.
Todd Bertrand moved to second on the opening lap but never got within striking range of Carlson.
Bertrand, of Danielson, finished second and Scally, of Raynham, Mass., was third.


Waterford Agate 6-4-16

35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified: 1. Keith Rocco, Wallingford; 2. Tyler Chadwick, Ledyard; 3. Todd Owen, Somers; 4. Dennis Perry, Pawcatuck; 5. Dylan Izzo, Monroe; 6. Paul Kusheba IV, Monroe; 7. Joey Gada, Salem; 8. Ryan Morgan, Mystic; 9. Rob Janovic Jr., Waterford; 10. Diego Monahan, Quaker Hill.

30-lap Late Model: 1. Bruce Thomas Jr., Groton; 2. Jason Palmer, Berlin; 3. Anthony Flannery, East Hampton; 4. Keith Rocco, Wallingford; 5. Ray Christian III, Uncasville; 6. Chris Garside, Waterford; 7. Jeff Smith, Old Lyme; 8. Matthew Carlson, Griswold; 9. Richard Morrocco, Plainvile; 10. Mikey Flynn, Hampden, Mass.

25-lap Limited Sportsman: 1. Al Stone III, Durham; 2. Chris Meyer, Norwich; 3. Allen Coates, Ledyard; 4. Jack Aqualina, Oakdale; 5. Josh Galvin, Oakdale; 6. Chris Douton, Waterford; 7. Jason Chicolas, Sutton, Mass.; 8. Charles Beal, Ledyard; 9. Brandon Fisher, Plainfield; 10. Jon Porter, East Lyme.

25-lap SK Light Modified: 1. Tony Membrino, Berlin; 2. Corey Barry, Plainfield; 3. Andrew Molleur, Shelton; 4. Cory DiMatteo, Farmington; 5. Chris Gombos, Naugatuck; 6. Brett Gonway, Vernon; 7. Cal Therrien, Vernon; 8. Rick Williams, East Hampton; 9. John O’Sullivan III, Salem; 10. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott.

50-lap North East Mini Stock Tour: 1. Glen Thomas Jr., Groton; 2. Matt Sonhalter, East Thetford, Vt.; 3. Emerson Cayer, Contoocook, N.H.; 4. Haywood Herriott, Gorham, N.H.; 5. Pete Zaikarite, Niantic; 6. Cody Leblanc, Gorham, N.H.; 7. Desmond Skillings, Antrim, N.H.; 8. Louis Maher, North Brookfield, Mass.; 9. Nick Anderson, Oxford, Mass.; 10. Dana Shepard, Putney, Vt.

25-lap NEMA Midgets: 1. Seth Carlson, Brimfield, Mass.; 2. Todd Bertrand, Danielson; 3. Paul Scally, Raynham, Mass.; 4. Jim Chambers, Atkinson, N.H.; 5. John Zych, Mendon, Mass.; 6. Randy Cabral, Plymouth, Mass.; 7. Avery Stoehr, Lakeville, Mass.; 8. Bethany Stoehr, Bridgewater, Mass.; 9. Dan Cugini, Marshfield, Mass.; 10. Paul Bigelow, Kensington


Olivia Bouchard
New London-Waterford Speedbowl
P: 860.442.7223
F: 860.437.1939
W: www.speedbowlct.com

Photo Courtesy: New London-Waterford Speedbowl Facebook Page

Rocco Returns to Victory Lane at The Speedbowl