(Columbus, OH)… When Cody Robinson suffered a mechanical failure Saturday afternoon he thought his evening was over. A malfunctioning fuel pump was the culprit but, ironically, the suspect part was in the teams tow vehicle, not his NASCAR Whelen All American Series late model.  Stranded less than a mile from Columbus Motor Speedway, the quick thinking racer whipped out his smart phone and took to social media. Messaging a track official on Facebook, Robinson summoned assistance in the form of a track employee who hooked up to the team trailer and pulled it the rest of the way. From there, Robinson scored his first feature victory at the historic oval in what he described as a “very long day.”
Ryan Fleming got the jump on fellow front row starter Bob Grubaugh from the drop of the green flag and showed the way through the first two tours of the third mile paved oval. Robinson powered around the outside of Grubaugh as lap four went up on the NASCAR scoreboard and set out after the race leader. Grubaugh found himself in a spin cycle shortly thereafter and was relegated to the tale for the restart which found Robinson quickly disposing of Fleming once back underway. From there he never looked back holding of Donnie Hill at the checkered. Kyle Jones came from tenth to finish third followed Chad Pendleton and Kyle Purvis.

Shane Shirk was back in victory Lane following a convincing victory in the Columbus modified 30 lap affair. Shirk started sixth in the finale and swept past Kyle Purvis near the race’s midpoint of to claim victory. Purvis was second at the stripe followed by Terry Humphrey, Shawn Gray and Kevin Doran.

George Lindsay continued his sport stock dominance for the 2015 campaign starting 10th and the 25 lap affair Lindsay captured his fourth victory in the first five events of the year. Ralph Vinson found himself runner-up once again ahead of Steve Karnes, James Harding and Bruce Holmes.

Michael Robison came from 11th starting spot and narrowly outran Cory Kyer and Devin Stansbury in an exciting 20 lap crazy compact feature. The top three cars battled side-by-side off turn four and finished under a blanket as the checkered waved. Ryan Smith and Robb Gibson completed the top five positions.

Brandon DeBrakeleer made it two wins in as many starts this season at the speedway annexing a rough and tumble 25 lap legend car feature ahead of Josh Dietz, Cody Anderson, Zach Miller and Adam Sturgil.

Late Model
Fast Time:  Kyle Jones, 14.189
Dash: 1) Kyle Purvis 2) Chad Pendleton 3) Donnie Hill 3) Kyle Jones
Heat:  1) Burgess White 2) Bill Cantley 3) Josh Cahill 4) Bob Grubaugh 5) Jim Hursey
Heat:  1) Cody Robinson 2) Ryan Fleming 3) Daryl McKay 4) Bill Browning 5) Howard Muncy
Feature:  1) Cody Robinson 2) Donnie Hill 3) Kyle Jones 4) Chad Pendleton 5) Kyle Purvis
            6) Ryan Fleming 7) Bill Browning 8) Daryl McKay 9) Howard Muncy
10) Erika Newcome 11) Burgess White 12) Bill Cantley 13) Josh Cahill 14) Jim Hursey 15) Bob Grubaugh
Columbus Modifieds
Fast Time: Shawn Gray, 14.450
Dash: 1) Shane Shirk 2) Buddy Townsend 3) Terry Humphrey 4) Shawn Gray
Heat:  1) Brent Smith 2) Josh Kempf 3) Eddie Vallette 4) Marc Life 5) Jeremy Menninger
Heat: 1) Gary Zink 2) Kevin Doran 3) Kyle Purvis 4) Ethan Mullet 5) Brian Whetnall
Feature:  1) Shane Shirk 2) Kyle Purvis 3) Terry Humphrey 4) Shawn Gray 5) Kevin Doran
6) Buddy Townsend 7) Greg Blackburn 8) Josh Kempf 9) Eddie Vallette 10) Ethan Mullet 11) Marc Life             12) Brent Smith 13) Brian Whetnall 14) Josh Artis 15) John Hansel
16) Gary Zink 17) Jeremy Menninger
Sport Stock
Fast Time: George Lindsay, 15.880
Dash:  1) Chris Meier 2) George Lindsay 3) Kenny Simpson 4) Jeremiah English
Heat: 1) James Harding 2) Ralph Vinson 3) Bruce Holmes 4) Phil Gussler Jr 5) Robert Jewell
Feature:  1) George Lindsay 2) Ralph Vinson 3) Steve Karnes 4) James Harding
5) Bruce Holmes 6) Chris Meier 7) Phil Gussler Jr 8) Kenny Simpson 9) Robert Jewell 10) Bruce Snider 11) Jason Parsons 12) Jeremiah English 13) Steve Hursey 14) William Gregory
Crazy Compact
Fast Time:  Danielle Brown, 17.168
Feature:  1) Michael Robison 2) Corey Kyer 3) Devin Stansbury 4) Ryan Smith 5) Robb Gibson
            6) Chris Carter Dusty 7) Harding 8) Herman Dague 9) Ryan Tamburro 10) Frank Hreha
            11) Shawn Vansickle 12) Andrew Parks 13) Gwen Walsh 14) Duane Davidson
15) Bill Ramey 16) Danielle Brown
Legend Cars
Fast Time: Gerad Miller, 16.023
Heat:  1) Cody Anderson 2) Jason Karl 3) Mike Sharp 4) Allison Schoch 5) Ron Schoch
Heat: 1) Josh Deitz 2) Tyler McCordle 3) Gerad Miller 4) Brandon DeBakeleer 5) Gregory Rudzik
Feature: 1) Brandon DeBrakeleer 2) Josh Deitz 3) Cody Robinson 4) Zach Miller
5) Adam Sturgil 6) Allison Schooch 7) Jason Karl 8) Mike Sharp 9) Eddie Mehl
10) Gregory Rudzik 11) Gerad Miller 12) Tyler McCordle 13) Madalynn Minnar
14) Ron Schooch 15) Bob Eaton
-Jeff Nuckles Press Release.  Photo Credit: John Rees

Robinson Overcomes Adversity To Take Columbus Win