Oxford, Maine — Scott Robbins of Dixfield prevailed in a hotly-contested, wildly-entertaining 50-lap Super Late Model main event Saturday night, headlining the Budweiser Championship Series weekly racing card Saturday night at Oxford Plains Speedway.


It wasn’t the only victory lane appearance for the Robbins clan, third-generation Oxford racers, as 2015 OPS Mods champ Ryan Robbins was triumphant in a 40-lap main event for PASS Mods earlier in the program.


Twin 50-lap main events for the visiting Valenti Modified Racing Series were atop the marquee, with race wins going to Anthony Nocella of Marlborough, Massachusetts and Jon McKennedy of Chelmsford, Massachusetts.


McKennedy was clearly the star of the night, posting first and second-place finishes when none of his rivals could crack the top-five twice. McKennedy, David Schneider, Richard Savary and Woody Pitkat chased Nocella under the checkered flag in the first race. It was McKennedy in front of George Sherman, Chris Pasteryak, Russ Hersey and Colbey Fournier in the second 50-lapper.


Scott Robbins said that his 50-lap Super Late Model score was probably “the most fun I’ve ever had in a race car,” and he earned every spot in an exceptional give-and-take affair that saw positions swapped nearly every lap among the frontrunners. He’s the eighth different winner in eight Budweiser Championship Series races this season.


Shawn Martin of Turner made another of his late-closing runs to earn runner-up honors, with third position claimed by veteran racer Alan Wilson of Hebron, after leading most of the race. Wilson had a healthy lead wiped out by a caution flag late in the event.


Bangor’s Gary Smith was in the mix, up front throughout the race, en route to a fourth-place finish in front of Oxford’s Dennis Spencer, Jr. Scott Moore of Anson and Glen Luce of Turner won heat races for the Super Late Models.


Dixfield’s Ryan Robbins outran multi-time series champion Andy Shaw of Center Conway, New Hampshire to claim victory in the PASS Mods 40-lapper. Early frontrunner Ron Henry of New Gloucester was third. Ben Tinker of New Gloucester and David Vaughn of Naples rounded out the top-five. Tinker and Westbrook’s Matty Sanborn were heat race winners.


Jarrod Soucy of Marlborough, Massachusetts romped to an easy win from the pole starting position in a 50-lap race for the Texas Roadhouse North East Mini Stock Tour. Series point leader Haywood Herriott of Gorham, New Hampshire was the best of the rest, followed by Jake Rheaume, Emerson Cayer and Michael Viens. Herriott and Matt Sonnhalter of East Thetford, Vermont won heat races.


Kyle Hewins claimed his first Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock victory of the season, leading all 30-laps in a non-stop, green-to-checkered flag sprint. Andrew Breton of Sabattus nailed down a season-best runner-up finish, with Zach Emerson of Sabattus posting yet another podium finish. Matt Dufault of Turner and Jonathan Emerson of Sabattus rounded out the top five. Zach Emerson and Bryce Mains of Naples posted heat race victories.


Young Austin Teras of Windham claimed yet another victory in the 25-lap feature race for INEX Legends Cars. Buckfield’s Chris Burgess challenged the leader before claiming runner-up honors for his best finish so far in the class. Kyle Hewins of Leeds was the third-place finisher in his first Legends Cars race. The top five was filled out by Bridgewater, Massachusetts racer Ryan Kuhn, and Tyler Braunschweig of West Newfields. Teras and Kuhn were heat race victors.


The Budweiser Championship Series at Oxford Plains Speedway resumes on Saturday night, June 25 at 7:00 p.m. post time, with the visiting North East Classic Lites joining the Super Late Models, Street Stocks, Bandits and Figure 8 racers on the racing card. Oxford Plains Speedway is located at 877 Main Street (State Route 26) in Oxford, Maine. For more information please visit oxfordplains.com or call (207) 539-8865.


-Oxford Plains Speedway Press Release

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com

Robbins Eighth Winner in Eight SLM Races at Oxford Plains