The ninth annual Robbie Dean Memorial is set for Saturday at Columbus Motor Speedway. Honoring the 11 time track champion, the 94 lap late model feature will see a stellar field of cars and drivers take on the third-mile paved oval. Dean, passed away following an extended battle with cancer in July 2008 and Donnie and Kelly Renner have honored the racing legend ever since. Originally held at Kil-Kare Speedway for the first five years, the event was expanded to include Columbus Motor Speedway and Shady Bowl Speedway in 2013. With the closure of Kil-Kare for the 2015 season and a change of management elsewhere, this years single memorial event will take place at the legend’s home track, Columbus.


Winner of the previous two year’s event, Kyle Jones will be in action as will teammate Kyle Purvis. Both will no doubt have to contend with the likes of David Carter, Donnie Hill, Logan Runyon and Bill Browning for this years prestigious event.


Previous event winners at CMS include John Vallo, 2008; Don Mahaffey, 2009; Sloan Henderson, 2010; Brandon Oakley 2011; Dick Dunlevy, 2012; Brandon Oakley, 2013; and Kyle Jones, 2014 & 2015.


Extended feature racing action and bonus purse structures have been announced for the Columbus modified division along with sport stock and crazy compact classes as well. For more information check out or call the Speedway at 614 491-1047.


-Columbus Motor Speedway Press Release

-Photo Credit: Columbus Motor Speedway

Robbie Dean Memorial Set for Saturday at Columbus