After overcoming unimaginable odds, Tyler Roahrig was back in victory lane once again Wednesday night.  For the second time since recovering from a broken leg, hip, sternum, tailbone and shoulder blade in a practice crash last April, Roahrig took an Outlaw Super Late Model victory.  This time, it was in the Stan Perry Memorial at Angola Motorsport Speedway in Indiana.


“It is an amazing feeling being back inside a car again,” Roahrig told powered by JEGS in victory lane.  “When something like that happens, it makes you appreciate the simple things in life a little more, like having the privilege to race and even walking.”


Roahrig qualified fourth, but started eighth after fast fast qualifier Jack Landis rolled an 11 for the inversion for the 21-car field.  Fifteen-year-old Hunter Jack started in the pole position with veteran driver Scott Hantz on his outside.


Jack held the early lead before Scott Hantz took over and brought third-place driver and the winner of the past two Stan Perry Memorial races, Harold Fair, Jr., with him.


Fair and Hantz both exchanged the lead off and on until Roahrig became present in the third spot.  Roahrig made it three wide with the leaders and came out of the battle in second, then took over the lead with about 30 circuits to go in the 110-lap shootout.


With 12 laps remaining, Fair and Hantz made contact and collected a lapped car, sending them all spinning into the infield.  Both Fair and Hantz were sent to the tail and Jeff Ganus took over the second position.  On the ensuing restart, Roahrig had a sizeable lead over Ganus and then took the checkered flag.


“I wasn’t too sure how good I would be here,” added Roahrig.  “I’ve never really ran good here in the past, but during the race this thing was perfect.”


His car is a brand new Senneker Performance machine he brought over the winter that has only seen the track twice.  The Plymouth, Indiana driver brought home a victory in both showings, having won an Outlaw event at New Paris speedway in May.


“I really can’t believe we are here.  I am having a great year and this is awesome, it means so much to be able to win this race for the Perry family.”


Jeff Ganus came home in second.


“I like this place and I was happy to come home with a second place finish and we have a clean racecar,” Ganus said.


Tyler Roahrig adds this prestigious race win to a list of other big named races including back-to-back Summer Sizzlers at New Paris Speedway.   Roahrig has also won the Big Gun Shootout at M40 Speedway, along with a pile of other big money races at tracks including, South Bend Motor Speedway, Spartan Speedway and Kalamazoo Speedway.  The next big race on the bucket list is the Kalamazoo Klash, which will be held at Kalamazoo in August.  Roahrig finished second to Terry Senneker in back to back Klashs before missing last season’s race due to injuries.


– By Mikayla Kugler, Correspondent

– Photo credit:


 Finish – Stan Perry Memorial

1 24 Tyler Roahrig
2 5 Jeff Ganus
3 72 Scott Hantz
4 25 JR Roahrig
5 10 Jack Landis
6 71 Harold Fair Jr
7 41H Hunter Jack
8 41 Brent Jack
9 9 Jeff Par
10 7 Justin Clautchery
11 95 Steve Stacy
12 331 Trei Deubel
13 11 Brian Nester
14 2 Charlie Hanna
15 101 Craig Everage
16 10 Bud Perry
17 16 Andy Bozell
18 31 Jeff Lane
19 24 Lee Vandyk
20 5 Eric Lee
21 33 Dave Stehouwer
22 33R Steve Reid


Roahrig Returns From Injury, Wins Again in Perry Memorial