Tyler Roahrig locked himself into New Paris Speedway’s (IN) annual Outlaw Late Model “Summer Sizzler” by winning Saturday night’s 75-lap Sizzler tune-up.


Roahrig started in 14th after setting quick time in qualifying, and quickly worked his way to the lead by lap 25.  After quickly passing Steve Stacy on the outside, Roahrig was able to run away from the field.  His black and red No. 24 Outlaw Late Model was able to make most of its passes on the outside, which was something the team worked on.


300x250 Summer Thunder 2017.07.01 New Paris“Just picked the right lanes at the right time, and got lucky on some different moves that happened on track,” Roahrig told Speed51.com powered by JEGS.  “Car was really good, ran the top really good, which is what I wanted to focus on tonight.  Kind of a tune-up for the Sizzler.  Looking forward to that race.”


Roahrig also said that Sizzler tune-up win came at a good time for the team.


“Honestly the last two months have been pretty dismal, driving a lot of different things and haven’t had much luck.  Definitely a confidence booster.  Going to Midvale on Monday, and definitely confident going to Berlin.”


The win secures Tyler Roahrig’s spot in New Paris Speedway’s Summer Sizzler on August 3.  If he were not able to qualify for the Sizzler, he will be able to use the tune-up win for a provisional into the race.  Roahrig has won the Summer Sizzler four times in the last five years.


Saturday Night’s Sizzler Tune-Up was a part of Speed51.com.s Summer Thunder TV series.  You can sign up and watch the replay here: http://speed51.com/watch-replay-summer-thunder-tv-blount-memorial-from-new-paris-in/


Speed51.com’s Summer Thunder TV will be airing Monday’s $5,000 to win Main Event Racing Series outlaw late model race from Midvale Speedway.  To sign up and watch today, visit http://www.speed51.com/summerthundertv .


-By Patrick Hahe, Speed51.com State Editor IN / MI / OH

-Photo credit: Speed51.com


Summer Sizzler Tune-Up Unofficial Results

July 1, 2017 – New Paris Speedway (IN)

1 24R Tyler Roahrig
2 95 Steve Stacy
3 25 JR   Roahrig
4 9W Kenny Whitman
5 10P Bud   Perry
6 42R Brian Ross
7 10 Jack   Landis
8 27 Corey Ryman
9 9 Jason  Timmerman
10 23 Jacob Maynard
11 89S Jeff   Stetler
12 96B Wade Berger
13 22H Rick   Hahn
14 58M Ron Maynard
15 40K Donny   Klotz
16 5G Jeff Ganus

Roahrig Burns Through Field, Locks Into Summer Sizzler